We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's average faux Italian food, but nostalgia still wins”

Avanti's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #93 of 403 Restaurants in Peoria
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's average faux Italian food, but nostalgia still wins”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Unfortunately I have this forced guide pushing me toward a meal at Avantis every time I'm back in Peoria. The food is average, and even then Gondola sandwich, with its bread having enough sugar to essentially be a doughnut, seems to have changed a bit over the years.

It's not particularly very good, but I keep coming back. And those not from Peoria find it good enough to eat as well. And it's cheap.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service, Average Pizza”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Conveniently located near hotels and shopping. Delivery was quick, salads were good. Pizza was fresh but just average in taste. Would recommend if you are looking for something other than the chains.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
“ordered in”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

loved the service, and the food. even on their busiest nights the food rocked, the price was reasonable. delivery person was wonderful. person who took the phone call sounded like she could have used a break, poor dear, but it was worth it nonetheless.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accomodated service for 12 with ease”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is always a standard place to dine when back in Peoria. Since we were in town for a family funeral, everything was very last minute and we showed up with 12 people for a late dinner. The restaurant wasn't too busy and they were able to accommodate us quickly.

I was impressed that the wait staff combined their efforts to service our large group. It helped to keep things organized and make sure the service was prompt and efficient.

The food was exactly as I remembered...everyone was very happy with their selections.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

very good food at great values The place is known for its sandwiches but everything is good. I love the salads

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank edwards-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avanti's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing