We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems at this Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were disappointed with a number of things when we stayed at this hotel. First of all, there were dirty towels hanging on the back of the bathroom door which really made me question the housekeeping. Then, upon closer examination, I saw toothpaste remains on the bathroom counter. The fan was so loud we didn't even want to use it at night for fear of keeping us up. Plus, the pool is not working, and I noticed a review two months earlier that noted that as well. Apparently they are not going to get that going in a timely manner. Finally, I found the evening attendant to be a bit on the condescending side, which I did not appreciate.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank msbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 465 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

My room faced the interstate and I had to listen to the truck traffic all night. Even the fan being on high was not enough to muffle the traffic noise. Otherwise, it was clean, staff was courteous, and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Julee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Clean, convenient, comforable & reasonably priced. The consistency of experience at Hamptons across the midwest is why i choose them when travelling. this one in Peru, Il is kept up well, and very much like the rest. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a nice quiet stay. This hotel was worth the short drive off of I39 into Peru. The room was large and well equiped. The breakfast had a nice variety and offered something to meet the needs of everyone in our party. We would definitely consider another stay if we passed through again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNMomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Staff is crazy and unfriendly. The hotel is falling apart. The pool is broken and the power was out one night and then the fire alarm went off for no reason at 3 in the morning another night. Hotel staff and the Hampton refused to refund any part of our stay. I used to stay here for business and will never stay here again. The La Quinta next door is way better!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
5  Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Peru, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

I do apologize for the pool being closed and the fire alarm going off during your stay but due to the extreme weather we have been experiencing, a sprinkler pipe burst at 3 am in our pool area and the fire alarms went off for your safety. Unfortunately you booked an advance purchase room which gives you a special rate that states it is non-refundable and non-cancelable, full payment required when booking. The hotel staff does not have authority to change or refund this type of reservation and did guide you with whom to contact regarding this. I am sorry you felt the staff was unfriendly, we try to make every guest's experience a truly enjoyable one and your comments will be discussed with the entire team so that we may improve.

Sincerely,

Carey Ailor
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel has nice rooms, a convenient location, and very helpful and friendly staff! A pleasure to stay here - I am here every month on business. All in all, a nice, affordable place to stay, and I would recommend that you give it a try!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 302geraldines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very quiet hotel and looked to be new. Very good staff. Restaurants in the area were only by driving this time of year (winter) but IHOP and few others within walking distance during nice weather. As always with Hampton quick check in and quick check out as an Honors member. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
5.6 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Peru

Address: 4421 Peoria St, Peru, IL 61354-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Price Range: $111 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Peru, IL, the Hampton Inn & Suites Peru, is perfectly located in Illinois Valley, surrounded by state parks such as Starved Rock and Matthiesen State Park. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing