We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and economical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Pleasant front staff, nice room, not fancy, but perfectly fine. Includes fridge and microwave. Seems quite clean. Would stay here again if I was just passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Peru Super 8 during the APBA boat races in July for the past 10 years. Before the current owners arrived the hotel was starting to become somewhat "worn". Since that time I can attest to the cleanliness, friendliness, honesty, integrity and professionalism that I have personally witnessed. I would not think of staying anywhere else during my annual visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaMariaIslanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a clean, straightforward Super 8. Helpful service. I would have no issues with it at all except that I am traveling for business and using a computer. The room has no desk. This is a fairly large inconvenience for business travelers, so if working during your stay is important I would chose one of the other hotels near here. There are many.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llee611838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Peru, Illinois three years ago because it accepted our pets and we thought the price was right. We have come to know the owners, a charming couple of Polish descent, who are extremely industrious, hard working and customer focused. The breakfast room and motel rooms are immaculate. Renovation and upkeep are apparent: painting, new carpeting and resurfacing the parking lot. We stay at this Super 8 at least twice a year en route to Arizona and back or often en route to visit relatives in the Midwest. We receive a friendly welcome from these hosts and enjoy hearing news about their family and travels. We have shopped and gone to restaurants in the area, so now we look forward to an evening spent in Peru on our way to our winter home in Arizona and back to Canada in the spring.

Room Tip: Non-compliant guests who smoke in non-smoking rooms or dump their clumping cat litter down the toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Even at $50, don't think about staying here unless you enjoy a smoky atmosphere and noise. I could hear the conversations in the room across the hall with both doors closed! I stayed on a Saturday night, and the noise from the parking lot was considerable. The building construction enables you to hear every door close or open, and every footstep in the room above. And if there's any conversation in the hallway, forget sleep. The stairway smelled smoky as did the lobby, despite the NO SMOKING signs posted. Additionally, only one small sign at the Interstate exit gave a directional arrow to the property. There were no in-town signs to guide me, and the "illuminated" sign at the property was so weak I could hardly see it from the in-town turnoff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac-and-Tosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is definitely one of the best road side hotels in the budget category ($50 for room with king bed, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, free internet, complementary breakfast). Room, bathroom, and breakfast area were all very clean. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast included an assortment of fresh bagels and sweet rolls, bread, cereal, as well as hard boiled eggs). As can expected in a budget class hotel, the sheets and towels were a bit rough, and there was no decaf coffee in the room. But those are the only minus points. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not sure if they had an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

It was just fine. Owners were very pleasant and the young lady at the front desk was a peach.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwanyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Peru
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
5.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park

Address: 1851 May Rd, Peru, IL 61354-9614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Peru
#3 Business Hotel in Peru
Price Range: $66 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Peru hotel is the proud recipient of the Excellence for Customer Service award and Cleanliness. Super 8 Peru hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 80 at Exit 75; hotel offers easy access to popular Midwestern destinations, including shopping, restaurants and popular natural attractions at Starved Rock State Park and Buffalo Rock State Park. Whether you are driving through or staying for adventure, pull into our Peru, IL hotel to get the rest you need. Our comfortable rooms offer a sound sleep and time-saving amenities. Enjoy free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza, or grab a cup of freshly brewed coffee before setting out on your busy day. Free Wi-Fi makes it easy to keep up with email or get work done. We offer free parking for all-sized vehicles and handicapped-accessible rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult, and our Peru, Illinois, hotel is pet friendly. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Our Peru, IL, hotel is at the doorstep of several exciting outdoor adventures. Hike, fish, camp and enjoy endless activity and natural splendor on more than 2,000 acres of diverse terrain at Starved Rock State Park, only seven miles away. Other must-see hidden gems include Buffalo Rock State Park on the bluffs of the Illinois River and Matthiessen State Park, where you can hike through unusual rock formations and miles of canyons, streams, prairie and forest. When you are ready to return to civilization, head to Peru Mall for 64 stores of shopping pleasure, or view pre-Civil War architecture at Reddick Mansion, just 15 miles away. DINING OPTIONS From IHOP to Mi Margarita's, a variety of flavors await you just minutes from our Peru, Illinois, hotel. Experience unique dining in a fun atmosphere at Mark Allen's American Kitchen, or enjoy deep-dish pizza on the patio at Lou's LaGrotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Peru
Super Eight Peru
Peru Super Eight
Peru Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing