We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute perfection!”
other travelers have booked this property
Great Tangley Manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great Tangley Manor
Aerial view Indoor heated swimming pool available 9am -5pm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Great Tangley Manor
Aerial view
Indoor heated swimming pool available 9am -5pm
Access Bridge across Moat
Inner Courtyard with Award winning Glass Box
Award winning Glass box, seating for 10
Fully equipped self catering kitchen
Fully equipped self catering kitchen
16th Century Dining Room
Arts and Crafts Library
John Evelyn Bedroom
Oriental Bedroom
King John Bedroom
King John  Bedroom en suite bathroom
Queen Mary Bedrrom
1st floor family bathroom
Alice Keppel Bedroom
Lake
Hard Tennis Court available throughout your stay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wonersh, Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mhat75
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I booked the Manor for a New Years stay for my family, as we live all over the world. The Manor is exceptionally beautiful (the photos do not come close to actually seeing the property first hand) and we all felt so fortunate having the opportunity to stay somewhere so steeped in history. We did have however, all the required modern comforts..modern kitchens, bathrooms, heating (its is and OLD house) and even WiFi. My husband really enjoyed the amazing library. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, the local pubs quaint (if you can bring yourself to leave the house!) and the shopping in nearby Guilford was excellent. Our host Nicho gave us a very informative guided tour including some history of the house.

It was 3 days I will never forget and we hope to book this Manor again sometime in the future.

Thanks Nicho and family for sharing this remarkable place with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
touringga...
US
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect spot for our big family reunion”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family group of six (two grandparents, two parents, and two teenage daughters) spent 11 wonderful days at Great Tangley Manor earlier this summer for a big international family reunion. The location was ideal as a home base for exploring sites all over southeast England and London, and its combination of splendid isolation and proximity to all the conveniences of nearby Guildford was fantastic. The property is beautiful, with lots of interesting garden elements and places to wander or sit in peaceful seclusion. The house is grand and historic, but not stuffy or uncomfortable for children (or even grandparents). The kitchen was very well-equipped, enough so that we stayed in several nights that we had planned to eat out. The split bedroom configuration (three up, two down) worked very well for us, with grandparents downstairs off on their own (with no stairs, and their different sleep schedules from our teenagers). In addition to the facilities, we were also very happy with the services provided for our rental. The owners, being right on the property, were available to answer any questions and make recommendations, but without being intrusive in any way. The manager, Nicho, was fantastic, especially in helping ensure that our grandparents got away stress-free the day after the rest of us had left. We took several of our hosts' recommendations, including catering, and so had a wonderful welcome dinner prepared and served by Keeley's Kitchen in our own gorgeous dining room. We also used the recommended car service, to our grandparents' great satisfaction. All in all, we would say that GTM is a very special place indeed, and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect combination of aesthetics and conveniences
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lytchett Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history of the place - the names scratched into the windows, the dining room.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RJMackay1...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with loads of history and wow factor, but with all the modern gadgetry you want.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We booked this as a reunion for a group of friends and family and were not dissappointed. So much character, wonderful luxurious bed linen, every room had it's own character, which we loved. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, we wanted for nothing. Loved the little touches like ground coffee, teabags and fresh milk waiting for us on arrival.
There is a good indoor swimming pool, but it is attached to the other side of the house so you have to walk out the front door and around the garden to come back in, so have to walk around dressed, swim, then shower and redress before coming back in. But it's still worth it.
The only thing that we missed but would have loved was to have a real fire to sit in front of, whilst chatting, as it was a cold weekend, but we understand about the insurance problems.
The grounds are beautiful, we walked to an excellent local gastronomic pub in the village as recommended by Nicho. Greta beer and the menu looked great too.
We were a part of 11 adults (5 couples and one single). My sister-in-law slept on a Z-Bed in the changing room section of the master bedroom, which was far from ideal, but we loved the house so went ahead anyway. It does only have 5 bedrooms, so I wouldn't advise groups with more than 5 couples, but I presume parents would be happy with children in the same room. It's worth the money! We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and history of the property.
Liked least: Not being able to light a fire or candles
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing grounds and beautiful house with all the mod cons”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This amazing and very historical estate was the perfect venue for our relatively low key hen weekend. The rooms were perfect and the house was a great size for 12 of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The duvets
Liked least: Limited toilet paper and nothing to wipe hands on in bathroom
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing