We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon
Ranked #1 of 1 Sandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I was staying here for just one night on business. I arrived just before 8pm. The restaurant was full of Christmas revellers but a waitress saw me as soon as I walked in and came straight over. Booked me in with minimum fuss (and a huge smile) and found me a table as soon as I had been up to my room to drop my case. The food was fabulous. I had braised beef and it was like fillet steak, so tender. Loads of veg. The room was lovely. Loads of electrical sockets to plug chargers, hair dryer in without having to unplug everything else! There was a mirror and plug point at the dressing table and a full length mirror as well. I don't like baths, much prefer showers and this one was great. Walk-in with fantastic pressure. No clambering into the bath! Huge fluffy towels. Breakfast was freshly made to order, again by smiling staff. I'd definitely come back. Much better than soulless hotels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SusiBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    106
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
109
137
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were at Stafford County Show ground after Show. Rang on Saturday afternoon to book for that night, they explained they were full but could fit us in the bar early evening. We had a very pleasant meal with attentive staff. The menu is varied and some of us had difficulty in choosing, starters were superb, mains very good, to full for desert. We had a super night. Will most definitely be back when at the show ground next year, may even stay the night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Visited with a party of 11 for a family get together. The table was brilliant, in a wonderful quiet area. We all ate from the festive menu and the food was excellent. Generous portions, beautifully presented. Not a single criticism. We had 5 x 2 course meals and 6 x 3 course meals with coffee and mince pies included and all for under £190!!
Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful service, brilliant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed a brilliant Christmas meal here last a couple of days ago. Very good food, very good beer and excellent service. Could not fault it. Would recommend this place for a party, a meal or a quiet drink

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboStaffs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

in Britain we put up with poor customer service a lot of the time. At the D&D the staff are the yardstick that other establishments should use to judge themselves by. All staff appear smiling, friendly (but not familiar) and helpful. The staff and management should pat themselves on the back, but not become complacent.

Foodwise, there is a good selection which is presented well, of a good portion size and is tasty. As a veggie there is a choice and it seems to change frequently. A minor criticism to the chef is to consider being a head of the rest and stay clear of the salad or pasta options for veggies. In the past I have had good spicy veggie meals at the D&D and for me this is preferential. But you are never going to please all us fussy veggies as we all choose to be for different reasons!

Another plus is that it has a selection of ale. In general it has the feel of a traditional well run pub and not the soul-less plastic national chains we have come to expect and sadly accept.

Transport could be an issue. This is not in Stafford town but in the nearby village of Sandon. So, your own transport and a nominated driver is needed, who wont fall asleep in front of the open fire. One of my complaints is that I live 500 miles away!!!

I've had the pleasure of eating here three times in 2013 and hope to visit again the next time I am in the vicinity. On the star rating it probably is nearer five than four, but my sister in law was not as keen as me, she is fickle. If in doubt try it yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyslexicPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay in this B&B/Pub.

Service was brilliant and the staff could not do more for us.

Stayed in the disabled room which is located in an 'old stable' type building. It's rare that we find a place that fully accommodates for the disabled. Huge room, huge bathroom with full disabled facilities (lowered sink/wet room type shower).

We came for a friends wedding do at Weston Hall which is about 5 miles around the corner.

Would highly recommend. Give it a try! :D

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for our christmas meal here last night. Received excellent service, staff so helpful and friendly and food superb.
Highly recommend this place for a quiet drink or meal, or even a christmas party. :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandon
7.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
883 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
578 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
502 reviews
1.8 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
721 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon

Property: The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon
Address: Sandon Road, Sandon, Stafford ST18 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Sandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. Providing you with total comfort in lush surroundings, all 11 bedrooms are en-suite and feature modern day amenities such as flat screen televisions and complimentary Wi Fi. Taking you back to traditional inn-keeper hospitality, The Dog and Doublet Inn provides a warm and friendly ambience making it the ideal place for you to truly indulge, enjoy and relax. The perfect location for a visit to nearby Stoke on Trent; The World of Wedgewood; Alton Towers; Staffordshire County Showground and Cannock Chase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing