We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A luxurious experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Flamingo after visiting Capetown (shark cage diving and the local tours) It was absolute bliss after the hectic and wonderful South African holiday. We were able to unwind fully, being treated like royalty by all staff. Our waiters, Alfeu (breakfast) and Remy (dinner) were attentive and efficient, both ensuring that we had special tables by the pool for our last meals. The food was delicious and the service absolutely 5* . Having read the previous reviews (an necessity when planning a holiday) we can only agree with the positive comments made. (It had been mentioned that there were no bathrobes - not any more!)
I also booked activities at the Barra lodge. Horse riding was fun and I was given Hotstuff - a nicely forward going beast! The dive centre was top notch and, as I had not dived for over 12 months, the instructors insisted I take the scuba review course. Nick ensured that I undertook every skill I had covered during my previous, initial training. Out in the sea, I was able to dive safely and see some very rare fish as well as the most enormous potato cod. The piece de resistance was snorkelling with a whale shark whilst out on an Ocean Safari on the last day. Thanks also to Drew, Ina and Dylan for their professionality and humour.
I would strongly recommend the Flamingo to anyone wanting to relax and be pampered.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CathandStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
154
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Hello all!

After loads of searching I decided on the above destination for our honeymoon during the first week of May 2008.

I found that most of the other reviews on this site was true.

On arrival at the airport transport was ready and waiting. All our diving gear and other bags was taken at the airport and placed safely in our rooms.

On arrival at the lodge you will get greated with big smiles from Charles, Jose and Augusto. .They are always available and will make all your bookings for activities, etc. at the drop of a hat. A cold facecloth and cocktail helps you to cool down after the 30 min journey to the lodge. Paperwork is fast and each room has an allocated safe at reception.

The rooms are great! Numbers 17 - 20 is the ones to go for. Best views of the sunset and during low tide it has better access if you are planning on a walk. The golf carts that take you from your rooms to the main building are sometimes unavailable esp if you are up early for a dive like we were, but the short walk to the lodge (400m) is always a joy.

With regards to the toilet situation.... Yes it is a whee bit strange when someone uses it because all noises travel through the room....But I would not give the place a miss because of it! Even on honeymoon!

Food:

The breakfast is a buffet made by an excellent chef named Amos. Home made bread etc. etc.

Dinner is a four course meal with at least 3 choices for starter, main or dessert.

For the honeymooners... A night will be allocated for dinner on the upper deck with its awesome view - this will give you some privacy.

Wine is expensive: R 150 for a bottle of Graca. You are allowed to take 2.5 L of wine into the country....I would advise to take white because the climate and food lends more towards it. The local beers are great and good value for money! Another must do is R&R - rum and rasberry cooldrink... fits the island vibe perfectly.

Diving:

Barra lodge has one of the best dive centres I've been at....Your gear gets marked and kept safe at the dive centre for the duration of your stay. All gear gets washed by the instructors and staff, you take care only of your mask and fins. Book your dives before arrival....It will save you a lot and trust me you will need it because you will do more dives than you planned on. Manta Reef and Buddies is a must dive. They launch two dives a day and will accomodate a dive with only two divers on the boat. Whale sharks can be seen on the way back from manta reef or if you go on the Ocean Safari.

Bills:

All drinks, food and activities will get charged back to your room number. Exchange rates are worked at 22 meticals to the dollar and 3 to the rand.

Tips to staff are welcomed and a waiter will be allocated to you for the week....one for breakfast and one for dinner. Fransisco was fantastic. (Please take note that some of them walk upto 2 hours to and from work at 5 in the morning and 11 at night....no street lights, no torches)

The airport:

Note that all baggage will be searched by hand....so hide the honeymoon outfits ladies! The airport tax is $30 per person....try and have this in dollars...it will reduce time in the cue and the exchange rate offered by the officials is a bit harsh.

Locals:

There are no set clothing shops in the area so local crafts and paintings can be exchanged for second hand clothing.

For all the guys planning your honeymoon: you will not be disappointed and neither will she!!!!

  • Liked — Service and underwater wonderland
  • Disliked — nothing really...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacodb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

In short Flamingo Bay Water Lodge was all we expected it to be. Something we experience very seldom. Most of the time, maybe because your tired from the long journey, there are those little things that annoy you (ie bad room location, slow reception, etc). None of this at Flamingo. From arrival till the end of our stay they seem to know to do it exactly how it should. Super rooms, which were kept very well and clean. Good food. Poltite waiters. Etc.

The diving, which we did at the Barra Resort Dive Shop, is like Mozambique itself. A diamont in the rough. The surface doesn't look that well, Not commercial, not fancy, hard work on the boot (maybe some sea sickness). But underneath it is the best ever. For those who, like us, don't mind the effort to see Whale Sharks and Manta's, Leopard Sharks and Bowmouth Guitar Rays, etc etc, Inhambane Mozambique is THE PLACE TO BE!

Go there and enjoy :-)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duikertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We went to Flamingo bay for our honeymoon, and it was the most memorable and wonderful experience. All the staff were incredibly friendly, the rooms were wonderful, the food was delicious.

I cannot fault one thing.

  • Liked — Lodges are on stilts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nmakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We spent 9 days at the Flamingo Bay Water Lodge in November 2007 for our honeymoon. We were looking for 5 star and were concidering Mauritius. We decideed on Mozambique and Flamingo Bay because we did not want a large American style hotel, just a locally run, African 5 star place.

This is a very special, relaxed, intimate, friendly place. From the moment we walked in after a 13 hour drive through Mozambique, Charles (guest relations) looked after us. We were late because we broke down half way on the trip, but they made sure we were looked after with a late dinner.

There are 20 lodges on stilts over a inlet. The lodges are accessed from the hotel by golf buggies and there was always a man with the buggies waiting for guests or close by to bring us from the hotel to our lodges over the water. Depending on tides, you will have between 1.5metres of water or none at all outside your lodge. This is great as your surroundings are ever changing. You wake up and the water is lapping up against the lodge (and can step down for a swim), later on you can walk around as the tide is miles out. We stayed in the best lodge (No.20) as it is the furthest away from the hotel, and on the far right hand side so you have uninterupted views out on your balcony and also to the right hand side of the suite. If you choose to stay, try for lodge 17, 18, 19, or ideally 20. The sun sets directly opposite your balcony in these lodges, where as lodge 1 to 14 face the other way. The lodges are beautiful, and not cluttered. There is no door on the bathroom so if you are a prude, don't bother. There is air con in the lodges and mozzie nets, however we found that there were no mozzies because it was salt water area. This was a huge bonus. The electricity in the area is a bit unreliable, and the generator was having problems when we were there but power cuts actually added to the intimate atmosphere when the candles came out at the bar, etc. Remember a maximum of 40 guests and no kids under 12 so it's ideal for a kid free honeymoon.

The small hotel is made up of a beautiful pool, bar area, lounge, tourist shop, dining area, and that's it. Nice and cosy.

The staff know everyone by name and can't do enough for you. You will get the same waiter for breakfast for your stay, and the same for dinner, so you get to know them and they get to know you. This is handy when you are chilling by the pool, and all you have to do is nod your head and he's over with your usual favouite drinks, ash tray, etc. Remy and Gildo looked after us and they were awesome. These guys were locals and lived in the village close by. Nothing was a problem for them. Thanks guys. Gabriel on reception was great too,pure entertainment and always there to assist with the finer details.

The owners also own Barra Lodge which is on the beach very close by. You can put drinks on your room from there as well as Barra Lodge dive centre. All your dives and sea safari's can go direct to your room so we did not hold any cash for 9 days. What a great change that made.

The diving is spectacular. Not for coral, although that was quite good, but the marine life was incredible. The water temperature was 28 degrees everyday. The first day we went on a sea safari to look for whale sharks. We struck it lucky after 10 mins and hopped in to swim with an 8 metre whale shark. Swimming 3 metres away from her. INCREDIBLE!!!, and a must do. Lots of Dolphins, Sting Rays breaching and doing flips. We dived in a number of reefs. The highlight was diving with 5 metre wide Manta Rays at 25 metres. Mantas, are seen usually daily in many of the reefs cleaning stations. The best thing was because this area is not a huge overrun tourist destination, nearly all the dives we did, we had the whole reef to ourselves. Richie O'Connell and Liz Nottage were our dive instructers and they were just fantastic. The diving was cheap compared to Australia, etc.

So, if you want the most relaxing holiday in a beautiful unique location you can't go wrong with Flamingo Bay.

To Flamingo Bay - Thanks for a great trip.

  • Liked — Unique Setting and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing. This place is fantastic
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gradsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Absolutetely perfect, and not only for honeymooners! An outstanding retreat for those looking for a few days off, sitting on your own secluded terrace overlooking the lagoon. In the morning it might be the pristine beach of the Barra Lodge nearby, nobody there but in a certain distance some african women passing by carrying baskets on their heads, silently and slowly. In the afternoon you may go for an ocean safari - if you are adventure-minded - and snorkel with worlds biggest fishes, the whale sharks. And talking about fish, don't forget the (included) dinner: made for seafood aficionados!

After that a local drink at the bar, e.g tipo tinto (sweet rum on ice) will finish the day perfectly.

And - moreover - every part of the staff will help you in the most friedliest way.

After all, one might say, close to ten!

  • Liked — The whole atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Werner and i were looking for a relaxing quiet place, we found it!! We flew from Johannesburg to Maputo then to Inhambane, then bumpy taxi to the lodge. The reception at Flamingo was wounderful. Charles is full of smiles and very accomodating, Gabriele, was always pulling our legs, egged on by my husband Werner !!, i couldnt get a straight answer with both of them together!! The waiters, ours was King and Frank were there on the ball, bar staff Fernando and Jason were like a old married couple, banter together but always helped especially when werner wanted to know how to pronouce something in Portuguise. The lodge was stunning, so cool and beautifully put together, the pool area and sun deck overlooked the lagoon, then the golf cart ride to our chalets,takes a few mins, every house has a flamingo head carved out ontop of the pitch over the door.The place was better than the pictures. When the tide is in, wow !! and the sunsets..... we had pre ordered some soft drinks to go with some extras that we had were put in the fridge for sundowners. When the tides out, lots of life comes about especially the crabs, millions of little ones, not harmful, they run from you. A few mornings we got to see a flock of Flamingos early.... Breakfast was a buffet, eat outside by the pool, the ambiance of the Lodge makes everybody friendly . Terry the manager was full of information or suggestions and would rush off when you wanted an excursion to book and confirm, his wife was good to werner when he cricked his neck and gave him some cream and then suggested to go for a massage, which he did, also top star !! The day trip on the catamaran was excellent, could snorkel for and hour then had lunch on the boat which was prepared there then to Pansy Island to look for Pansey shells, lovely Captain. We also did Quad biking which was fun as i have never done it before and we went through a 2 hour fun ride, through the local village to Tofo and back. The food at the Lodge was excellent, not one complaint, plenty of choice from an set menu. Bedtime was great as they have a net thats square over the bed not drapeing, so each night there was a little something on the bed, the first night i thougth it was sweeties, no ....FISH FOOD!! then every night was something about the area and what to see, loved the tiny cowery shell or money shell on our last night, the effort that was put into our holiday from everybody was wonderful, everybody loved their jobs, no sour faces. We were there when a big party of Russians came, 20 odd, no problem for the staff at all, they were on the ball. I know this is rather long winded but we would go back in a heartbeat as this place captured our hearts!! It has to the BEST place we have visited, we will return...................... I forgot to give in our chalet key.........Whoops... sorry....best wishes to all at Flamingo, Mandy & Werner

  • Liked — The vew of sunsets and quietness, fantastic staff,location.
  • Disliked — Nothng to not like!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SAfricaMansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
#1 of 19 in Inhambane
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 19 in Inhambane
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barefoot in Barra
Barefoot in Barra
#2 of 8 in Inhambane
4 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Property: Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing