We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE the Cajun Pasta”

Mark Allen's American Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVE the Cajun Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This dish is to die for. Just the right amount of spice with peppers, shrimp, chicken and pasta. I can't resist ordering the same thing everytime I go. My daughter even loves it too. There is definitely enough for 2 meals but its sooooo good its hard to stop eating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    32
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
compton, IL
1 review
“Mark Allen's ROCKS the food, service and ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

You will not find a better restaurant in the Illinois Valley. The food is sublime, the specials are creative and world class, the steaks are phenomenal. I can honestly say, I have never had a complaint about the service - and I am very picky. As an added bonus, the restaurant features playful art, and tons of creative ambiance. You must eat here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thornyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Each visit to Mark Allen's is a "best meal" experience. There is never a let down. The entrees are superb so recently I've started sampling some of the appetizers. The bruschetta is not just some diced tomatoes on toast. It has flavorful cheese and is more like a soft bread pizza. I could make this a meal if I ate the whole thing. It's so good that you really want to do that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have never had a bad meal here. My favorite is the Flaming Cod on a bed of rice, mushrooms and spinach. Delicious. Good place to try "strange stuff" like shark, dolphin, etc. Always good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEAR031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTHEM
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We love this place. The food is great with a great variety. The staff is friendly and skilled. Their specials are always outstanding and creative. We consider MarkAllen's the Best Restaurant around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Allen's American Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mark Allen's American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing