We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Riverfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caterpillar Visitors Center

Caterpillar Visitors Center
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Caterpillar Visitors Center is a fascinating look at the company, the iron and the people making sustainable progress possible around the world. From the humble beginnings of the first tractor to the company's present-day leadership in building infrastructure and powering the planet — it's all right here on Peoria's beautiful riverfront. We invite you to experience Caterpillar like never before and plan your visit today.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riverfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

For those not interested in the casino trip, this very interesting museum provided a nice alternative within walking distance....liked the interactive displays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AuntieJ108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    83
    28
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a great way to spend a couple hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

My kids (3 and 6) loved this place! The staff was very friendly and helpful, it was a bit busy (we had about a 3-5 minute wait to see inside each vehicle), so I would suggest maybe going on a weekday. Nice gift shop and great location as it was very easy to find. Parking was not an issue, we parked a couple blocks away and walked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Backincincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
388 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Wow! Talk about huge equipment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is really an interesting attraction. In spite of the PR about how great the company is, the displays and history are really good. The simulators are outstanding - they really demonstrate the expertise it takes to run these machines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome machines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When we entered, we experienced the inside of a 797, massive build! Love the history, the machines and gift shops. Look for sale items at the back corner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth visiting - simulators were fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This museum was fun, impressive and interactive. I was overwhelmed by the size of some of the machinery. The film was interesting and worth the time, but the simulator was the most fun! We took some great photos to show the scale of the equipment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caterpillar Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Caterpillar Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing