We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal place for family/friend gatherings”

Review of Quarnford Lodge

Seats 28 around a single table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seats 28 around a single table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Seats 28 around a single table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Quarnford, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirstie S
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal place for family/friend gatherings”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Clean, well kept and amazing space for our reunion week. The owners and housekeepers were helpful and available if we needed them. The children (ages 4 months to 18 years) loved the space and the setting is breath taking. Highly recommend this wonderful space, it was clean, well stocked and we also had the perfect weather.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne J
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a group to holiday!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I booked this, now, self-catering lodge for a group of friends (19) of us to stay in the Peak District.

The owner and caretaker of the house were very helpful during the booking and arrival process.

Everything was as described in the lodge, and exceptionally clean. There was everything you needed for your stay with numerous cups, glasses, plates, bowls. There were 19 of us and there was plenty for use at all times. The kitchen was well equiped with plenty of bench space, 2 kettles, toasters and fridges. The big American style fridge supplied ice for drinks which was good in the hot weather. The dishwasher came in handy!

The rooms were very good, all with private bathrooms, which were all en-suite except for the disabled wet room which was directly opposite its bedroom. The way the lodge is laid out, if you went to bed while the rest of your group were in the lounge/dining area, there was no noise from them (and our group are noisy!).

This lodge might be a bit more expensive than other places, but believe me, it is worth it. The standard is the highest we have stayed in for a lodge of this size.

My deposit was returned straight away when the holiday was finished.

The outside space was nice to sit in and have breakfast in the sun.

A super place to stay in a lovely area.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grannybib...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Booked as a weekend 70th Birthday Celebration for my twin sister and myself. We were a party of 22. A beautiful house and we enjoyed activities in and around Buxton. House is superbly equipped and endless amounts of glasses plates and cutlery.
However we booked the house because it had 10 bedrooms and 9 en-suites plus a wet room. We sadly lost the use of 2 bathrooms. One (Room 2) had a leak which penetrated through to the lounge area and soaked everything on the coffee table below. The main lounge light was pouring water and the glass dome cover was full of water; we had to cover the switch to make sure no one put the light on.
In the other bathroom (4) the shower head just "exploded" whilst in use by a child and caused a massive flood on the bathroom floor and onto the carpet in the bedroom. With hindsight we should perhaps have phoned the emergency contact telephone no. However we dealt with it as best we could and didn't use the shower again in bedroom 2. The printed book left at Quarnford does say if leaks occur not to use the showers. This led us to believe that this may not be an isolated incident. This all happened as we were getting ready for our big celebration dinner on the Saturday night. Despite leaving a note and sending two emails since our return we have been very disappointed not to have had any comment from the owners. Please do not be put off as is a great venue - just be ready to have your shower availability reduced.
In addition we used the Dinnerparty company and The White Hart Tea Rooms at Leek. Both EXCELLENT.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
373Tracy
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Stayed here 6/9th June for my 50th birthday celebration, 25 family members including 5 younger children. What a fantastic house!! our first time getting together for a long time and everyone had a ball.The place has everything you could possibly need, the bedrooms all have ensuite facilities, downstairs theres even a disabled wet room, which was great for my mum who couldn't have got up the stairs.The kitchen is amazing!! all mod cons, including 2 dishwashers, 2 toasters, 2 kettles, 2 fridges!! More crockery and glasses than Debenhams kitchen department... theres a pool table, which kept our younger kids very occupied, a table tennis table. The dining room is enormous, we had caterers come to the house to prepare us a sit down meal, which was fantastic, and then later we moved the tables to the side so we could have a boogie. Outside theres plenty of seating in an enclosed area and to the front enough parking spaces for 6+ cars easy. The views all around are spectacular, and even though i didn't venture from the house all weekend, a few family members drove into Buxton which was about a 10 min drive away. I and my family would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Its a fantastic place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie m
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family reunion!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We go away on our family reunion every year. We have always stayed here and we just can't leave! We have so much fun and the equipment available is astounding! We get tescos delivered and we can use the ovens without hassle, the slowcooker, 2 dishwashers and anything you could possibly need for a weekend away! The table tennis always goes down well along with pool/snooker. Its also a great place for younger kids to play hide and seek! Love the fact that all the rooms are en suite! Wonderful walks around and also buxton nearby for the shopping lovers.

A great place to visit is the ice cream farm in Flash, the tastiest ice cream ever and with the most amazing flavours!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizHallis...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great house for a large group”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

This was a great house, providing very comfortable accommodation for our large group (18 adults and 10 children). The kitchen was really well equipped and the living spaces were perfect for spreading out. The bedrooms all having ensuites was the icing on the cake.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C
Goostrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great venue for house party”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Great house for our group who get together on a regular basis. Plenty of room for everyone, and no bathroom queues. Kitchen facilities excellent, we also had caterers come in who served wonderful food and left the kitchen in immaculate order. Would definitely stay again and explore more of the wonderful walks on offer. Some road noise on the front of the house but the very cheerful blackbird on dawn chorus duty was even louder

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing