We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Plough
Nearby Hotels
$56
$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Alresford)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winchester Hotel & spa(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$100
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wykeham Arms(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
59
39
12
13
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
39
12
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publovely countryfish and chipsrural settingbooked a tablevenisonvaried menucoral troutfull englishwatercress linecooked to perfectionlarge roomevening mealvery pleasant staynight staycomfy bedcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 138 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staff all very friendly and polite and the owner is very chatty and helpful. Food was great and the service was excellent. There is a large choice on the menu and every dish I had was as good as the last. It was busy so we had to wait about 20 minutes for our food on the second night but it was definitely worth it. We stayed for a couple of nights, the room was very clean and a good size. Refurbishment looks good and creates a very warm atmosphere. I would highly recommend and will definitely be returning. Best pub in the area, very impressed. Just needs a swimming pool to finish it off?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After having a lovely meal not long after this pub reopened we went for another just before Christmas with friends. I was disappointed that the trout meal that my husband had enjoyed so much previously and therefore had recommended to our friends was not on that night and the service was not so good. We thought we would give it another try this Friday but was again disappointed that portions had shrunk significantly. I ordered the trout pâté as I had enjoyed it so much before but had trouble finding it amongst the mountain of cress and lettuce. However, I was looking forward to my main course which was Thai salmon fish cakes but the description 'fish cakes' turned out to be inaccurate as I was given just one with a few stir fried veg and again loads of 'leaves'. Also prawn crackers should have been served with this meal but they didn't arrive so I had to ask for them, as did my friends who had to ask for the vegetables that should have accompanied their meals. Such a shame because they've refurbished the place very nicely but because of the food and service we won't be visiting The Trout again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We dinned just before Christmas so we decide to try the trout again, we were told the previous chef had left, again waiting staff were not there to help to our experience, after receiving a average meal I returned home and did home work on the previous reviews after delving more i looked on the council rating scheme of hygiene and was shocked to find that it had a 1 rating of health and hygiene which is as I believe is the lowest standard you can receive, I strongly believe we and my family will not be returning in the near or distant future. As service and bar staff were incapable of the service people require when spending money

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Burns1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I live in the village and recommended to some friends we should try it I have to say not very imperessed after eating food not cooked very well plus very dry complained was told short staff shortage and chief had walked out and my friends are not my friends no more

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ArnieSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

20th January. 2013 Had heard good reviews from others, but on reading what is now being said below, have to agree. There were ONLY two choices for the menu - either beef or pork, no other choice at all. There were a lot of good things on the blackboard, but on enquiry we were told that they didn't do that on Sundays. A pity it was there then. So three of us had beef. The beef was quite good in fact, with roast pots and gravy. However the vegetables weren't brought with the meat. We waited and waited and eventually started to eat what we had as it was getting cold. When the vegetables did arrive, there was one small dish between 3 of us - so my son asked "was that all we were getting." No, we were told, more on the way. We were more than half way through the lunch before the second dish arrived. Altogether, not too impressed. Itchen Abbas is a lovely area between Winchester and Alresford and the only pub there, so a missed opportunity especially for a Sunday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews