We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, well-appointed house with comfort and elegance.”
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We could not have been made more welcome! The attention to detail in the Family Suite guaranteed a delightful stay. Run by a charming family who truly believe in hospitality, this calm, beautiful house is simply a pleasure from arrival, through a cosy night in a superb bed, to a tasty, well-presented breakfast to the final farewell. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knickerbockergloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome, lovely house. Parking very convenient. Owners will recommend local places to eat and know all there is to know about the local area.
We stayed here for one night to visit old Wardour castle.
Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order. Stayed in the French themed room on the top floor which was comfortable (lovely bed) and well decorated and has en-suite.
Would recommend! :)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emma and David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The bed and breakfast was excellent the room was more than expected. The breakfasts were very good cooked English breakfasts as well as a choice of cereals and yogurts etc. The service was great and they both made us feel at home an recommend us places to visit in the area and where to eat locally. Would love to return again with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurtWain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Old Rectory is situated on the A303 and as such is subject to much noise from this very busy highway, but this is really the only detraction. Windows are double pane so I could hardly hear the traffic with the windows shut. I arrived very early and was courteously received even though there was no obligation to do so. Breakfast was great and bathroom facilities etc were first class. Car park is convenient to rooms and safe. No complaints a good stay at a reasonable price

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have never felt the need to leave a review so have only signed up to Tripadvisor for this review. My wife, 2 children (12 and 2) and I planned a trip to visit Longleat Safari Park, among other places. Searching for nearby places The Old Rectory caught my eye. The website was really helpful with plenty of pictures. So I booked the family room. And what a room! Well actually two rooms with a private bathroom. There was so much space to move around in it made it feel like a real home from home. It was light, clean and had brilliant facilities including a fridge and hair dryer (for my wife). The Old Rectory is really easy to find as it is just off the A303 in Chicklade. It is set back from the road with fantastic parking and grounds. In the room you can not hear the traffic at all. My wife is lactose intolerant and Lynda and Colin provided a top notch lactose free breakfast for her. I would recommend to anyone, especially families. Longleat is really close, as is Stonehenge. Thank you Lynda and Colin.

Room Tip: Family Room is excellent, Lovely double bed for a couple and two single beds in the adjoining room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollingcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking for a b and b near Longleat Safari Park and found this one and saw the other reviews so decided to book this place, arrived their and it was so beautiful pulling up, Lynda and Colin was so warm and welcoming and showed us to our king size room which was beautiful and very clean, great nights sleep as bed was so comfortable, breakfast was excellent. They went out of their way to help. Would definitely recommend this B and B to other people.

Room Tip: if you are a couple try and get the king size French suite like me and my fiancé did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potter4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the beautiful home of Lynda and Colin. The rooms are very nice and their hospitality was wonderful. I highly recommend staying at their B&B which is adjacent to an interesting and ancient rectory. The morning after our stay, Lynda was gracious to have us follow her to Salisbury. We took back beautiful roads through the lush green rolling hills.
We highly recommend staying with them.
Jim and Thelma

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range: $103 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing