We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is ideally located next to the interstate. The rooms are spacious, clean, and new. It is convieniently located near the major shopping in the area. The pool is clean and refreshing, and the breakfast was hot, great tasting with many selections available. Its the best hotel in the area by far.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels. This is my second stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I was impressed by the basket of fresh fruit which was by the front door. My son was ecstatic to grab an apple. Later on I was told fresh backed chocolate cookies were in the front lobby which my son and husband helped themselves too. I had the best sleep in a hotel ever on the comfortable bed. The halls were quiet. The breakfast was great. Me and my son got a kick out of the pancake maker. Such a variety for breakfast. All around a great stay. Next time we are out there, We will be staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie_rose1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've stayed in many of Holiday Inns before and this one is one of the best I've stayed in Illinois. The people here are so nice and carrying. The front desk staff were wonderful. They went all out for you. I was sitting in the breakfast room and over heard a conversation with the guest service staff named Cynthia and she was talking to a guest who had to switch rooms because her family was coming to visit and the guest was staying in the same room with her family. Cynthia offered to help her move her things. I thought that was very thoughtful. The Breakfast hostess was very nice. Michelle did a great job of keeping the food stocked for the guest coming down. The hotel was pretty full. So if you happen to stay here make sure you say hello to Cynthia and Michelle.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and a good start to your day with their hot buffet breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is right off the highway, very easy to find. The staff was gracious and very helpful. The room was very, very clean and the facility was quiet and relaxing. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The friendliness of the staff, the check in and out, the breakfast were all excellent. Our only suggestion would be more light for reading in the room. The room was somewhat dark even with the drape open.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel offered exactly what we needed on a quick overnight stay. Clean, comfortable and convenient with helpful staff was exactly what we were looking for. Would stay at this one again. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to get a good night of sleep after a long day of driving. Didn't get to check out extra amenities, but breakfast was alright also. All in all a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Peru, IL Holiday Inn Express for 8 nights in May 2013 on a business trip.

The property is very well maintained and offers all the standard amenities of a Holiday Inn Express, but obviously puts forth the effort to keep the property clean and fresh. While not having any extras that would really separate it from other properties in it's price category the staff for the most part is very friendly and helpful. Nightly fruit and fresh cookies are provided. The location is within walking distance to a number of dining/shopping options and within minutes drive to many others.

My 2nd floor room was fresh, comfortable and the HVAC worked nicely - though the local water is not very palatable. The TV offered a decent selection though analog only and was quick.

Friday night 5/17 my room and a co-workers room were side by side with two rooms across the hall from one another which appeared to have 4 teenage males in one room and 4 teenage females in the other - to say they let their doors slam against the metal security loop 100 times within the first hour would be perhaps an understatement. We all are young once and Friday nights out can be a fun time, but they crossed the threshold on rowdiness several times.

A call to the desk was met with seemingly little interest and I came away feeling my request to change rooms if the boisterous behavior continued was a bother to the desk attendant and she offered little in the way of resolution. Though in fairness to the property she was the only dour desk attendant and rarely acknowledged your passing as you came or went, while others always greeted you with a smile and offered to assist you. So evidently this is who she is.

Breakfast was the standard offering - which as a long time 100 night a year Holiday Inn traveler, has long since lost it's appeal, e.g. extremely thin bacon, artificial cardboard Cheerio type cereal, funny tasting coffee - though the milk was always fresh and cold and the yogurt, bananas/apples were excellent.

Washer/dryer were new, clean and average priced.

Pantry at the front desk was nicely stocked with snacks and some basic needs items.

The one true negative is that the property is one of the thin plywood floor and little wall soundproofing constructions - really, really, really noisy. The properties with concrete construction are heads and shoulders above these in quiet.

From the heavy footfalls of guests above my room to the very loud comings/goings of the pleasant cleaning staff either talking loudly to one another from opposite ends of the hall to the detail cleaner who repeatedly allowed the door to slam on it's stop over and over.

The shortcomings of construction are a done deal - but I found it hard to imagine that Management had not heard complaints of excessive noise from the cleaning staff and maintenance worker(s) and coached the employees to make every effort to exercise their "inside" voices.

We had night workers as well as day workers who rotated through odd shift requiring day sleep - and this did not work out well at all.

For that reason alone, we will in all likelihood try one of the several other options during our next stay in Peru, IL.

If though, you simply are passing through and are tolerable to noise - it's a very nice and comfortable property.

Room Tip: Perhaps a 3rd floor room would be a partial solution
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchrislisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear travelchrislisa,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peru
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ottawa Starved Rock Area
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru

Address: 5253 Trompeter Rd, Peru, IL 61354-9616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Peru
#2 Family Hotel in Peru
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peru
Price Range: $106 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Peru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing