We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”
Review of The Publik House

The Publik House
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

First time we've tried their Sunday Brunch. I had the homemade brisket hash with 2 poached eggs. Very tasty and only $6. Also had to try a half order of the homemade B&G. And it really was HOMEMADE! Definitely worth trying. My wife had the Smoked Salmon Benedict, which she enjoyed. Instead of an English Muffin it was on a sweet potato pancake. We'll be back.

Note - Our server (Celina) was outstanding. She was very cheerful, pleasant, and attentive. Great job!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Two Words that Don't Often Go Together: Snooty Pub”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I love trying new restaurants, especially pubs! This one, I would skip. The interior is pretty, I had a well-pulled Guinness, but the food is nothing to write home about. The experience was made worse by snooty staff. When you go to a pub, you expect friendly staff and a relaxed environment. That was not the case. It seemed very stiff, and we were made to feel unwanted. For a cheaper price (for the area, the food is overpriced), better food, better atmosphere, and way better service, go to Kelleher's on Water Street in Peoria.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our dining experience.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our appetites weren't large so we decided to split a couple items, one from the appetizer menu and one from the sandwich menu. Our choices were the Mac-n-Cheese and tenderloin sandwich, which also included the handcut fries. We thought both selections were tasty, hot, and prepared well. Also loved the classic 60's rock being piped in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little place in the Heights”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a new place in town to try, and we decided on The Publik House. We were glad we did -- the food was excellent (I had the El Cubano sandwich and a pint of Guinness, my wife had the salmon), the service was prompt and friendly, and the atmosphere was casual and relaxed as a pub should be. When the late afternoon sun started coming in the window and shining in my wife’s face, the manager noticed right away and took care of adjusting the blinds. We will definitely be back.

Addendum: Visited The Publik House again last weekend, a few weeks after our first visit. The menu had changed a little bit. I had the Cuban sandwich and Guinness again (I tend to stick with things I like), and my wife had the special that day (a deconstructed jambalaya), both of which were very good. Service was again fast and friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrLuckyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
1 review
“Bad, overpriced food.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

If you have zero taste but love spending loads of money, this place is for you.

This place has absolutely TERRIBLE food! The menu is very small, and VERY pricey. We ordered the bacon bleu cheese fries appetizer. They were soggy, nasty, and dark from obviously being cooked in old, dirty cooking oil, and they were topped NOT with bleu cheese as printed on the menu, but feta cheese. I don't know how a chef can confuse feta cheese with bleu cheese!

I ordered The Publik House Salad which promised shredded chicken, tomatoes, and avacado. I got a large bowl of oily, salty, wilted bag-salad greens with ONE cherry tomato, one tablespoon-sized chunk of avacado, and a few pieces of chewy chicken sprinkled on top.

My companion ordered the herb chicken sandwich, which was terribly prepared, offering mouthfuls of pure gristle and fat. His came with a side of the same soggy, rancid fries (just without the bacon and feta cheese)

The interior is nice-looking, resembling a glossed-over imitation of an English-style pub, but it is all image and no substance. The crowd is very young-urban-professional and the place is extremely noisy. We sat in the corner but still had to shout to be heard.

The place does have good beer - I liked the Dead Guy Ale, but it's not worth going again becasue the food is garbage.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Publik House also viewed

 

Been to The Publik House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing