We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Completely Romantic Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our honeymoon was truly fantastic and we enjoyed every moment of it. The rooms are truly breath-taking and we spend most of our time on our veranda looking at the stunning views. Both low and high tide brings with it the most wonderful sights. We were lucky to have room 119 which has stunning views of the sunset. The resort has the rustic charm of Mozambique with added luxuries and hospitalities.The staff are amazingly friendly and we loved getting to know many of them and hearing their stories. Special mention to Francisco and Sacramento for being truly amazing.

The activities that we did were the Pansy Island Trip (out of this world amazing), quad biking and the village tour. All of them were wonderful and well organised.

On our last night, our final dinner preparation was so beautiful and the table was draped with tinsel and flowers. Everyone made us feel so welcome.

A few notes for consideration for management, we did find the management staff very aloof and if we spoke 5 words to them all 8 days we were there it was a lot. It actually felt as though they purposefully ignored us. I do also feel as though the spa should be better managed - it feels like a little added extra (not even properly staffed) and not as the Wellness and Treatment Centre it professes to be.

Nonetheless, we had an amazing time and would definitely return. Thank you kindly to all at Flamingo Bay for making our honeymoon spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms 117 - 120 have by far the best views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegCr0sby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

We are so pleased that Flamingo Bay was able to give you the experience you expected on your special occasion. Your review will certainly receive the attention of management and we wish you both well on your journey of life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

An over-water bungalow was on our bucket list and we loved it. The place was quiet and the room was very spacious. The tides really flow in and out with large variations in times and water levels. The people are friendly and service is good. Breakfast was plentiful and we skipped lunch. Dinner was adequate - I would have liked more local food and local flavors.

If you stay here you can also eat in their sister lodge a 10 minute drive away - Barra Lodge,

All room have small porches where you can hang out and look over the bay. There are steps off your porch that lead you to the water below giving you the opportunity to enjoy the quiet coastline.

Room Tip: The higher the number the closer to the bay. Rooms are in sets of 4. We were in 116 and it was one...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Ticking off another bucket list item and enjoying the time spent at Flamingo Bay certainly makes it all worth while. Thank you for reviewing our property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked Flamingo Bay as part of a romantic getaway for my fiance (proposed on the balcony of our Flamingo Bay chalet) in October. We didnt have too long to stay, so we booked a fly-in package from Johannesburg. The lodge was truly fantastic, and was everything I had hoped for when planning the trip! Obviously being quite nervous about the whole trip, as soon as we stepped onto the wooden walk-way leading into the reception, I knew I had picked the right place! The lodge has an understated luxury, while keeping its relaxed Mozambiquean beach-vibe - exactly what I was looking for! Yes, some of the chalets look as though they could use a neatening up of the thatching, but this did not effect us in the slightest. The fact that the chalets are quite a distance from the main lodge has been commented on quite a bit in other reviews, but we enjoyed the strolls along the walkways, taking in the quiet scenes of the estuary, as well as using the walks back from the restaurant in the evenings to walk off the food. On that note, the food was extremely delicious, well-prepared and each night there were different items on the menu (although we took the opportunity to sample the seafood platter on a number of occasions). The breakfast buffet was always fresh and well prepared, and had a selection for every taste. Our 2 waiters who looked after us for the week (Remi and Fernando) were brilliant and we got to know them quite well. Special mention must also go to the management staff, who were always ready to help and had great advice for the local activities (diving, other beach restaurants, etc), which just added to our enjoyment of the Inhambane area. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, then this is the place! If you are looking for a party vibe, with loads of people, then Flamingo Bay's partner lodge (Barra Lodge) is probably more suitable. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay, and would love to go back again!

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 17-20 do have a slightly better sunset view, but other than this all of them seem...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to publish a review. It is always great to have happy guests at the lodge. Management and staff do also appreciate hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Although this lodge is from the same owners as Barra lodge... this place is nice!

Houses are beautiful an very luxury, staff is friendly, nice amenities, average breakfast and great dinner! Most dinners in resorts like this are buffet, but they offer a 4 course, served dinner.

We did have a problem with the hygiene of the toilets going directly in the sea (under our house), they solved it directly.

Pool was green.

Staff is very friendly and well trained.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your points are noted and we are pleased you enjoyed the ambiance of the lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The place is run down, value for money is very poor.
The staff and the service is slow, although they try - nothing really happens. Our expectations were high but the disappointmend was big. Stairs to the sea were broken or not at all, the whole outside terrace was in a bad condiction. We don´t recomment this place, for the money the charge you can get much better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank afrikka_kikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We take all our reviews seriously and I will certainly pass your comments on to lodge management for their attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived quite late - 7pm, and after settling in our room, we went to dinner. To our delight they've prepared a beautifully decorated table to welcome us. In the consequent evenings it was fun to see all the "new" guests at their special tables.

There are looooong walkways between the hotel and the rooms, but the scenery is so beautiful, not once did we mind the walking (and my husband hates walking but he LOVED this!). In the mornings we woke up in our bed with fresh white linen to the sounds of water cobbling underneath the chalet and birds chirping. I loved opening the curtains so I could watch the sun rise over the water from my pillow every morning!
Breakfast was always very nice, with a good variety, although we've experienced hotels with a larger selection. But I understand many things are hard to come by in that area.

Our room was tidied every morning and night. Staff were friendly. The pool area is lovely! The spa is also very good. I just wished they'd put the massage beds outside (there is space) How nice would that have been? But the spa experience was great!

The dinners are amazing! With really good seafood available. Just the one time I found loads of sand in the mussles (I did tell the waiter, but he seemed annoyed that I complained). But everything else was delicious! The last two nights they had live music at dinner which really added to the mood.

One downside: there aren't phones in the rooms, so you can't order anything from your room.

The activities are really great too - the sunset cruise was stunning!

I spent hours underneath our chalet during low tide watching the abundance of tropical sealife. It's crazy all the pretty fish, crabs and sea cucumbers living RIGHT THERE!

I got amazing photos - and this was one of the best holidays of my life! Just be careful driving there - roads aren't great and cops are plenty.

Room Tip: We were in room 110 which had a lovely view of the sunrise every morning. For nice sunset views I th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirtsalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The main attraction here is clearly the stilt houses, which are a real blast. They're comfortable and well furnished, but at the same time give you the feeling of being on the ocean while you sleep. Great food (although be warned, the Piri Piri is hot!) and attentive mozambiquean staff. Nice beaches walking distance away. It's not 5-star luxury, but it's something different and unique.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AnthonyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi Anthony. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the total uniqueness of our stilted accommodation and rustic yet comfortable accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
8.7 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#9 of 18 in Inhambane Province
60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Amigo Lodge
Amigo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tofinho
131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 14 in Tofo
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barefoot in Barra
Barefoot in Barra
#2 of 8 in Inhambane
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing