We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cancelled booking, perfunctory apology” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of King John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King John Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cancelled booking, perfunctory apology”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'd like to be able to say what it's like to stay at the King John Inn but unfortunately we didn't get the chance. After a frantic week at work we decided at last minute to spend short weekend away for our wedding anniversary. Booked on the Friday evening for the following night through Late Rooms, got the confirmation at 8:00 pm, packed our overnight bag and went to bed ready for an early start to get best out of the weekend.

Rose at 6:00 on Saturday morning and thankfully checked email before setting off to find that the King John had cancelled our booking, two hours after we’d had the confirmation. Later in the morning they phoned with a very perfunctory excuse about taking another booking over the phone while we made the online booking. It's not the first time we've been 'bounced' off a Late Rooms booking and I'll reserve judgment on any reasons for the double booking. However:
- a call on the Friday evening would have saved the disappointment of finding we were packed and ready with no where to stay
- other reviews on here speak of a cold business approach and that was my feeling, I got the impression this was just an unfortunate, procedural error in their view
- better administrative procedures on their part would have prevented the ‘double booking’ circumstances as described to me

Late Rooms were excellent and cancelled the charge on my card immediately. The King John offered to put us in touch with another hotel locally - one we'd seen online already and it really didn’t appeal.

But all’s well that ends well. At 9:00am I found, via the Salisbury Tourism website, a room at one of the Sunday Times awards ‘best B&B’s’. It was fantastic, welcoming, stylish, comfortable and £20 cheaper than the King John.

Lesson learnt? Well, if (and it’s a big if) we use Late Rooms again we’ll follow up with a phone call to the hotel for assurance that the booking will be honoured.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank The_PA28_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    38
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
86
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got back this morning from a one night stay herre for my husbands birthday. What a fantastic place. Initially we were shown to the wrong room. I had booked rom 8 and was shown to rm 3. But this is only because there were two Taylors booked on the same night. But what a delight room 8 is. It is NOT tiny like one reviewer suggested. We found it spacious, light, airy and utterly charming and luxurious with two sky lights and one window at floor level which our little dog loved looking out of to watch what was going on. We even had our own staircase up to our room. We were housed opposite the pub and this was fine. While I agree, there is no wardrobe, but this in no way detracts from the opulence and enjoyment of the room at all. It had a uber modern Nespresso coffee machine with lovely choice of coffees. It seems everything had been thought of. Even a little jar with biscuits in and bottled water. My one criticism, and this is picky really, because I struggled to find fault with anything, was the lack of instructions on how to use the coffee machine. We had to ask. We had a bottle of champagne waiting for us as I had requested which we sat out in the lovely garden to drink in the afternoon sun. Just perfect!
It seems nothing is too much trouble. I had pre booked a vegan meal for myself and not really knowing what I was getting for dinner, the whole experience was a joy from the beetroot and apple starter, divine baked pumpkin with spelt, chard and wild mushroom to the baked banana with hot dark chocolate sauce. The meal truly was stunning and the service very good. My husband enjoyed the much reviewed cheese souffle. Melt in the mouth, light an fluffy, and cheeseboard for afters. The best thing is that dogs are allowed, and indeed, welcomed warmly. A large, comfy bed awaited us after our second bottle of champagne and we snuggled down to a cosy night having enoyed the whole KIng John Inn experience from the moment we arrived. Breakfast included homemade toasted bread, delicious and a vegan option for me. An extra sausage was even brought to the table for our dog. This is a plce we will definately be coing to again and again for special occasions. Definately, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 8 is like hving your own little flatlet, but no wardrobe. Spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent an enjoyable couple of days at the King John Inn in Wilshire with my partner - beautifully decorated rooms and in a great rural location. There were lots of little touches to both the room (coffee machine rather than the usual teasmade, nice big bath and rain shower, large, comfortable bed) and the pub itself (the food was amazing if a little limited in choice and the wine list was wonderfully extensive).

The staff themselves were friendly without being particularly warm (didn't really ask us much about ourselves, what we wanted to see locally, etc) and there was a feeling that you were a little in the way at times what with the constant coming and going of brewers and other business people over breakfast (although this was never overtly pointed out by staff but you were very aware that this was a business foremost and a place to stay second).

Although lovely and quiet throughout the night (due to the rural location) the mornings were very loud which made it difficult to lie in (lorries arriving with booze, staff chattering underneath our window which was directly above the kitchen). And when we were there there was a drainage problem which meant a constant sewage smell (although they did try to rectify it to be fair to them as soon as possible).

So in short, I would definitely recommend but with the caveat that you will be getting more of a boutque, luxury pub/place to stay rather than a warm, friendly country boozer with rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

A lovely village, setting and pub !!!

The prices are steep for what it is...

Basically a village B & B really in a wonderful setting. Rooms are clean and tidy with nice furnishings and modern bathroom etc,

Room 8 is tiny, no wardrobe for wedding suits etc for the next day and Emma struggled to hang her wedding outfit on a curtain rail. Would I book again? - probably not!!!

The only mirror was above the sink area in a dark position and had to be removed and placed on the carpet near a plug and lamp so Emma could get ready for our friends the big day...

Nice food to be fair - £430 for room and bar bill on a 2 day break - it was a wedding of course so money is not really the agenda, but apparently the fontmell ? is the place to stay !

P.S - if outside and eating watch out for your room bill - OUR room was billed an extra £20 for something we never ordered !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

At the last minute I needed a room in this part of Rural England, and being in the school holidays, most of the "seaside" venues were already full. This individual and stylish Inn was a random choice and a very lucky one it turned out to be.
Arriving through beautiful countryside, the Inn appeared to be very busy and the small car park almost full. A good sign. The whole building and it's surroundings were immaculate and obviously recently upgraded.
Their particular style of traditional Inn, with its random olde world furniture has been done before, but this one had style and a touch of class.
The staff were attentive, polite and efficient. I chose a double room online, but was offered an upgrade to the "King Room". I was very pleased with this spacious room, with its lofty ceiling and large windows. The very large bed was almost dwarfed in this room and was confortable in a rare heatwave here in England. The bathroom had a rain shower, and seperate slipper bath - all modern, but stylish too. The complimentary room facilities, refreshments and toilettries were first class, and the flat screen tv had the usual selection on freeview channels.
As for dining, the meal was first rate and served with panache. I chose a 25 day aged steak - safe, but still a test for the kitchen as it can be easily ruined! Served with salad and, unusually, skinny fries - it was hot, succulant and tasty. Accompanied by little metal buckets of salt and pepper, along with kitchen baked bread and local butter, the overall impression was of care in presentation, and well backed up with a good choice of ingredients and well cooked.
For dessert I chose a Grand Cru Chocolate Terrine, which was served with hot expresso in a shot glass and a nugget of brown suger. This was a delight and the expresso disolved the smooth chocolate mousse in your mouth in a warming, yet not too sickly way.
Breakfast (served 8-10, so no early risers!) offered a good choice of local produce, although my traditional breakfast was missing sausage (off menu on the day) and I would have preferred a little more toast, without asking.
All in all, a very pleasent experience, immeasurably better than a chain hotel, done with style, and attention to detail. I paid £80 for a single night B&B via laterooms.com and my slightly indulgent meal in the bar cost £39 including coffee and a pint.
I will return without question, the next time I'm in the area. Although I might ring first and check they haven't run out of sausages...

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the King Room over looks the dining area (laughter into the evening!) and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / East Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The King John Inn certainly punches well above its weight: some would and do label it as a 'Gastro Pub' with rooms, but it is much, much, more than that.
Warm courteous welcome, assistance with luggage, beautifully fitted large bedroom, large bathroom with roll-top bath and an extra large walk in 'rain shower', large fluffy towels. The hospitality room tray has a Nespresso coffee machine; a cafetiere and ground coffee; home made biscuits etc. And everywhere is spotlessly clean!
We had parked our vehicle somewhat haphazardly but a member of staff kindly 'valet parked' it correctly for us without murmur. Food is served in the open bar area with its tiled floor and well scrubs tables. And what food it is!
No negatives of any kind; all fresh and beautifully presented. The service was at all times friendly and courteous from the two elegant ladies waiting at table.
We had booked for one night but were so impressed that we stayed for an extra night and other than having previously arranged commitments would have stayed longer!
We last visited the King John Inn twentythree years ago when it was a typical country village pub now it's a superb restaurant with rooms and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The KJI is a great little bolthole.

The rooms are small but well formed and appropriately designed for a country pub in an area flush with weekend homes. Ours had a wet room – presumably to make most use out of the space – which I’m not sure quite worked, but that’s hardly the end of the world. Good beds, smart TVs and Nespressos/Tea/Cafetiere coffee all in room.

The situation is relatively remote, Tollard Royal itself is no more than a small village and the surrounding towns are hardly metropoli. The area around Tollard Royal is very rural and agricultural which makes for great walks (ably recommended by the staff).

THE BIGGEST REASON TO STAY IS THE FOOD. I was blown away that in such a secluded place that the food could be so great…veal chops, duck three ways, crab on toast…all executed to perfection. An interesting wine list too which looks to have been advised by Berry Brothers.

My girlfriend and I came here for a weekend away from town so were really interested in anything apart from long walks, good sleep, chilling out by a fire and eating and drinking well; the King John ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontownie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tollard Royal
8.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yew Tree
The Yew Tree
#1 of 1 in Highclere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John Inn

Property: King John Inn
Address: Tollard Royal, Tollard Royal SP5 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tollard Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tollard Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King John Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the scenic village of Tollard Royal in rural Wiltshire, The King John Inn is a Victorian and award-wining country inn offering beautiful accommodation, delicious food and a warm, friendly service. Our eight en-suite bedrooms combine modern comfort with rustic elegance and feature luxurious linen, Nespresso machines, flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi, direct dial phones and luxurious toiletries. Our Head Chef is an accomplished fisherman, bakes his own bread, makes his own cheese and still finds time to get up early and catch local game when in season so you can expect that every plate on the King John menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. We are proud to have recently received 1 Rosette from the AA. In summer, our terraced garden is the perfect place to dine alfresco while watching the chefs in action in their Victorian-inspired outdoor kitchen. In winter, relax near our roaring-log fires in our open plan pub or in the informal restaurant. The bar provides an ever-changing selection of imported drafts and local beers as well as an extensive wine list. Salisbury and its cathedral are only a 30 minute drive away whilst the beautiful hillside town of Shaftesbury is only 20 minutes. The King John Inn also sits within a 5-minute walk of the historic Rushmore Park, an area of lawn and open woodland home to the Rushmore Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your King John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King John Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing