We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smithsonian connection good!”

Peoria Riverfront Museum
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Peoria Riverfront Museum features international exhibitions, the Dome Planetarium, RealD Giant Screen Theater, art & natural history collections, and interactive galleries - including IHSA Peak Performance, Illinois River Experience, Discovery Worlds & The Street local history. We offer unique classes, programs and community outreach efforts that provide fun, hands-on educational experiences for all ages. The Museum is the perfect, riverfront location for one-of-a-kind event rentals - unique weddings in the sculpture garden, corporate team building activities, relaxing meeting spots, special celebrations, giant screen video game competitions and even dinners under the stars. Peoria Riverfront Museum is a privately funded AAM-accredited nonprofit museum. Our mission is to inspire lifelong learning for all - connecting art, history, science and achievement through collections, exhibitions, and programs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smithsonian connection good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A first class stomp thru Peoria, but lacking some of the more colorful characters in the history of this little riverfront town! The are and artifacts from smithsonian are worthwhile. Don t bother with the snacks, served by a most disinterested staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    30
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Considering the huge fuss, the museum leaves little to be desired with a generic 'IMAX', outrageous prices for a family with four children and the same boring exhibits that were at the original location. Very sad.
Our son went to one of the camps there too this summer and it was insanely priced, horrible attitudes from the education Director, and rude teachers. Big disappointment!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank willowomyn0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The exhibit area didn't live up to billing. Good stuff, but small and limited, several things for kids were out of order, sort of a downer when you're there with kids. The Planetarium, however, was first rate. A nice diversion when going through Peoria, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't confuse Caterpillar with the Riverfront Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Caterpillar's visitor center and the museum share the same block but are two different entities.

We bought a family membership at Christmas and wasn't sure if we would get our $ out of it.
This museum is so worth it and what a bargain the family membership has been.
My 8 year old son loves the interactive activities so much that we try to go monthly. I really enjoy the art and have seen wonderful local artists as well as a beautiful Ansel Adams exhibit.
My teens have been to the Dome Planetarium several times.
Our plans are to view the new Lincoln exhibit, catch the summer movies on the big screen as well as looking forward to Folding Paper and Ripley's Believe it or not!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seg82
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Potential For More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Riverfront Museum has been an excellent addition to the downtown area, but the execution has been a little off. The IHSA section is great for kids, and the Peoria section is pretty interesting. Time will tell if they can get some solid exhibits in soon and make this a more regular stop for us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peoria Riverfront Museum also viewed

 

Been to Peoria Riverfront Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing