We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staffordshire gem”
Review of Hen Cloud Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Hulme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hen Cloud Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Upper Hulme B&B and Inns
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Staffordshire gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hen Cloud is a beautiful location with wonderful views. we stayed in the annexe which was excellent accommodation. Unlucky with the weather which limited walks but didn't spoil our enjoyment of the area. A lovely, friendly and helpful family- even to Nick changing a punctured tyre for us and offering to drop us in town to get it repaired. Look forward to going again when weather is better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_steer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed for one night in July - the weather was dreadful, it rained constantly. The cottage is down a long bumpy track, right off the road. The room was clean with beautiful views, there were three of us, so Lorna put a camp bed in the room and charged us £10 less than the usual £30 a person. It would have been difficult to get up the stairs easily if you were not quite nimble. Lorna was very welcoming and opened the lovely conservatory for us so we could sit and admire the view with tea and rock cakes. There was no need to drive to enjoy walks around the area and Lorna was very helpful in showing us where to go. She also offered to dry our clothes. Lots of places to rock climb and walk and Leek is a very pretty little mill town. We had a very good basic pub meal at a local pub, Ye Old Rock, which would have been about 20 minutes walk away, but we couldn't bear getting wet again. Only reason that I haven't put 5 stars is that my friends had terrible trouble getting the temperature of the shower right. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed for nine nights in the self contained annexe & the accomodation was just superb. Lorna & Nick made me feel so welcome & they provided nice little touches like cakes, washing cleaned & delivered & an invitation over for Sunday breakfast.
The annexe itself was very clean, tidy & well lit with modern fittings & furnishings throughout. The kitchen was well equipped with all cooking utensils & plenty of power sockets, the lounge area had a very VERY comfortable sofa, chair & a flatscreen TV with some digital services. The bathroom had an excellent power shower & heated towel rail & the bedroom was generous in size with a very comfy bed.
The annexe has central heating which I found to be great for those chilly mornings & evenings. I noted the emergency light above the front door & that every piece of electrical equipment had been checked, dated & signed off. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hen Cloud, nothing was too much trouble for my hosts during my stay & I will most certainly be going back next year.
Try to ignore the previous ridiculous comments from someone with a huge chip on their shoulder, you don't have to negotiate the cows on your way to the property as there are stone walls lining the lane, (in fact just like any other lane) & yes they do have a Doberman but he is very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Lud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Yes this was an amazing find! We stayed in the house: The room was very comfortable with amazing outlooks from both windows. There were some very nice touches, including the home made fairy cakes. Breakfast was lovely. The owner was very friendly and we intend to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I found Hen Cloud Cottage on an internet search after we decided to walk the roaches. What an amazing place, remote yet easy to get to to. The perfect place to stay, walm, cozy and it has everything you could possibly need. The owners were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. The room was fantastic (The shower the best ever) Lorna had provided everything you could possibly need, plus gorgeous cakes. Advice on where to eat, the walks and even the weather. We will definately be going back there very soon. Oh and check out the Rock (pub), great food, great place.

Room Tip: The room in the mainhouse was amazing, other room is a seperate annex across the drive but has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I went here a couple of weeks ago for just one night, but could have stayed for 2 weeks and it wouldn't have been enough!

Host, Lorna, is superb and very welcoming. The room, whether in the main house or annexe (which we looked at, and intend to go back to) are perfect in every way. Everything you could need or ever ask for.

The breakfast was spot on and the views from the windows are worth the cost of the stay!

Went walking on the Roaches and they are easy access from here- great views.

Highly recommended. I can't think of a better place for a night or week away from it all.

Thank you so much for a relaxing stay! 5 stars all round!

Room Tip: The annexe is a superb self contained 'flat' but the room in the main house is superb too. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012

What a fantastic find Hen Cloud Annex was, dog friendly, immaculate clean and tidy and step outside the door for some beautiful walks in the Peak District. Cannot recommend this enough, we will be back!
Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafflouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Hulme
0.0 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#2 of 2 in Leek
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#3 of 18 in Leek
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Middle Farm Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Roaches Bunkhouse Hostel
#1 of 1 in Upper Hulme
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hen Cloud Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen Cloud Cottage

Property: Hen Cloud Cottage
Address: Upper Hulme | Nr Leak, Upper Hulme, Leek ST13 8TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek > Upper Hulme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Hulme
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing