We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge and Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pekin
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The place smelled like a mixture of cat urine and cigarette smoke throughout. Door locks broken, dirty, and not friendly. There was a pool but I would never consider getting in it. Obviously pet friendly.....according to the odor. Do yourself a favor and spend and extra 30 dollars to stay somewhere else. As frequent travelers we are changing Hotel brands.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola1960048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    9
    5
    14
See reviews for
26
8
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

When I got my room, the door wouldn't open. Apparently, the last guest left the metal latch in the lock position. I tried explaining to the front desk person who was a foreign man. He thought the key wasn't working until I brought him down to look. Once inside, I saw a huge stain on the chair by the desk. The desk was sticky like someone spilled pop. The bathroom counter was cracked. Front desk woman was asking how I got so cheap of a rate when I checked out. She kept questioning me and said I should've been charged more. What a nightmare!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericaJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Room was decent and the bed was comfortable. Room was reasonably clean but not perfect. Breakfast was sparse. The owner/manager at the front desk is very hard to communicate with. The hotel is hard to find and he was not able to communicate directions to the hotel. Everyone in my group ended up with some form of spyware/adware/virus on their computer after using the free wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was a good hotel. The price was reasonable. Not five star but we didn't pay for 5 star. No better or worse than any other midprice chain hotel. The room was clean. The pool was clean also. We have an elderly dog and did not want to board him at a kennel. This hotel allowed pets which was a plus for us.The breakfast was the normal cereal, rolls, juice, etc. The staff was very friendly. I had read the bad review. We did not have any mold in our bath and our bed linens were fine. No complaints. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2008

What a pit! Due to our job, my wife and I spend several months
a year on the road. This place was BAD! There was mold/mildew
around the tub/shower and on the floor as well as what must have been urine on the floor around the toilet. You could read
a newspaper through the sheets! We had booked several nights
but first thing the next morning we booked four nights at a competitor just down the road. After this experience, we now inspect any rooms before we move in.....YUCK!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank waysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

A 2 night Stay mid-May 2007 for a family event in town. Hotel was just fine, clean, quiet. I had a dog with me, the grounds were very nicely maintained, and had lots of room to walk the dog. On the edge of town near all the chain restaurants and Big Box stores.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pekin
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Pekin/Peoria Area
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotels And Suites Pekin
0.6 mi away
Studio 6 Pekin
Studio 6 Pekin
#4 of 4 in Pekin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Peoria
9.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Morton
10.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - East Peoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge and Suites

Property: Econo Lodge and Suites
Address: 3240 Vandever Ave, Pekin, IL 61554-6257 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Pekin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pekin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in front of the Avantis Sports Dome with several restaurants and retail businesses surrounding us. We have an indoor pool, free Wi-fi, and free local calls. Our free continental breakfast includes cereal, muffins, donuts, bagels, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, waffle maker, juice and 24 hour coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Pekin
Pekin Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing