We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like new!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Like new!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel appears to be pretty new, everything is clean and up to date. Free breakfast buffet had several hot items and there was plenty of seating. Pool area could use a few more chairs but the towels were replenished frequently. Our room was comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teens for a weekend stay. Great location near Starved Rock State Park, and an easy drive to explore Peru and LaSalle. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    88
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
118
60
9
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I is a great hotel. The best thing was they had enough plugs. plugs were desk high. even in the bathroom had extra plugs. They were thinking of the traveler when they designed the hotel. I will always stay when I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well built facility, entry,reservation desk and surroundings are appealing. Room had plenty of room and all I needed with MW and Frig. Nice tight shower door that didn't leak water. A/C was very quiet and worked well. Breakfast room had plenty of area, decent food, great cinnamon rolls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was greeted with fresh cookies and welcomed to a friendly atmosphere. The hotel appears to be a newer construction and very clean. How refreshing to wake up to a hot breakfast free of charge. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the area. As a bonus, restraunts and grocery stores are very close to the location.

Room Tip: I've only stayed at this hotel once so I'm not sure which rooms to recommend. The room in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I will never ever stay anywhere else!!!! This place is the best in Peru Illinois. We have been staying there since it opened and will never try another place. So impressed with the service....I cannot say enough about it. I also LOVE that you take dogs because we never travel without ours!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

PRO: This hotel is less than three years old so it's clean, well maintained and has friendly staff.

CON: During the week, the hotel is utilized by construction workers that get up at the crack of dawn and use the ice machine that's not in an enclosed room so don't get a room near the ice machine. Also, wish the management would get rid of the pancake machine and buy a waffle machine like the rest of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oclvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I usually love this hotel, as I stay here when we go visit Starved Rock. This stay started out good. Lovely check in (Ashley at front desk). 2 flavor choices for cookies (Wow!) and a comfy clean room. Next morning, went to the Rock early & came back for breakfast. It was only 8am on a slow Friday, and there was barely anything out. The hot foods that were out had obviously been sitting for awhile. I peeked in to the kitchen to politely ask if there would be refills, and there was no one to be found. So we grabbed a bowl of cereal to take up to our room. As we were walking out of the room, a woman walked into the kitchen with a load of towels and avoided looking at us. ?? Not sure why.
The next morning we were skeptical to try for breakfast, but decided to try again. And we are glad we did. The young lady attending breakfast greeting us as soon as we walked in (despite her hands full with fresh coffee pots). The hot foods were stocked and fresh, and she again came by with a smile to check how we were doing. There was also a gentleman employee helping her run fresh items out. Wow what a difference, these two were amazing! I peeked in to thank her and she said "You're welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed it" I told her what a difference from the day before, and she apologized for the inconvenience on Friday and asked if she could do anything else for me. I told her no, she did her part with a smile. This young lady is a keeper along with the gentleman assisting her! The other employee perhaps needs a bit more training.

There was also WAY too many unsupervised children (baseball teams?) in the hotel. A few staff members tried to politely corral them to the rooms to no avail.

So, I'm hoping to stay here again & hopefully I'll catch the days the employees who care about their guests are working :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Rachel A,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I was delighted to read that after some initial issues in our breakfast area, these were soon sorted and you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features provided.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Address: 5253 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354-9616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Peru
#2 Family Hotel in Peru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing