We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time”

Alexander's Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 393 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wonder Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was great to be able to cook our own steaks. They will cook it for you if you prefer, but that will take longer. The prices are fair, and the staff seems to be very well trained and not over bearing or over loaded with other tables. Definitely will be back again

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dtadk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    100
    42
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Big Steaks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I were part of a group of fourteen celebrating our son-in-law's birthday.

My wife and I each ordered the top sirloin ( 18 oz.) with baked potato, salad bar and Texas toast ($22.99). Our daughter and son-in-law elected to share a top sirloin Santa Maria style with hand-rubbed seasoning (18 oz. - $23.29). They shared the steak and for an additional $9.95 our daughter also had a baked potato, salad bar and Texas toast.

Our son-in-law elected to cook his and our daughter's steak on the large in-house grill.

My wife and I asked the servers to cook ours for an additional $2.00/each.

Everything tasted good. The steaks were tender - - the baked potatoes were moist - - the salad bar had enough selections.

The steaks are very large and my wife and I each had to take 1/2 of ours' home.

Our waitress served our whole group - she was friendly and attentive - - we never had to ask for refills, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Place for Large Group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited here while in town for a national softball tournament. Had a group of almost 20 and the restaurant was VERY accommodating, especially on a Friday evening when they were busy. Our server was great about matching parents and their teens' bills while the teens sat at one end of our long table, parents at the other.

Drink orders were taken and delivered quickly, refilled before half empty. Salad bar was large, fresh, well stocked, again - nice given how busy it was.

Menu is more than just steaks - appetizers, seafood, chicken and pork are also available. There was something for everyone, including a Kids' Menu for the young siblings that were with us. You can also get just the salad bar, which includes a baked potato and Texas toast for $9.95. This was a hit with our ball players.

It cost an additional $2.69 for the restaurant to cook your steak. I cooked my own and it was done before others at our table who chose to have their cooked for them. Large variety of very large, fresh steaks. Meals come with baked potato (or bottomless steak fries) and Texas toast.

At the large grill, there are chefs to help you cook your steak properly (suggesting cook times, when to turn, etc.) There are also numerous shakers of all kinds of seasonings for steaks and Texas Toast.

In all, our group had a great experience. Alexander's has a lively atmosphere, so our large group and the laughter/noise that comes from it was hardly noticed. Nice to try a place we don't have at home. Would recommend it to friends traveling to the Peoria area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintermom9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Friday night at the salad bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I enjoyed a delicious Long Island Iced Tea at the bar. Then we had a simple meal from the ample salad bar complete with baked potato and Texas toast. Ryan gave us great service at the table. I complimented Steve and Josh for a nice evening on the way out. We are defiantly coming here more often.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place seems a bit rustic on the exterior, but inside the steaks are amazing. This is a place where you can stand around a huge grill and cook your steak yourself while enjoying a beer with friends, or you can have the chef prepare your steak for you. Can accommodate large groups and the price is reasonable for steak. This is a riverfront location so it lends to the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4business2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing