We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Plenty of free outdoor parking. Clean and tidy reception with wood panelled walls. The staff are helpful and friendly. We stayed in a century room which was also clean and comfortable. They had just received a safe which we had to ask for and was promptly taken to our room. On arrival you also receive a voucher for 2 free drinks in the TWO25 bar. Cooked breakfast was included and was very nice. We also had dinner in the TWO25 restaurant. The food was very good. We had a good 2 night stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    110
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
60
100
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Mark Twain is a classy dog-friendly hotel with remarkable views of the Illinois River from the upper floors. One can eat and drink there, or walk to some near by joints and restaurants. There is a also a nice riverside park. There is enough there and in the surrounding neighborhood to make it a most adequate stopping point for cross country travel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank satrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As the title goes, this hotel was a delight to my eyes from the moment I stepped in. The library look of the reception is pretty awesome and the staff at front desk were very courteous and friendly. They offer "Mark Twain" cookies when you arrive, and also provide shuttle service to and fro from the airport and any nearby place you want to visit. The breakfast was great and the rooms were exceptionally clean. I loved the firmness of the bed as I am health conscious and know its the best kind for your spine! However, my king size bedroom had only 1 bedside lamp and I wish the room was more lit up with more lights. However, since I was returning from work in evening, I did not mind it too much. Other than that I felt very comfortable with almost everything in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyankaonTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

From the first exchange with the front desk attendant to my last goodbye this place is simply fantastic. Great location. Great service. Tremendous Breakfast.
Clean. Free Parking. Library area very classy and enjoy a free Starbucks coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapuna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here. Unpretentious from the outside, the hotel has an attractive library/lobby and nicely update rooms. Ours had a great view overlooking the Illinois River. Staff was attentive and helpful and the we were only a few blocks away from Peoria's newly-restored River Walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful boutique hotel in the heart of Peoria. This was for a business trip. Clean, comfortable room, the bed was a little hard. The restaurant in the hotel was nice, the food was good.
I would stay there again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed overnight last weekend as we were attending a wedding reception at the pavilion next door. The building is right downtown and is charmingly historic but the rooms have been renovated to a modern look. The room was very comfy, though somewhat small, and had a river view. It was spotless, as was the bathroom, and I really liked the shower in the bathroom. There was a complmentary full breakfast including made-to-order waffles, omelettes etc if you wanted it. If the weather had been warmer we could have eaten on the patio, which was also charming and inviting. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi S, General Manager at Mark Twain Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi there, how are you?

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I appreciate that you also took time to post photos of the property.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the room and our lovely river views. I'm sure it was very convenient for you to walk right next door from your event. Please come back so you can enjoy the patio!

Hope to see you again soon,

Naomi & Mark Twain Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.3 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
7.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Peoria
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Peoria Downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Property: Mark Twain Hotel
Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing