We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service slow,rooms need cleaning better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon
Ranked #1 of 1 Sandon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Service slow,rooms need cleaning better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having stayed at this place for two nights recently with my family, we were disappointed with the service at breakfast and the room we had was not cleaned to a reasonable standard.
The continental breakfast was limited to one croissant per person (when we asked for more we were told no we've run out and the selection of jams was very limited) We also asked for two hot chocolates for our children and we had to wait 40 minutes for them to boil some water apparently (not even made with milk)
Our bedroom was clean and tidy , but under our bed I found six hair pins covered in dust, so when was it last cleaned under the bed ??
Overall the price per night was not equal to what other places offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the busy road that passes in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Dog and Doublet, Sandon.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to our Operations Manager and she is at a loss to know why your breakfast service was slow. We do not make hot chocolate with water - it is made with milk from the steam arm on our coffee machine and all our staff are trained to make chocolate in this way. This obviously did not happen when you stayed.

With regards to the cleanliness of the bedrooms - our rooms are all checked before our guests check in and I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping department.

Thank you for alerting me to these issues.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    93
    42
    12
    2
See reviews for
91
124
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ash, Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Came here for a Friday night pre-wedding meal. The Place looked really attractive from outside and once inside it sort of mixed a wine bar feel with an olde world feel. It was a big Pub too. Lots of people inside and a good atmosphere of chat and happy faces. The Food we had was very good and service was very good, apart from a waitress forgot about my main course and when I chased it up she was extremely sorry and embarrassed, many times in fact....but I assured her not to worry as we were in a sizeable party and there were many other eaters in various other parties, so they were up against it. I don't think it detracted from a really quality pub experience and I'd come here again if in the area for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We just wanted somewhere to eat and crash for the night. The place, an old coaching house having been recently decorated throughout is 'cosy', the staff friendly and attentive, the rooms comfortable. My wife and I had a double room, a good 3 course meal with Chablis, several other drinks!, and a cooked breakfast each for around £170 - pretty impressive. We will return one day I hope.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having seen the lovely pictures of the rooms on the internet, I was very disappointed when we saw how small our room was. We had no bath, just a shower. Only one bedside light, so when my husband wanted to light off, I had to drink my coffee in the dark. The floor had not been cleaned, as we found a dirty sock. The toilet seat was broken and moved when sat on.

I found the evening menu very limited. No lamb for example. And the chips were served in mini buckets! What's that all about? There was also a very large TV in the dining room with repeated photos being displayed. This was very distracting.

The staff however were without exception very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately this would not be enough to persuade me back, as the hotel is on a busy junction and due to it's age there isn\t any double glazing, so the traffic noise and green fire escape light prevented a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one one night and to be honest I couldn't really fault the stay at all..
The whole place looks like it has recently been refurbished to a Very good standard. The bedroom was by nice although on the small side but that s a very minor issue . The food is really good and I can't fault the evening meal or the breakfast that I had.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Inn to family and friends and if I am ever in the area again I will be staying there. Get it booked !!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Victormeldrewlmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

In an area devoid of decent pubs serving decent food this pub/restaurant/hotel along with the other outlets run by the Lewis Partnership is a 'must go to' if you want to havwe a decent meal out in the Stafford area. Good value and good food,Helpful staff. Lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very clean room, with a teddy on the bed that you can buy if you want!!!! Staff very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic, well worth the money, would def stay there again if in the area. The only slight down side was a rather nasty smell in the carpark from the septic tank.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumbo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandon
7.3 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.8 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon

Property: The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon
Address: Sandon Road, Sandon, Stafford ST18 0DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Sandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. Providing you with total comfort in lush surroundings, all 11 bedrooms are en-suite and feature modern day amenities such as flat screen televisions and complimentary Wi Fi. Taking you back to traditional inn-keeper hospitality, The Dog and Doublet Inn provides a warm and friendly ambience making it the ideal place for you to truly indulge, enjoy and relax. The perfect location for a visit to nearby Stoke on Trent; The World of Wedgewood; Alton Towers; Staffordshire County Showground and Cannock Chase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Dog and Doublet Inn Sandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing