We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem in Peoria”
Review of Connected

Connected
Ranked #9 of 399 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: (309) 686-5925
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in Peoria”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went to Connected on the recommendation of our friends' business associate. It was hard to find, tucked in the Landmark area behind the Walmart and shared a building with a Bingo hall. The front of the restaurant was tidy and reminiscent of an Italian storefront.
The dining area opened into what looked like a plaza under the stars, very comfortable and cozy.
The service was attentive, but not overbearing as we enjoyed a leisurely evening.
We enjoyed dinners from the main menu, Veal al Limon, Sea Bass on Shrimp risotto, and the amazing wild boar and scalloped potatoes.
The flavor was intense and each of the dishes were wonderfully prepared.
We finished with a dessert of cheesecake and red velvet cake. delicious!
The bill came with long stem roses and complimentary home made limoncella.
It was a wonderful meal, and we will look forward to returning on our next visit to Peoria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 81globetrotter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Connected is a nice place. The food is outstanding. I love the veal, but if you eat to try something a bit outside the box, try the wild boar, which is also delicious. The staff is excellent. Women receive a rose, which is a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marywithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I go to this restaurant when we need to spoil ourselves with a fancy night out without the kids.

As parents of young children, we almost never have a chance to linger over several courses and truly enjoy being pampered.

The service is amazing and personal. We feel doted on without feeling hovered over or rushed.

Their wine list is quite good. On our first visit, we were extremely pleased to see that they carried one of our favorite Oregon reds--which I wish they'd have continued. The alternative bottle the server brought out on our most recent visit was also very nice, however.

The food is excellent-- in presentation and quality. You can tell care goes into creating each dish on the menu. As a vegetarian, I enjoy having several options (none of which feel like a compromise) from which to choose.

Their desserts are amazing--fresh and flavorful.

In summary, go when you want to spoil yourself, linger over a long and delicious dinner, and leave completely stuffed. You will congratulate yourself on a decision well made.


Helpful?
2 Thank Jen53222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Not the best location in Peoria, but once inside the atmosphere and food are terrific. The sea bass and the filet mignon are delightful, and the au gratin potatoes are the best in Peoria. Service is always good, and any ladies in your party receive a red rose at the end of the meal. They also give you a complimentary small shot of Limoncello to end the evening (made in-house by Troy, the owner/chef). All in all, a fine dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmPeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria IL
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, ambivalent service”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I'd looked forward to a meal at Connected since a friend recommended it over a year ago. Overall, the food was outstanding. The Wild Boar I had was perfectly prepared and my fellow diners said the veal and other dishes were first class. My only significant complaint was the slowness and inattentiveness of the wait staff. It took forever for the menus to arrive, and the staff did nothing to describe the menu other than that day's special. During the meal, little attention was paid to empty wine glasses, and the overall impression was that of neglect. In spite of the size of our pary, the owner paid us no attention, prefering to chat up the ladies at the bar rather than paying attention to his dining guests. A restaurant offering food of this standard should be able to hire professional staff to enhance, not negate, the quality of the experience. I would definitely return for the food, and I hope our experience was unusual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connected also viewed

 
 

Been to Connected? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing