We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total mess...”
Review of Courtyard Peoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard Peoria
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Reviewed November 12, 2011

First of all, it is very hidden and not located via GPS. That was the least of my concerns. The hotel was under construction when I booked (no indication of this anywhere prior to checking in) with half of the lobby taped off with crime scene tape and ladders, etc blocking the hall on the way to a very tiny elevator (think sardine can that smells like urine). There is a refrigerator in the room but DO NOT PUT ANYTHING INSIDE OF IT. I had a bottle of Diet Coke approximately 2/3 full when I left the room and returned later that day to find about an inch left of Diet Coke. Also everything inside the fridge had been rearranged with some items missing. Needless to say, I trashed everything in the fridge because god knows what else was done to the remaining items. I would rather die that return to this dump.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peoriastinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very nice clean, nice room off the main road, freindly staff.

Room Tip: Room on west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenniefer45colt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a couple different times, and plan to keep coming back for future business trips.

The first thing to know is that the hotel is hard to find at first. Once you know the way, it no longer becomes an issue. As other reviewers have mentioned, you have to drive through the mall circle to find the entrance (a blue sign shows the way). The hotel is next to a Baymont and a Residence Inn.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. I was able to use my gold status with Marriott to upgrade to a suite the second time I stayed, which the staff did happily.

The hotel is very, very clean. The lobby was immaculate, the hallways were friendly. A very quaint and peaceful Courtyard is in the back yard of the hotel, with a privacy concrete fence, a gazebo and a nice walkway. The pool room is nice, with a well-working hot tub and a heated pool for swimming. The Market by the front desk has plenty of options and is open 24/7. About the same price as a convenience store (bottled water was $1.50, popcorn was $1.25).

Now for the rooms. I've stayed in both styles (studio and suite). Both were immaculate. Room lighting was ok, but enough lights are available to brighten). Central heat/air controlled by temp panel on the wall. Bathrooms are nice, with sit-down area in the bathtub. Beds were immaculate and very comfortable. Suites have a balcony overlooking the courtyard...and the interstate exit (not the best view, thanks to the location). They still have the old-school CRT televisions, which is one of 3 main reasons why I don't rate this hotel 5 stars. Hope they upgrade to flat-panel TVs sometime soon. Room does have fridge and microwave, which is fantastic to have.

More on the hotel. The breakfast is $10 and not worth it, in my opinion. I wish Marriott would offer this for cheaper or free at least to their gold & platinum members who stay at Marriott brand hotels 50-100 nights a year. That was reason #2 why I don't give the hotel 5 stars.

While the location isn't the greatest (hidden, next to interstate, so not a fantastic view - reason #3 why it's not 5 stars), it is close to plenty of stuff. You have a small mall immediately close, along with some better shopping across Sterling Avenue (grocery, sushi, Mexican, other places). Plus, you're only 5-10 minutes from downtown Peoria and about 10 minutes from the new parts of western Peoria with some new shopping and entertainment.

All in all, a good hotel. Great for business, as you can rack up Marriott points fast for personal use as well. Great amenities available to relax with, thanks to the hot tub and great beds.

Room Tip: Get a room on the entrance side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfergie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed at the hotel in room 323. Room has two queen sized beds and is the typical Marriot Courtyard property although if you have never been here it can be very confussing to get to. Its located behind the mall and you must drive through the parking lot of the mall to get to the hotel.

Also, the hotel does not sell gift cards, if that matters.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creece007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was the second time I stayed at the courtyard in Peoria. Very nice and clean hotel with very accommodating staff, clean and updated rooms and good access to downtown, shopping, restaurants, etc. Will stay here again for my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhesseling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We found this hotel via PriceLine. A couple of days prior to our trip, our "bid" for $75 was accepted by PriceLine. We arrived at the hotel at about 7 p.m. It is tucked behind a mall and a little odd to drive aroundt the mall parking lot to its backside to get to this & other hotels. The lobby was very clean and the clerks at the counter immediately welcomed us. Our check-in was quick and efficient. We stayed in Room #300. There are three floors and the entire hotel is non-smoking. The elevator was small, slow and very warm. Our room was spacious and very clean. There is a shelf w/a coffee maker and refrigerator underneath disguised by a faux cherry panel door. We had two queen sized beds although our request was for a king. When you go through PriceLine, there are no guarantees you will get exactly what you want. The curtains had dark shades which kept out the sunlight very well. Bathroom was spacious. Shower had a sitting area within it which is nice for the ladies to use when shaving their legs! Pool and hot tub is a standard size. Hot tub was very warm and excellent jet action. No vending machines in the ice machine area so if you don't have your own drinks & snacks, you are either stuck paying the inflated prices of their "marketplace" in the lobby or driving to a store. They charge for breakfast is $9.95 but we went to a nearby Bob Evan's. All in all, a very nice hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twobings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed here with a group of families for a soccer tournament and had a good hotel experience. The hotel has been redecorated in the past year or so and is clean with a very friendly staff. The location is good for nearby restaurants and the rooms are clean and up to date. The free breakfast was fairly good and the free coffee was good as well. The pool was clean and the lobby area has some nice chairs and a large plasma TV for gathering together in the evening. They let us use a conference room for a pizza dinner that we brought back and we all had a good time. Compared to many of the other nearby hotels where otehrs teams stayed, this is among if not the best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsalotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peoria hotels
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Peoria
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Peoria Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Peoria North
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Peoria
3.6 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Peoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Peoria

Address: 1928 W War Memorial Dr, Peoria, IL 61614-6726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range: $100 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Peoria 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Peoria, IL is located just minutes from Caterpillar Global Headquarters, Peoria Civic Center and Bradley University.The Courtyard Peoria is also within walking distance of the Northwoods Mall and Westlake Shopping Center. The hotel offers all the modern amenities guests need on the road, including free WiFi, 24-hour fitness facility, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and 24-hour business center. Eat, drink and connect at Courtyard's own Bistro with Starbucks Coffee and a full menu of healthy options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Peoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Peoria Hotel Peoria
Peoria Courtyard
Peoria Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing