We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #15 of 62 Restaurants in Peru
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Manteno, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped to get carry out for our family of 5. We felt rushed for placing the order but waited a long time for the order to be ready. When we did get it, the food was fresh and good. We had burgers and fries. The portabella and swiss was excellent. We also enjoyed the chili mac. It had a hint of a spice, so if you don't like spicy, pass on this. I'm not a fan of spicy but this was pretty good.

The chocolate shakes were bland. We dson't know if they didn't have anough chocolate or if the ice cream was older but we didn't really enjoy them. My kids liked the vanilla and chocolate mint chip.

Overall, for the price, we can't complain too much! I would just get a different shake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
IL
Level Contributor
260 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The waitess we had seem very inexperienced (she brought us someone else food at 1st) and found the restuarant so cold that we ate with our jackets on. Food was the usual for Steak & Shake

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KC4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Saved our travelling family when no other restaurants in town satisfied”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been researching and reading reviews for almost 2 weeks prior to the real trip to Peru, thinking of a perfect vacation for my family. We tried several top rated, according to Tripadvisor, restaurants in town and you may read my reviews about them if you want, and for the 2nd day on our vacation, we finally decided to go to some Chain-restaurant, Steak & Shake, where we normally would not try on our vacation because we had one in our local area. It turned out to be our most satisfying meal ever for the trip. When all the other hid & miss restaurants failed us, Steak & Shake saved our hungry family (yes, we sere starving and unsatisfied by that time. My son had not eaten for two meals in other two restaurants which worried me on the trip). Therefore, I gave it a 5-star rating; it saved us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant diner in town!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This restaurant is always busy when i drive by and for good reason! :-) They have one of the best burgers in town and every order is always made fresh no steam trays. (You can watch) YAY :-) Do not settle for less come here its worth it. I ordered a double steak burger it was hot, juicy and surprisingly not greasy for being fresh. My wife ordered a chicken strip dinner for her and a kids chicken strip dinner for our son it was hot, crunchy and delicious. All the fries were hot, and crunchy and we got out of there feeding the whole family for under $15.00. WHAT A DEAL! Oh ya servers were friendly, and attentive and restaurant was sparkling with cleanliness. :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing