We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
central Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just returned from a three night stay in Peoria, where I attended a fantastic concert by the Peoria Symphony Orchestra featuring Olga Kern. Staying at this hotel was very convenient, and the staff and service where excellent throughout my stay. An older building that Marriott has renovated very well. My room was large (8th floor with a nice view), very clean and everything provided was first class, I slept well on a an extremely comfortable bed. The lobby and lounge areas , and the firendly and professional service provided by the staff, makes it easy to relax and I did meet some friendly people ..... made some friends too. I did use the valet parking service and that worked well for my stay. The hotel does provide shuttle service which if free and very convenient when needed.

Room Tip: There is some outdoor construction, so avoid a room that could be noisy. The civic center is across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiguaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette. I am so happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our wonderful staff members.

We are fortunate to be located across the street from the Peoria Civic Center. The Civic Center offers a wide range of concerts, Broadway shows and events. It is a fantastic venue.

I hope the you have the opportunity to stay with us again very soon.

Please enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    112
    40
    13
    14
See reviews for
71
71
10
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is a complete rip off. Who doesn't offer free internet access these days? Marriott, that's who. they attempt to bilk you of every dollar you have at every turn. $10 plus a tip for lethargic and apathetic Parking Valets, $10 for internet access which is completely out of line and ridiculous. EVERY hotel offers free Wi-Fi these days.
We stayed on the 8th floor. The room was really nice and clean, but it takes nearly ten whole minutes to receive hot water in the shower. There is no designated smoking area inside the hotel. One must stand outside in the rain and elements and face the street people if they wish to enjoy a smoke in the middle of the night. No pool, no Jacuzzi.
I would NOT encourage ANYONE to use this hotel unless you have more money than you know what to do with.

Room Tip: If you truly want a "Good Room" choose another hotel. But if you're stuck staying ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at the hotel. The team and I take all guest comments seriously and use them to continuously improve our guests' experiences.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Marriott has done an excellent job with the Pere Marquette. As a historic building there are some things that cannot be change to protect the integrity of the building. Marriott and its architects selected the rights things to be changed, redesigned and re-engineered. Our room was modern, spacious, quiet, spotless and well stocked. Check in was efficient and welcoming. Staff displayed characteristic Marriott hosting with proper training. Every staff person I encountered treated me like a privileged guest. Breakfast was far more than a continental breakfast. Again, staff effiency with a human touch. I would stay here again in a heart beat but only come to Peoria once every 10years. And yes, the hotel can easily compete with upscale hotels in Chicago. It's not trying to be The Ritz. It is a very nice boutique hotel with a fun history!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time time to share your experience at the hotel. The team and I are very proud of the beautiful property that we have the privelege to work in everyday. We strive every day to offer excellent experiences to our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us sooner than 10 years from now.

Please enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Pere Marquette by Marriott is an historic hotel (by U.S. standards) that has been gutted and totally renovated with a very modern décor.

The Room: My spacious room had a beautiful décor and very nice furniture. I loved the unique layout of the room. The room had a wing-back chair with ottoman and a large LG flat-screen TV. The mattress was great and provided a good night's sleep. With the room key card, you just touch it the disc of the door handle to the room; no need to insert in a slot and hope it works. You'll pay for the internet according to what I heard a desk clerk tell an inquiring guest.

Want a Quiet Room? The hotel is U-shaped. It doesn't get any better than the "41" tier. It's a corner room at the tip of the U but not on the street side. You'll have three windows and plenty of light.

Bring Your Own Supplies? I gave the hotel a 4-star rating; no good reason it shouldn't have had a five. Shortly after checking in, I noticed there were no bath towels or bath mat. I called the front desk and three bath towels were soon delivered with apologies. I overlooked this omission. Then before retiring for the night, I wanted to have a cup of coffee only to discover that the coffee maker was missing the pot. I alerted the front desk (didn't want them to think I stole it) but declined the offer to bring me one. With this omission I withdrew a star from the rating and also the gratuity for the housekeeper although I had guilt about these actions. In the morning I got in the shower only to discover they provided no shampoo. With this discovery my aforementioned guilt completely disappeared. Perhaps you should conduct an inventory upon checking in.

Dining: I didn't have dinner at the hotel although the menu looked acceptable but the wine a bit pricey. I had an EXCELLENT dinner at Jim's Steak House in the lower level of an office building a block from the hotel towards the river. It's a large, dark, richly appointed restaurant with a heavy masculine décor. The only glitch was unrolling my napkin containing the silverware upon arrival of my salad. Wouldn't you know it; it contained two knives but no forks. What is it Peoria with such a lack of attention to detail (see missing this and that at the hotel)?

Practicing Catholic? If you're a practicing Catholic staying on a Saturday night, there's a Catholic church in the same block as the hotel, Sacred Heart. Sunday Masses are at 6,8 and 10. I believe the Saturday vigil Mass is at 4:30 PM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoKen60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette. The team and I are very proud of the beautiful property that we are able to share with our guests.

I do apologize for the missing items in your guest room. I will work with our team to make sure that these types of issues do not occur in the future.

I hope that you will visit us again in the future and have the opportunity to dine in our restaurant, Table19. Our Chef offers an excellent array of menu items that our guests enjoy.

Sincerely,

Laura L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is your typical Marriott, so not many surprises. Good thing is that rooms look renovated, and you don't have that terrible bath tub in the shower area. There could be a little more in terms of amenities (you have soap, shampoo and conditioner, that's all): toothbrush, shaving cream, etc. (similar to Ramada and other chains) could be available as well.
Breakfast is expensive (around $14 for a VERY limited buffet). It should be around $5 for what is on offer.
You have to pay for wifi in your room: approx $10/day. We are in 2013, and wifi should be free at hotels (lobby wifi is free). That is a major disadvantage. Or, at minimum, offer a cable internet for free.
Other than that, staff is very friendly. Kudos to them.
Obs.: if you want laundry done, don't just leave the bag with the clothes on your bed. You have to call someone to pick it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenatoMaschetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to send your review of your stay at the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel. The team and I are always open to ways to improve our guests' experiences at the property.

The hotel re-opened after a beautiful and complete renovation and restoration of the historic Pere Marquette Hotel in June, 2013.

The team and I will continue to work dilligently to offer you and all of our guests beautiful accommodations and great service as we move into the future.

I do appreciate your time and hope that you will choose the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette when traveling to Illinois in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved the Marriott Pere Marquette! Stayed overnight for my sons wedding. The hotel itself along with the rooms have been remodeled. Our room was very nice. The bed was plushy and comfy. Big flat screen tv. Coffee maker in the room. Plenty of room in the bathroom. My nephew did say his bathroom/room was tiny. They had a corner room. I would just make sure to request no corner room. The lobby area was very nice. Pretty chandeliers. They do have room service and a restaurant and lobby bar. Unfortunetely we did not eat from either. If you do not eat in the restaurant there are plenty of places to eat downtown within walking distance. Hoops Pizza is right across the street along with several other places. The location downtown is fabulous. They do not have a pool which was no big deal to us. The Pere also has a shuttle that will take you anywhere for free and pick you back up. You just have to call them. The shuttle runs til 2am on weekend. I would call to find out if same time throughout the week. We of course tipped them. You do have to pay to park. We did valet since we were on a time crunch trying to check in to then get to the reception. The husband paid for it so do not know price. You could bring your car in and out with valet as much as you like with no additional charge. Would recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for no corner room. I hear they are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajoitaly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel. And an extra special thank you for hosting your son's wedding at the property. The team and I were thrilled to have had the opportunity to serve you and your guests.

We are very proud of the beautiful hotel and its renovations. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Please enjoy the rest of your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've beens staying here weekly for several weeks now. The hotel is old on the outside but totally renovated and up to date on the inside. Facilities are great, rooms are clean and comfortable and the customer service is exceptional. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, General Manager at Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette. The team and I are extremely proud of the beautiful renovation of this historic property. The hotel opened in 1929 and is listed on the National Registry of Historic Buildings. I hope that you enjoy the balance of the new and the historic during your visits.

I hope that you will continue to choose the Peoria Pere Marquette when visiting the Peoria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.2 mi away
Mark Twain Hotel
Mark Twain Hotel
#6 of 23 in Peoria
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Peoria Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
7.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Peoria
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites East Peoria - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette

Property: Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
Address: 501 Main St, Peoria, IL 61602-1028 (Formerly Hotel Pere Marquette)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Peoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historical elegance of the most premier hotel in Peoria, Illinois. The Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette Hotel invites guests to experience the $70M renovation which has retained the essence that made this hotel in Peoria a favorite choice among celebrities. The hotel features 15,500 sq. ft. of new commercial space on the ground level and coming in 2014, will be connected to the Peoria Civic Center via skywalk. In the hotel lobby, an inviting great room greets guests and leads to Table 19, an upscale restaurant and bar where delicious entrees, drinks and lively conversation are the order of the day. In each of the brand new 286 rooms, guests will relax on comfortable linens, custom duvets, and plush mattress toppers. Wireless high-speed Internet access and new HDTVs balance the historical ambience and elegant décor. With modern amenities and simple luxuries, it’s our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation the trip of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing