We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice new museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Museum

Riverfront Museum
222 SW Washington Street, Peoria, IL
309.686.7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 31 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice new museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The museum is downtown on the waterfront. It shares an underground parking garage with the Caterpillar Museum. This makes it very convenient to visit both museums. My daughters had a great time at the many exhibits. The museum would be good for the entire family as there is fun for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank maschmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    43
    24
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Day at the Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Finally went to visit Peoria Riverfront Museum. Since I was doing Laser Light show on Friday night and taking my sister to museum on Saturday. Went ahead and got a membership as it is now half paid for just by those two days.
Spent two hours in museum. Went to Dome (planetarium) 25 minute show which was very interesting. The Dome is world class and a great addition to museum.
Ripleys was the current extra exhibit so we chose to do that and the Peoria history permanent museum in the time we allowed. Both were very interesting and learned many things we did not know. Good mix of hands on with facts to read which held our interest.
Will be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ecolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“They're trying...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Another riverfront attraction. The best kept secret is the movie theatre. Huge screen. Tickets are expensive, but the food is cheaper by far. The collections are decent, and it's getting better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ejonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Needs more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The museum facility and large and well maintained however the exhibit hall is very small. When you think museum you think artifacts and two rooms of artifacts just wasn't enough for us. Luckily the second exhibit was Ripleys believe it or not. That exhibit was fun for all Members of my family. There is much to see in that exhibit and some to make you really think.

The children's area of the museum is fun but could use more interactive experiences. The soccer and basketball areas were over run by teens making my 7 year old hesitant to go and try out how accurate his throw was or strong his soccer kick was.

I would like to see this museum expand. It's in a Gorgeous location and has plenty of room for other exhibits!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
750 reviews
433 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I refused to pay the admission price that they were asking so I visited the free displays in the hall & lobby area. The gift shop was larger than most small museums and I did purchase a few items

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pnkgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Museum also viewed

 

Been to Riverfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing