We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love HI Express in general, but this was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love HI Express in general, but this was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

In general, I am a big fan of HI Express, and we have had good experiences at the Peru property in the past, so we were happy to pay a little extra (vs. other area hotels) to stay here. Unfortunately, this stay was disappointing for a few reasons. Most importantly, our room was directly above the TV in the breakfast area. Someone turned that TV on at 3 a.m. and let it blare the rest of the night. My husband and I both woke up and had trouble getting back to sleep. Second, the pool was out of commission during our entire stay. We have two small children and this was a big disappointment for them. They reduced the rate of our second night by $30, but we would rather have had the pool. Finally, the shower curtain was torn at the top and mildewed at the bottom. On the positive side, the staff was pleasant, and the hotel was clean overall. We like the location of this hotel across from Wal-Mart, as we always forget something when we travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyzelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruHIEgsm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so sorry you had complications during your stay with us. I want to apologize for the loudness of the TV in the breakfast bar, I have informed my night attendant that the TV should not be on and if there is a guest in the Dining area to have them turn it down. With the pool being down unfortunately we had a pipe break, It was repaired early Sunday morning. We are so sorry you didn't get to use our pool. If you have any questions or further comments you can always reach me directly at the hotel. Again my apologies and we hope to see you in the future.

Ashley Dowell
Guest Service Manager
815-224-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    86
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
116
59
9
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The location is ideal to shopping, resturants and the highway as well. Overall my stay was great, I would recommend this propery to anyone in need of a room in the area...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Reservations were made easily over the phone, check in was efficient, my hotel room was clean. Quiet throughout the night unlike other hotels in the area that are located very close to the expressway. Will return... tonight actually! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sothida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcola, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have 5 kids still at home, took 2 hunting and the wife and 3 other kids were coming up to swim one night. I asked for connecting rooms for the second night of which they were happy to do. Rooms were clean and maids were friendly. My only problem was the wife and 3 other kids were coming to swim and the pool was closed. I would have told the wife not to make the 2 1/2 hour drive if I would have known it wouldn't be open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Staff was super efficient. Weekend stay exceeded my expectations. I am a cleanliness freak and this Holiday Inn Express passed with flying colors in all areas! Will definitely return. Thanks for the great weekend accomodations!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very easy check in, pleasant hotel employees, spacious comfortable room, quality breakfast included!! Pool was under construction, but that didn't matter as we had no time to swim after hiking all day and enjoying Starved Rock State Park!!Great for our weekend getaway trip!! We will be there next year for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pesbecker41272072595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Every part of our experience at this hotel was great. It was very clean and comfy. Even thou the hotel was full it was very quiet. It was an enjoyable stay. We look forward to staying there again on our next visit to Peru.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GJHardy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
7.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
7.7 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Address: 5253 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Peru
#2 Family Hotel in Peru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing