We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for the first time last summer. We are acquainted with most of the HI properties from STL to northern Wisconsin, so although this one is just a little bit off our main drag, I-39, the slight detour is more than worth it to stay here. I booked a room for a stay a few weeks back and both my husband and I remarked that if anything, the hotel seemed cleaner and quieter than we remembered. We had a room right off the lobby, and I was afraid it might be noisy, but I was wrong. We're headed back that way in a few weeks, and I've already made our reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scootnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 351 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

In Ottawa for family events, we enjoyed the facilities, staff & atmosphere at this hotel. The commute of 20 miles is worth it, as this is a 1st class place. I echo the positive sentiments, & comments of other travelers, regarding this H.I.E. To further express my impression of this PERU/LASALLE hotel, "it's got the quality of a upscale hotel, with affordable pricing. The staff are quite friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. We've stayed in many, & settled on this; "ILLI HOME."

Room Tip: All good. The back overlooks beautiful farmland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JpDrumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We always stay here when we travel cross-country. the room is very large and very clean. the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. if you have a dog ,book room 100 Perfect hotel to travel with dog. I highly recommend this hotel. The breakfast is also tasty

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Jeannie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel 3 times during the past 2 years. It's always been clean and quiet for us and the employees have been courteous and professional. Good restaurants nearby including Starbucks. This location has easy access to two main Interstate Highways.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed here several times. The front desk personnel are always friendly; the breakfasts are above average and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. It is close to restaurant's, I80 and shopping. It is a quiet hotel run by local folks who take care of their guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankredbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Near plenty of stores, but was hard to believe that all the rooms were full when we tried to check in at noon before we headed to starve rock. There was maybe 10 cars in the parking lot. Both days there we only saw a few employees, one behind the desk and 2 at breakfast.they were all very nice though. 15 min drive from the park.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DePaul8407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear DePaul8407,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted to know that our location was suitable to your needs and found our rooms clean and staff nice. Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel and we are pleased you were able to acknowledge that. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed this place to visit the Starved Rock state park (5 minutes away). Walmart and Kohl are across the street. Marshall and Bergner's are one mile away. We walked to a bar/restaurant (forgot the name) next to McDonald (2 minutes from hotel), the food is great and is not expensive. The staff was great, the room is perfect. Hot breakfast with to go box, business center with two computers, huge swimming pool and hot spa, We couldn't have asked for more. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book earlier, cancel it before 6PM same day with no penalty. I saw the price increase from $120 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pishien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru

Address: 5253 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354-9616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Peru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peru
Price Range: $114 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing