We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew's Open Pit Restaurant

Andrew's Open Pit Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 87 Restaurants in Park Ridge
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We've been going to Andrew's for years and have never been disappointed. While not cutting edge or fancy, the food is an exceptionally good value particularly the Pork Chops. 3 Thin bone-in chops weighing over a pound perfectly grilled w/vegetables, starch and a salad for $9.95. They have a huge rotisserie oven in the dining room filled with whole chickens and ribs which are also very tasty. Don't be put off by lots of seniors in wheelchairs and using walkers - they know a good value when they see it. Good food at great price in a nice setting - what's not to like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
“Rib's were very tough & grissly,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

There was not to much meat edible on the bones, and awful loaded too much sauce on them to enjoy them if at all possible, if you could chew through all the grissy musle. This will be the last time that we will be dining there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VIPBUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Basic, tasty and very affordable; $350 for drinks & dinner for a party of 12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We've been doing Easter dinner there for the last ten years. One thing I can tell you is that things are consistent. The bar is never as busy as I would think it should be since the drinks are so cheap. Easter was busy as usual, we had a party of 12 and sat in the main dining room near the fire pit. A little cramped, but it worked. Server was friendly and efficient; they did build an 18% tip into the check and we added on because she was good.

Their menu is bigger than it needs to be; they have everything from Pasta to Seafood but their specialty is what they cook on 'the Pit'. Chicken and ribs are excellent, huge portions that will reheat well. Pass on the corn on the cob, despite being in IL it's soggy and not worth the effort when they do offer seasonal vegetables that are fresh.

They put fresh bread and cold butter (why restaurants do this is beyond me, can't spread it very easy even on warm bread) on the table with the salad/soup. My favorite is the creamy garlic salad dressing; while the salad is very basic the dressing is awesome. If you're in the mood for soup, the creamy chicken rice is tasty; but very filling. The server did a good job pacing the courses and filling our glasses. I had the steak and stuffed shrimp, but after eating salad and bread couldn't eat much of it. The steak was cooked the way I ordered it, medium rare; and tasted great. The shrimp was good, really didn't know what to expect it was good; not great. It came with choice of potato or rice and seasonal vegetables which was carrots & broccoli; nice and fresh. The dessert menu could use some updating don't know too many folks that would eat rice pudding over a nice slice of chocolate cake.

Overall the food is good and a good value. The restaurant (dining room/bar/menu) could stand to be brought into this century. As I said we go there for Easter ever year and while it might be my 76 year old mothers favorite place (she can have dinner there; bring home leftovers and have dinner for a week so why wouldn't she love the place). It's good for the occasional meal, but not some place that would impress an out of town guest.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Djd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Price. Average Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

If price is what matters most, this is the best. Their food is good, too. I had the chicken. It came with a salad. There was nothing wrong with the food. The staff is pleasant. The decor so-so. Sometimes it gets very crowded as locals tend to line up as the price is right.

Helpful?
Thank tko1boxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Every time we visit the area, we always hit Andrew's. Who wouldn't, given the good food and good prices.

First, let me mention that the servers and wait staff are always extremely nice, helpful and friendly. We always end up starting a conversation with them and learning a little about them. Nice nice nice.

This is one of those places that is family run, the prices are very reasonable, and the place is always crowded. The menu seems large, but you can see them working in the kitchen so you know they've got it down. This is not gourmet fare, but good family food that's cooked right. I'm fairly sure that there are some things that the kitchen is taking shortcuts with, like the soup. It isn't the best soup in the world, usually just OK. And although you an tell that the vegetables are fresh, not frozen, they are served just steamed plain (never overdone and soggy), as is the rice and baked potato. But the part of the meal that is the most important is the stuff that they cook really really well.

My all time favorite is the spit roasted Oregano Chicken! So much flavor and not ever ever dry. I've also had the Pork Chops (that come three to a plate). This last visit I ordered the salmon. It was cooked PERFECTLY! And it was soooo tasty and a very generous portion. My dining partner had a steak. It also was cooked to perfection.

So don't look for some hoity toity chef to come walking out of the kitchen. Just enjoy the tasty food, generous portions and take home the leftovers. By the way, they sure know how to make a good cocktail as well

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripcrixchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andrew's Open Pit Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andrew's Open Pit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing