We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++”
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

You'd think it was a boring hotel from the outside and the inside, but once you actually look around it's pretty phenomenal! The rooms are clean and makes me feel comfortable. Not necessarily at home because what's the point of going to a hotel if you wanna feel at home? The breakfast in outrageous! 20 pounds of bacon? Don't mind if I do! Highly reccomended hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla_Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is in downtown and very near the riverfront but miraculously has its own free parking lot. The staff people were all very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. I appreciated getting a short extension on my check out time.I liked the theme of retro artwork depicting major hotels that was in the rooms and hallways. The room was comfy with a fridge and microwave, very nice linens, flat screen tv. Bathroom was also nice; shower was more compact than others I've seen but the water pressure was great.

Included with the hotel stay are complimentary drink tickets for the bar/restaurant downstairs. I appreciated having my additional drink (soda) made to go as I can only consume so much in one sitting. The gym is in the basement and had a nice mix of cardio and weights. In the morning I enjoyed the free breakfast, including made to order omelets and waffles :).

I want to give this hotel 5 stars because it is so adorable and well run. However, housekeeping started cleaning my room before it was even official check-out time. Usually I put the privacy note on the door but was in a hurry on the morning of my departure date. I don't know if what housekeeping did was customary, but it seems as though it would be double work for them to "tidy" up my room and then have to go back to do the more thorough cleaning to prepare for the next guest. I think I probably return to this hotel though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

One of the nicer places in a city with little to offer. The property has been updated recently, but it is designed to look like an Art Deco building that is a half-century old. It has free wi-fi and a nice gym in the basement with free weights, machines and aerobic machines. The rooms are small, but have large bathrooms and nice fixtures. The best feature of the hotel is the free buffet that includes waffles and omelets made-to-order! There is a free shuttle to take you wherever you want, and you get two free drinks per night at the hotel's bar, which you will definitely need if you are stuck in Peoria for any length of time. The one thing the hotel could use is a business center. But that's a quibble; I had a very pleasant stay here.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Mark Twain in Peoria a couple of times. It looks like it was built in the 1960's but has been completely renovated. There are great rooms with exposed brick walls and great appointments... I like the track lighting. The rooms are small but seem bigger due to the layout and configuration. Free easy parking is a plus. The only drawback is that the beds are incredibly hard and the pillows uncomfortable, at least for me. Still, I love this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed there Jan 4, 2012 and was very pleased. It is very easy to access from I-74, easy open parking (no covered parking garage), the lobby was small but well decorated. Rooms were adequate for our use. They provide 2 free drink coupons for the bar which is adjacent. My only comments would be the bathroom has very little counter space, and the bar does not open until after 5. Their free breakfast is a bit beyond typical because they make custom omelets and waffles as well as the normal stuff. It is within walking distance of the Peoria Civic Center, downtown restaurants. They also have a complimentary shuttle that goes about everywhere! Great hotel to replace the temporarily closed Pere Marquette at a much better rate!

Room Tip: Rooms on one side overlook the river. The other side simply sees the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I would recommend this hotel, it is clean, quiet and the renovated studio rooms on the 7th floor are very comfortable. The room decor is modern and user friendly for the business traveler. The shuttle service is a great bonus to and from the airport and to restaurants and shopping. The shuttle driver Alex was prompt and courteous. The breakfast which is included in the room rate is adequate

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay one night at this hotel last week and would stay there again. It was easy to find, plenty of parking and accessible to major streets/highways. Service was friendly, and everything was clean. Accomidations were modern and well put together; I was impressed by the room and it's ammedities. Stay included a voucher for a free drink at the bar that night and a made-to-order breakfast consisting of omelets, waffles, fruit, juice, cereal etc. Overall, I was impressed and would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.2 mi away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Peoria-East At The River Boat Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Peoria North, IL
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Peoria at Grand Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range: $112 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing