We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Sushi Ko

Sushi Ko
Ranked #62 of 399 Restaurants in Peoria
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband is not a sushi fan, but the regular menu gave him plenty to chose from. I stuck to sushi and it was wonderful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Amazing = )”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I go to Sushi Ko every Friday night with my boyfriend for Sushi now because we love this place so much!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickitwin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Food ... Sincere but Spotty Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just finished excellent meal from the restaurant's Chinese menu. Outstanding ingredient and preparation quality. We had 12 dishes with outstandingly true Chinese food flavor. We lived in Hong Kong for several years and the aromas made several of us recall favorite restaurants there. A great sign of authenticity.

Service was spotty. The server was sincere but had to be asked for plates and other basic service items.

This restaurant is now branded "Sushi Ko" but retains Sushi Popo identity in phone and billing, so we presume some ownership changes have occurred.

Highly recommend for food quality, but be prepared for possible slow service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I had been to Sushi Popo many years ago, and the service then was horrible. We waited over an hour for our food. This is the first time I was back since they changed their name to Sushi Ko and remodeled. I asked the server if the restaurant changed hands, but he said it was the same owner. This time a friend and I went for lunch for my birthday. The restaurant was not busy, and our service was wonderful. The waiter was patient and accommodating and wished me a happy birthday. Not being a sushi fan, I ordered cashew chicken which also came with either hot and sour or egg drop soup, rice and a small order of edamame to share. The edamame and soup we're both good. I wasn't crazy about the cashew chicken, only because it had lots of zucchini which I do not care for. However, the chicken was tender and fresh, and the dish had lots of cashews. My friend loved it. I also got a free scoop of green tea ice cream for a birthday dessert. All in all, it was a nice, relaxing lunch, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely go again, especially with my daughter and son-in-law. They are vegetarians, and there are quite a few vegetarian dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Moonsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBANY,GA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went there for dinner one night. The food was good not great. The service was ok but nothing to write home about. My only real complaint was they give you appetizer size plates to eat off of. Our family likes to each order one dish and pass them around for every one to try. I guess they are not really set up for that. They do charge extra for hot tea so beware of that as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank southernpilot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ko also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing