We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Delicious Food”

Mark Allen's American Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oglesby, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We always have great service, and I love the Rewards program! I thoroughly enjoyed the Swordfish with Rice Pilaf, recently. And my partner and I always enjoy the Bruschetta appetizer - delicious! We also enjoy the craft beers available, www.deschutesbrewery.com/brew/black-butte-porter is rich and smooth. We are hoping they will expand their beer options and provide a special menu with a description! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherbear642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    33
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as stellar as mentioned”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It's a very nice building, cleverly decorated with an outstanding waitstaff. Unfortunately the bread didn't live up to the circus. The Veal Marsala was mediocre, at best, with a sweet Marsala sauce that did nothing for the veal, which was sadly limp. The Barbecue trio, Hoof and Mouth, whatever, was nowhere near what others have raved about. Dry, gnarly ribs, overcooked chicken and shrimp doused in a too-sweet barbecue sauce. None of these meats had seen a grill, probably just broiled. We would have liked to have liked it but, alas, not up to what it could be. Some work in the kitchen is probably in order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I always find myself ordering the same dish when I come here even though I know there are other good ones. LOVE the Cajun Pasta. It never disappoints me. Ann is always very friendly as well as the bartender.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We love Mark Allen's American Kitchen. Great food, good service and amazing martinis. Our go to restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Enjoyed It Very Much”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very nice meal in an interesting old building. Cordial, efficient service. I had the chicken Oscar, which I wouldn't recommend, as the crab cake tasted like a packaged frozen fish stick, but all the other meals were great. I was glad I sought out Mark Allen's while on a family reunion trip in Illinois.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcolius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Allen's American Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mark Allen's American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing