We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten days in a superb annexe with a perfect location & lovely hosts 10/10”
Review of Hen Cloud Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hen Cloud Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Upper Hulme B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed for nine nights in the self contained annexe & the accomodation was just superb. Lorna & Nick made me feel so welcome & they provided nice little touches like cakes, washing cleaned & delivered & an invitation over for Sunday breakfast.
The annexe itself was very clean, tidy & well lit with modern fittings & furnishings throughout. The kitchen was well equipped with all cooking utensils & plenty of power sockets, the lounge area had a very VERY comfortable sofa, chair & a flatscreen TV with some digital services. The bathroom had an excellent power shower & heated towel rail & the bedroom was generous in size with a very comfy bed.
The annexe has central heating which I found to be great for those chilly mornings & evenings. I noted the emergency light above the front door & that every piece of electrical equipment had been checked, dated & signed off. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Hen Cloud, nothing was too much trouble for my hosts during my stay & I will most certainly be going back next year.
Try to ignore the previous ridiculous comments from someone with a huge chip on their shoulder, you don't have to negotiate the cows on your way to the property as there are stone walls lining the lane, (in fact just like any other lane) & yes they do have a Doberman but he is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_Lud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Yes this was an amazing find! We stayed in the house: The room was very comfortable with amazing outlooks from both windows. There were some very nice touches, including the home made fairy cakes. Breakfast was lovely. The owner was very friendly and we intend to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I found Hen Cloud Cottage on an internet search after we decided to walk the roaches. What an amazing place, remote yet easy to get to to. The perfect place to stay, walm, cozy and it has everything you could possibly need. The owners were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. The room was fantastic (The shower the best ever) Lorna had provided everything you could possibly need, plus gorgeous cakes. Advice on where to eat, the walks and even the weather. We will definately be going back there very soon. Oh and check out the Rock (pub), great food, great place.

Room Tip: The room in the mainhouse was amazing, other room is a seperate annex across the drive but has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I went here a couple of weeks ago for just one night, but could have stayed for 2 weeks and it wouldn't have been enough!

Host, Lorna, is superb and very welcoming. The room, whether in the main house or annexe (which we looked at, and intend to go back to) are perfect in every way. Everything you could need or ever ask for.

The breakfast was spot on and the views from the windows are worth the cost of the stay!

Went walking on the Roaches and they are easy access from here- great views.

Highly recommended. I can't think of a better place for a night or week away from it all.

Thank you so much for a relaxing stay! 5 stars all round!

Room Tip: The annexe is a superb self contained 'flat' but the room in the main house is superb too. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

What a fantastic find Hen Cloud Annex was, dog friendly, immaculate clean and tidy and step outside the door for some beautiful walks in the Peak District. Cannot recommend this enough, we will be back!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafflouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Annexe accommodation at this property is excellent, particularly if you have a canine friend who is holidaying with you. An excellent base to visit Staffs/Derbyshire Peak District. Every comfort and nothing too much trouble. If you are self-catering the facilities are great and attention to detail/comfort is provided.
A visit to Leek and Buxton is a must and the locals are so friendly.Will certainly recommend
and hope to visit again. The comments left in the owners Visitors Book speak for themselves!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A stunning location with fantastic views. There are plenty of good walks that start literally from the doorstep, The Roaches, Hen Cloud, Luds church and Ramshaw Rocks to name a few. Also a great base from which to visit Leek, Buxton and beyond. There is a good pub within walking distance (The Rock) and we can also recommend the Lazy Trout, just a short drive away. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the standard of accommodation is well deserved of its 4 star rating. The breakfast is very good and the cakes arent bad either! A most enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goughie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hen Cloud Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hen Cloud Cottage

Address: Upper Hulme | Nr Leak, Upper Hulme, Leek ST13 8TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek > Upper Hulme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Hulme
Price Range: $78 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hen Cloud Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hen Cloud Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing