We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hickory River's Pig Roasts are the BEST!”

Hickory River Smokehouse
Ranked #21 of 411 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Coming from living in Texas for 13 years, we were very skeptical about whether we'd be tasting Bar-B-Q like we were used to getting back in Austin. However, after walking into Hickory River Bar-B-Q and tasting their product, my family and I were pleasantly surprised and amazed that we could find good flavored Bar-B-Q anywhere in the midwest. We were so taken by the food at Hickory River Bar-B-Q that we used them to cater our Summer Bash Party with a whole hog pig roast. All of our guests were extremely happy with the food and the service. Mike, the manager at Hickory River was our cook, server and set up for the party and he did a fantastic job. Mike was both friendly, and very efficiant at every aspect of the service. They arrived at the time they said they would, set up their cooker and tent right where we wanted them to, and had the hog ready at the time they said they'd have it ready without any problems. All in all the experience with Hickory River was a very pleasant one. Even after our party, Mike has been very courteous and friendly with us whenever we've been back in to the resturant. Without a doubt we will be having Hickory River cater other parties including next years Summer Bash again. We would definately recomend Mike and his crew for any catering needs you may have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peoria_Palehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjohnstone1, Owner at Hickory River Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Thanks guys! Had a great time at your event! You could have found a better picture of me with that little piggy though! I look a little dangerous with that knife! - Mike Johnstone, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

It's hard to believe this is the most popular restaurant in Peoria. There is a good selection of meats, which are just OK. The vegetable of the day, "golden corn" and the barbecue beans obviously direct from cans. Corn bread was dry. Little packets of juice instead of lemon for the iced tea. Wouldn't go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjohnstone1, Owner at Hickory River Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Whether feedback be positive or negative it should be important to any business that truly cares about their customers, as I do mine. Our cornbread is baked fresh daily and if you got a piece that was a little dryer than we intended, we truly apologize. Any food item a guest has a problem with will be replaced or refunded by a manager; all our guest have to do is let us know that there’s a problem! Our beans are not directly from a can, our beans have fresh smoked beef brisket and onions and spices added. More often than not, people who dislike our beans are not accustomed to a true to Texas, Ranch-Style bean. Our beans are not baked beans; they are a barbecued pinto bean. As for the corn, if you do not like frozen vegetables we recommend trying one of our many other delicious homemade sides. We have never claimed to be the best or most popular restaurant in Peoria. We do and will always claim to be a local business that cares about this community, our customers, and the product we serve. Many of our regular customers also note the speed of our service and value of our food compared to other similar restaurants. Michael Johnstone, Managing Partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Hickory River has gone above and beyond to help us cater our large client event by providing us with fantastic food and fabulous service. Many rave reviews and not one single complaint. We will gladly use them again and again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenWFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I want to compliment Mike and his staff at Hickory River Smokehouse for the excellent job they did while catering our recent hog roast held on June 5th, 2010. From start to finish, Hickory River answered the call and provided an amazing experience for over 250 of our guests that enjoyed the event. Mike and his team were spot on from the beginning. Planning and coordinating an event has never been easier and I commend Hickory River for the focused attention and sincere interest they invested in our event. If you are looking for a great partner to cater your next event, Hickory River Smokehouse delivers fabulous food, outstanding service, and an experience you won’t find anywhere else. Thank you Hickory River Smokehouse for making our event such a success!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bhessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Hickory River Smokehouse traveled 50 miles to cater our company picnic for 660 people. The food was to die for and the staff was more than eager to please. The staff even stayed to weather a storm that blew through the picnic. I would definitely recommend Hickory River for your next catering event-the food was fabulous!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lilredcar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory River Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory River Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing