We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a quick sunday lunch”
Review of King John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King John Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia
2 reviews
“a quick sunday lunch”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stopped by for a quick bite to eat, although a little pricey this was compensated by the great service we received, especially the warm welcome from the two gentleman behind the bar, (special mention for the wine tasting)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
90
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed at this pub / hotel before when I was last over from AUS. I can see quite a difference.. gradually this wonderfully located english country retreat is becoming very tired looking, and dirty. The previous owner and his wife took great care with all the small detail and since it has been sold to a larger group company, the staff are constantly changing and there appears to be no one " in charge". The rooms and carpets look tired & worn, some rooms, have mildew and smell. You get the very basics in accommodation and yet you are expected to pay a top room rate. When I stayed and eat there the restaurant area was constantly plagued by flies. The food as it was previously, is excellent. I think the whole cleanliness of the place should be examined, the use of wooden boards for serving bread and the fact the bread is left uncovered for hours is not an encouraging sign. Since I last was here they have made some sup improvements to the outdoor garden, with a bar/grill located at the very top. I hope someone decides to " take charge" and fully maximise the opportunity this pub could offer. No robes in the bathroom, not skin moisturiser, so don't accidentally put the hair conditioner on as moisturiser...

Room Tip: If your budget allows choose the KING ROOM , BEWARE there is no phone signal at all, but they do hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 509dylanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kleincharliewinslow, Owner at King John Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Dylan,

Thank you for your feedback from you stay at the King John Inn at Tollard Royal. We take great pride in our building and the surroundings. Both Alex and I are still an instrumental part of the King John Inn and are very conscious to keep the standards highs they have always been. It seems on your occasion that this may of slipped for this we are very sorry.
With regards to the staff, As we have done for the past 6 years we employ traveling staff who seem to have work very well for us. The down side to this is there is always a change of faces. As i do every week, I have been around the rooms this morning and cannot see and evidence of Mildew or the carpets looking warn. I am very glad that you have a great supper, and happy that you like the new garden area. Many Thanks for your comments. Best Regards, Gretchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hi - a group of of old friends stayed here and had a wonderful time. The rooms were extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated, great food and good value - it felt like a "boutique" hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful - one even rang in advance to stay there had been a cancellation and would one of us like to move to a less expensive room! We are so pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This Inn is in a beautiful area where most things are expensive, as is the Inn. The Small Double lived up to its name with no dressing table, the chair had to be moved to access the wardrobe and the bedside cabinets could not be used because they were handed and on the wrong sides of the bed. The promised coffee maker and homemade biscuits was not in evidence when we arrived. The biscuits arrived the next day but not the coffee maker. On the plus side, the bed was most comfortable, the outlook was over lovely cottage gardens, the staff was supremely friendly and helpful and the food very good. We enjoyed our stay but found it a rather expensive experience.

Room Tip: Don't go for a small double. The large double of our friends was a delightful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I booked the King John Inn as a birthday get away from London for my boyfriend. It was recommended to me by a friend and I can honestly say that the recommendation did not do it justice. The setting is so idyllic and quiet, the wine is carefully chosen, the food is locally sourced and clearly a lot of care and attention has gone into everything.

For lunch we had Portland crab and gazpacho, followed by fish and chips. For supper we had clams, squid and chorizo followed by sticky shoulder of lamb and I had the most gorgeous fresh lobster. (which despite some reviews was actually the reasonable price you would expect).

The room was enormous, with exquisite furniture and a giant soft bed.
We have had a wonderful time here and I will definitely be coming back here again. The staff were thoughtful, hardworking and attentive.

Thank you for having us. Florence and Richard X

Room Tip: Room 8, we haven't seen the others but I will be requesting this room again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

How very disappointing. £22-95 for a roast beef Sunday lunch? I don't think that price can be justified how ever good it is. Very poor service. Lovely position for a quality restaurant but they certainly do not hit the spot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jan190727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We recently enjoyed a wonderful evening meal at the King John Inn - such a gorgeous bistro/pub in a stunning setting. The ambience was perfect, and the waitress was knowledgable and attentive - it seemed a popular place and we got the impression many customers were return visitors! The food was delicious - the quality of the food, and expertise in the cooking was plain to see in the presentation, and taste. The chocolate orange torte served with a liqueur coffee was a particular highlight! The wine was also very reasonably priced. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the King John Inn very highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tollard Royal
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cashmoor Inn
Cashmoor Inn
#2 of 3 in Sixpenny Handley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Swallowcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John Inn

Property: King John Inn
Address: Tollard Royal, Tollard Royal SP5 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tollard Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tollard Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — King John Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the scenic village of Tollard Royal in rural Wiltshire, The King John Inn is a Victorian and award-wining country inn offering beautiful accommodation, delicious food and a warm, friendly service. Our eight en-suite bedrooms combine modern comfort with rustic elegance and feature luxurious linen, Nespresso machines, flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, direct dial phones and luxurious toiletries. Our Head Chef is an accomplished fisherman, bakes his own bread, makes his own cheese and still finds time to get up early and catch local game when in season so you can expect that every plate on the King John menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. We are proud to have recently received 1 Rosette from the AA. In summer, our terraced garden is the perfect place to dine alfresco while watching the chefs in action in their Victorian-inspired outdoor kitchen. In winter, relax near our roaring-log fires in our open plan pub or in the informal restaurant. The bar provides an ever-changing selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The King John Inn also sits within a 5-minute walk of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your King John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King John Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing