We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic.”
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Market Overton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Bull
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I popped in with a few friends after being recommended by a family member. I, and my friends, were all made very welcome by the staff, excellent selection of drinks (Rekorderlig cider AND Estrella, my two favourite tipples) and brilliant service. I had the gammon, which was cooked excellently and as a big fan of gammon, definitely the best. The chips are also to die for. After the meal, the landlady had a chat with us all, very kind lady. The pub also offer a loyalty card (definitely coming back again!) and a minibus service locally so everyone can have a drink or two for larger parties. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Black Bull and yet again we were not disappointed. We were welcomed with a warm, friendly greeting, the ambience of this pub is spot on - warm & friendly! The food was excellent, we had the rump steak and chips and it was superb, perfectly cooked and chips to die for. I have to say this is probably my favourite place to eat, every time I have eaten here it has been to a high standard and the landlord, landlady and all of the staff are very helpful & friendly. Plus I have it on good authority that the ciders are superb, locally sourced & strong! If you want a relaxed meal in a rural setting with fabulous food, beers and wine then this is the place for you.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here last night and we were made to feel very welcome and were looked after well. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely - great steaks and the best ever prawn starter. And a nice fresh and tasty breakfast to send us on our way happy this morning and all served with a warm, friendly and genuine smile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tobyandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night for dinner. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was relaxing and the bar staff were knowledgeable about local beers and ciders. I think they also do a service where they will drop people home in a minibus to the local area if they have eaten in the pub (we didn't require this but I thought it was a great idea!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank icedgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Black Bull whilst visiting family in the village. The welcome was arm and the room was very clean with a super comfortable bed. We did not dine this time but will make sure that happens next time as the food looked good.
Breakfast was truly delicious. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Described as a gastro pub, it certainly lives up to the reputation it has. The menu here is excellent in variety and the specials add a touch of reall sparkle. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, the service excellent. There's a good choice of wines with good beers and ciders at the bar. The food is excellent and the chef catered with a request for a gluten free version without any fuss. Add to that the offer of transport with their own minibus for local clients and you have a great combination of traditional food, great quality and innovative service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Ate here by accident as the place we intended to eat was full and they suggested here. Cosy, traditional English pub with not too much mock "olde worlde" décor. Excellent food, well cooked. My wife commented that her meal was one of the best steaks she has had. Much use made of local produce. As much veg as possiblke comes from an allotment in the village. I had a starter of pigeon breast and apparently this is on the menu when a local shoots some pigeons in the field opposite. Outstandingly helpful service. The only minor gripe is that, except for ice cream, all the desserts are quite "heavy" although the portions are just right. Great food, great service, great place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Overton
4.6 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Grantham South Witham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Tithe Barn
The Tithe Barn
#5 of 14 in Oakham
93 reviews
6.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 2 in Empingham
207 reviews
3.8 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Whissendine
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull

Address: 2 Teigh Road | Market Overton, Market Overton LE15 7PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Market Overton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Market Overton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing