We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Now the Riverfront Museum” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Museum of Arts & Sciences

Lakeview Museum of Arts & Sciences
Ranked #29 of 35 things to do in Peoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: has children's hands-on exhibits
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Now the Riverfront Museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Lakeview Museum was the best at it's former location on Lake Ave. Small building but had awesome exhibits and new exhibits rotated every couple of months. It's no longer there and has moved to the Riverfront where it's disappointing now. Very large building and less things to look at. Parking is not free anymore like it was at it's former location! Poor attendance records show loss of interest. Once you've seen it you won't go back. Museum should not have been moved, it was doing well attendance wise where it was. Always free parking made it great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank 139mike139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Professional, user friendly museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice museum with events and displays for the entire family. Great gift shop and always top notch displays.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisBombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Been years, but was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's been years since I've been there, but the kids & I enjoyed it. They had a lot of cool, interactive displays.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been many times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My grandkids love to go here. They enjoy the children's section of the museum and the gift store. My grandchildren also took art lesson at this building. Very happy with the classes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“really disappointing if you are an adult”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I thought this might be an interesting thing to do, but was pretty disappointed. A few kiddie hands-on displays but not much else of interest for adults.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeview Museum of Arts & Sciences also viewed

 

Been to Lakeview Museum of Arts & Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing