We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for a party!”

Review of Quarnford Lodge

Seats 28 around a single table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seats 28 around a single table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Seats 28 around a single table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Quarnford, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sherrydar...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a party!”
Reviewed December 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

23 of us (family and friends aged 4 to 75) celebrated a Golden Wedding here over a long weekend. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, booking, contact and the return of the deposit all went smoothly.
The house is big enough for everyone to have their own space (the ensuite bathrooms were really worth it), the kitchen is well equipped with plenty of fridge and oven space and the house is nicely decorated without it feeling as if everyone has to be careful. The outside space is large and there were tables and a BBQ, which we din't use.
David Wakefield from The Dinner Party Company catered for our party; don't bother trying to do this yourself, he charges a fair rate and he took all of the stress away! The dining room was big enough for all of us to sit and eat, with one of the tables covered in the hot knife and fork buffet food.
The dining room doubles as a dance floor and the stereo system provided was nice and loud. The noise didn't carry through the house so those who went to bed earlier weren't troubled by the ongoing celebrations.
We loved it here and we hope to return for our next family party!
If you're having party here I'd recommend getting a big banner to fill the space at the top of the stairs in the double height dining room too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Mum wanted more tea towels!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudycb
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big House trip 2016”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We are a group of friends who go away together, for a weekend, every year.

We picked Peak District this year and choose Quarnford Lodge as our base.

We were all very happy with our choice.

Kitchen is well appointed with 2 dish washers, plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. There is also a lot of worktop space.

The dining and lounge area is spacious with plenty of chairs and settees.

The is 10 bedrooms and they are all clean & tidy with 9 en suite and 1 with access to a wet room.

I was concerned that it may be a cold house as it was very open plan in the communal areas but the heating was on when we got there and it was lovely and warm.

We had a fantastic weekend and would thoroughly recommend staying here if looking for a place for a large group.

I would also recommend 'The Knights Table' pub which is about 300 metres up the road on the way to Leek. Good food and drink.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
658lisa
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house for large family gatherings”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As a 20+ family it's not easy to find the perfect large house for our annual weekend break but Quarnford Lodge fits the bill nicely. It meets our main criteria - plenty of room to dine together, uniformly decent bedrooms with en-suite so no-one feels they've drawn the short straw, plenty of comfy seating, a well-equipped kitchen, effective central heating and a pub just down the road! Plus glorious views with plenty of good walking. Used catering on the Saturday night and can highly recommend The Cafe at the Green Pavilion in Buxton who delivered delicious food to our door. We all had a lovely time!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira R
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing large holiday home”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We were a party of 13, ranging in age from mid fifties to mid eighties, from our church. The property was ideal for us with all bedrooms ensuite and with comfortable beds, a large well-equipped kitchen and a comfortable living and dining space. What more could you ask for?
We had a wonderful time and everything was made easy for us by the friendly and helpful owners.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

What a property, awesome location. 26 of us got together for an family holiday. With 7 kids we needed lots of space and that's what we got at Quarnford lodge. With that many mouths to feed the kitchen perfect for cooking that amount of food and 2 dishwashers really helped with the cleaning up. The location is awesome, remote enough to feel very special but 10 mins for town and super markets etc. Communication from the owners from enquiring through booking and departure has been wonderful. Arranging a break for that many people obviously throws up questions and these were answered really quickly via email.

Just a shame the weather wasn't a bit better but that's the British summer for you.

Thanks again.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
West Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Lodge, Amazing Location, Amazing Customer Service”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

If I could give Quarnford lodge a 10 it would be justified. I could not recommend the entire experience enough.
The customer service from Peter, Marie and Mark was second to none. Friendly and informative.
The house is amazing, plenty of space and a dining room to rival a manor! The facilities are brilliant, we couldn't have asked for more. A bathroom per room is a real plus. The back garden made for a great BBQ/Hawaiian party night.
The lodge is well equipped with all the basics + great technology and games including a pool and ping pong table.
It's close enough to Buxton for convenience but far enough away to give the feeling of solitude. There are some fantastic activities and sights nearby as well as some great walks.
We used the venue to get the whole family together for the week. It was perfect.
I need to make up another reason to get everyone together just so we can return.
VALUE FOR MONEY is an understatement.
Thank you so much for sharing this gem, can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honeypot1...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quarnford”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Amazing place to stay, absolutely loved the place. Well equipped if everything. It caters for very large families. Kitchen was nice and equipped. Rooms were neat and tidy with towels. Great games. And lots of entertainment. Great venue. Love to come back again.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing