We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Bath... brilliant.”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monkton Farleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at The Kings Arms near Bath for two nights and we had a fantastic time. We’ve been to Bath on many occasions and found hotels in the area to be generally overpriced and lacking in service. Hence we are delighted to have found The Kings. From the moment we stepped into the cosy pub to check in, our stay was outstanding. We booked Room 1, the smallest of the 3 rooms available. It was quirky but very tastefully decorated and cosy. During our stay we planned to eat out in Bath, but after sampling the superb food at The Kings, we stayed for most meals. I couldn’t recommend it more for a friendly relaxing break near Bath.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScaryBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed in this lovely pub for a friend's wedding. We had to be at the church for 3pm, so we were really pleased our room was ready early so we could get ready, and they even organised us a taxi. We stayed in room 2, which is stunning with a lovely bathroom and a really comfy bed. We were told about the DVD library we were welcome to borrow from, and nothing seem too much effort. Breakfast was fantastic.
I would definitely return and recommend this pub to all my friends. The service was fantastic, and it was a lovely place to wake up on my birthday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We decided on this hotel as a treat for my birthday, as the room (no 3) looked really nice on the website. We weren't disappointed! The room was HUGE, the bed was enormous and the roll top bath was fab!
The staff were attentive without being intrusive and the food was fabulous! We had an evening meal and breakfast there and both were really delicious.
Overall.......for location, room, food, atmosphere I would say that this may well be the best hotel I've ever stayed in - and I've stayed in lots - all around the world.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed for one night, and chose the mid-priced of the three rooms. The room was very large, well decorated, modern with some nice quirky bits, very comfortable bed, high quality bedding and duvet, plus a large, modern and very clean bathroom with separate shower, bathrobes.......what more can I say - it had everything I would look for when wanting a boutique-y hotel, but was much bigger then most. We were brought a very good quality coffee with home made shortbreads when we arrived.
We went into Bath for the early evening, and returned to the hotel for dinner. Dinner was excellent, a very varied menu - a good balance of traditional and more inventive dishes, with fresh local produce, fish caught that day, lovely fresh vegetables and a Bakewell tart to die for. Also it was very reasonably priced.
I gave breakfast a miss (stupidly) but was told that it, too, was excellent with plenty of choice, fresh fruit, croissants, traditional English, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, all produced to order.
The staff were professional and friendly. I would certainly go back to the Kings Arms and really cannot fault it. The only downside would be if you wanted to spend the evening in Bath rather than in the hotel, then it could suit you a bit better to be closer to the city, but it you just want a really good relaxing night or two away within a short drive of Bath, then this is a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I stayed at The Kings Arms with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway for May Bank Holiday. We checked into The Kings Arms around 2pm. The room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we sat in the bar and had a drink. When we went up the room was wonderfully presented, very nicely decorated and very spacious.
We stayed in Room 2 which I must say, has possibly THE comfiest bed in the world!
After leaving our bags behind we headed off into Bath which was a 5-10 minute drive away, very convenient! We went to The Roman Baths and Bath Abbey and had a wander round the shops.
We got back and had tea in the bar around 6.30pm. The food was delicious! For starters I had devilled whitebait and my boyfriend had the butternut squash risotto, both of which were really tasty! Then the mains came out, I ordered the burger with blue stilton cheese, which was probably as big as my head! This was also delicious but I couldn't finish it, although I did keep trying!
We went upstairs after dinner and had a hot bath in our stunning bathroom and got into bed to watch a film. As soon as my head hit the pillow I was gone until about 10 in the morning!
Breakfast was served in the bar area, continental and cooked, which was good too. We checked out after breakfast at 11am and headed back into Bath to spend the last part of our trip in the Thermae Spa.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would happily go back there if we were to return to Bath. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkly-slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Monkton Farleigh, Monkton Farleigh BA15 2QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Monkton Farleigh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Farleigh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing