We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Old Rectory at Chicklade”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Chicklade B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Old Rectory at Chicklade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the beautiful home of Lynda and Colin. The rooms are very nice and their hospitality was wonderful. I highly recommend staying at their B&B which is adjacent to an interesting and ancient rectory. The morning after our stay, Lynda was gracious to have us follow her to Salisbury. We took back beautiful roads through the lush green rolling hills.
We highly recommend staying with them.
Jim and Thelma

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
34
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I found the rooms cosy and quiet, breakfast superb, and hospitality warm and genuine. We lost a wallet at some point during our trip, and despite having a busy day, Colin and Lynda went out of their way to help us search out of genuine concern. They are truly devoted to ensuring each guest has the best stay possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerJMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights for my birthday weekend with our 2 year old daughter. Lyn had left some full fat milk for our daughter in the fridge. We were in the Salisbury family suite. It was perfect a nice low and comfy bed for Alice and in the next adjoining room a big comfortable bed for us, and of course an en-suite bathroom.Biscuits, tea and coffee making facilities, nice decore and very spacious. Lyn and Colin booked us a table in a pub for our first evening and recommended a few others for our stay. On the morning of my birthday I was surprised with a box of chocolates, it was such a nice surprise. Breakfast is delicious, and Alice loved to have an "eggy" on mr lurpak egg stand. The breakfast room itself is bright well decorated with views onto the garden. Lyn and Colin were so welcoming and made us feel at home. It's also worth waking around the cemetery behind the little church and B&B, there is a statue of an angel there. It's close to Longleat and Salisbury. Perfect base for visiting. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raouzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Old Rectory,with two young children.Lynda and Colin were very welcoming. Our family room couldn't have been better-separate interconnecting room for the children.They've thought of everything and the rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. Lynda even put some milk in the fridge ready for our little ones and booked a table for us at a local pub.
Breakfast was excellent. Cannot praise the accommodation enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

had a fantastic welcome by Colin and Lynda nothing was to much trouble , room was spotless bed was very comfy had a great night sleep and the breakfast was very enjoyable and fab , the surrounding were very relaxing and a will be back again next year as they are lovely people, and thankyou to their son who drove us into Tisbury very thoughful a great place to spend a few nights lovely area thankyou soo much for you hospitality Colin and Lynda lovely people 5 star treatment before my brothers wedding

joan-doherty2010@hotmail.co.uk xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 121joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have now stayed at the Old Rectory on around 20 occasions as a professional working in the vicinity. After a hard day, this place is much more than just a bed for the night. Lynda and Colin's caring and genuine willingness to help just makes the stay wonderful. The sense of release and relaxation returning there is significant, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
The comments on here all reinforce this point, and along with the quality of accommodation is the best aspect of The Old Rectory. As someone in the trade (B+B in Cornwall) I know how much effort goes into creating an environment such as this. A wonderful place to come back to ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling2poldhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for one night recently after visiting Longleat safari park. We had an excellent welcome from Colin and Lynda and very impressed with the accomodation and breakfast. We would definitely recommend this B & B without hesitation. Two days later we stayed at a 5 star iconic hotel but it didn't match the friendliness, cleanliness or character of the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicklade
11.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
5.2 mi away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
The Lamb
The Lamb
#1 of 2 in Hindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Riverbarn
The Riverbarn
#1 of 1 in Fonthill Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 4 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 5 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: Chicklade | Hindon, Chicklade SP3 5SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chicklade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chicklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is conveniently situated on the A303 but well set back in its own grounds nestling next to All Saints Church. Stonehenge is just a 20-minute drive, Longleat 20 minutes and Salisbury 25 minutes. It offers a great location base for your holiday and to explore the many local attractions within the beautiful Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset countryside or to break your journey while travelling to and from the West Country. Walkers and cyclist are very welcome we are very close to Dorset and Wiltshire walkways. The Old Rectory has been sensitively and stylishly refurbished by the present owners Lynda & Colin Masefield. Guests are assured of a warm welcome, friendly service in lovely surroundings. The affordable price includes a delicious full English breakfast using locally sourced produce. The en-suite bedrooms including a family suite have been refurbished to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing