We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

As the photos and other reviews suggest, this is a truly special property. Walking to your room over the wooden bridges that extend over the Bay, and having a room that sits in the water with the most amazing sunset views and ability to take a swim off of your back deck is truly unique. It's an incredibly romantic setting, and I would highly recommend it for couples for a long weekend. We were a larger group of divers, and the management was very friendly and accomodating to our needs. We went for a week when there was hardly anyone else there, so it was a peaceful, quiet and very private setting.

The food was very good, and the menu (especially for dinners) had a nice variety of carefully selected and well prepared items. Wait staff was very friendly and efficient.

In terms of negatives, it depends on the type of experience you are seeking. As a dive group, it became a little tedious to have to walk back and forth from our rooms to the front gate where the truck picked us up each morning to head to the dive shop at Barra Beach resort. Looking back, it would've been much more convenient to just stay at Barra for easy access to diving and the beach, although we would've missed out on the amazing Flamingo Bay experience. Also, there is nothing "lively" about the experience. It is quiet, serene and very romantic, which was nice for our group for a couple of nights to allow us to unwind. Overall though, Barra was a little more fun and energetic.

I'm not sure how typical it is, but our rooms lost power 2 or 3 nights that we were there and, one evening, we didn't have water. That may have been due to the weather which was very windy and a little cold, or perhaps is just the nature of this type of property that sits on the water. Either way, it's something to be aware of.

I didn't use the pool because it was too cold, but it was quite small with only a few chairs. It would be lovely if the property had a hot tub, but it may be too difficult to heat it. The massage service was nice, but not overly luxurious. In fact, the overall experience was not one that I would put in the "luxury" category, but more rustic and quaint. I would however, recommend that you stay here, even if only for 2 or 3 nights, to experience such a unique and beautiful place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end will give you the most privacy (101 is one of them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Bay with your group of divers. The staff put a lot of effort into ensuring the guest experience is as expected. Unfortunately power and water can be a little troublesome at times and this is dealt with a speadily as possible so not to inconvenience guests however this is not always possible and we fully understand your frustrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
154
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend in April. It was our second time here. The first time we stayed we were not impressed by the menu and food at all. We thought we would give it another try, however we were again disappointed. This time, the breakfast options were half what we were offered the previous stay, and the dinner menu was unimpressive for a place that charges what they do. Our second complaint is that on our first morning there, upon waking and enjoying the beautiful view, we had to witness toilet paper and sewerage floating in the water next to our chalet. The pipes under the chalets had disconnected under our chalet which links to 4 chalets. There was also a terrible smell. Upon our neighbours flushing the toilet, we had to witness the same thing again. This meant we were unable to swim in the water, and this was the main reason for our stay! We reported it at reception, and upon our return we noticed it had been fixed. However the next day we had the same problem. This is neither healthy nor ecologically safe. Unfortunately, we will not be back. A positive however, is the outstanding service by the staff and reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadieSteytler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your frank review. Maintenance is an on going priority and as you well described the problem you encountered was dealt with promptly. Unfortunately these type of problems do not give us any warning as is the case anywhere hence the prompt response by the staff. Your concern about the meals will be taken up with management as is always the case for the maintenance of our standards and service at our lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Do not be put off by the few negative trip advisor comments about Flamingo Bay, it is a beautiful place, and you will miss out on something very special if you don't go. The accommodation, staff, food and lodge cater to your every need and will ensure that you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. Every step is taken to assist you in enjoying yourselves and all you need to do is sit back and relax. Snorkelling off your unit is a delight and well worth a go. The only negative thing I can say is that the place is in desperate need of a lick of paint and some exterior TLC, but what it lacks on the outside it sure makes up on the inside. A perfect Honeymoon resort.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have unit 120, which is only flanked by one other unit to the left as oppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Flamingo Bay. We are in the process of implementing a maintenance program which will impact as little as possible on the hospitality and guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

April 2013, 4 of us stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. The bungalows are great with small decks with steps to the water. The management is superb and friendly, food is good. We were so pleased, we did not take advantage of the sister Barra hotel on the ocean. The horseback riding on the beach is not to be missed. We did not find the walkways a problem and the distance was just a stroll to the main lodge. Do not miss this great lodge

Room Tip: Rooms are all over the water. Rooms at the right end have a view of the more open ocean. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie&Bryed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are proud to have the staff who do indeed assist in completing the satisfying guest experience. Your positive feedback will certainly be passed on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the lodge towards the end of our Mozambique visit. Nico, at reception, certainly understands the concept of happy tourists ensure positive word of mouth referalls. He went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed, when we needed it. Most beautiful sunsets! A nice room with a small mini bar - perfect! To enjoy traveling in Africa one should bear in mind it is Africa, don't expect the speed our service you would in e.g. SA, you will be disappointed, however, in turn there will be great small little extras. Go with an open mind and be prepared to practice some tolerance. Typical Mozambique - electricity may (will) fail you. Throwing your toys have no value instead go outside and enjoy the starry night with stars as bright and as close as we don't see them in the city! Although your photos, taken at Flamingo lodge, definitely will have your friends and family envious of your trip it certainly is an expensive stay compared offerings at similar resorts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how someone appreciates the smaller things and enjoys the experience. Flamingo staff are motivated to give of their best in their particular areas of expertise and your appreciation will be passed on to the lodge as well as the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The experience at Flamingo Bay was phenomenal, and I would definitely go back and recommend anyone wanting to go to Mozambique to consider it as a destination!!

Everything from the food to the service was nothing short of excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had such a wonderful time. We would love to have you return for a repeat visit and wish you well for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The picturesque location, island style design and water-villa's should push this establishment into a four and five star rating - but a little atention to detail brought them down however. During our stay (late Jan 2013) the golf cart which shuttles guests along the long (repeat long) walk-ways was out of action. The publicised sea-food buffet was served on only one of our 8 nights and the rest of the meals were "nice" but somewhat boring, not really reflective of an establishment of this class. In most cases, dinner was a repetition of what was on offer during the one buffet.

The dive centre at nearby Barra Lodge offerred excellent and friendly service, on their own they deserve a 5 star and were as good if not better than the many others I have been to. Back to Flamingo, what was also disapointing was having nothing/little to do on rainy days. The available board games were all incomplete and unplayable and there was nothing else, not even table tennis or a pack of cards available. Management was conspicuously absent until Russel (F&B manager) returned from leave, perhaps this also explains the food issue. The staff themselves were wonderful - one was usually greeted with a smile and their service was efficient and attentive.

A little attention to detail by management would have made all the difference and we would have walked away "Very happy" rather than..."well, it was OK".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were devastated to hear that your stay was not what you had expected and for this we can only apologise. We have taken all your points and will be following up on them to ensure that this does not repeat. The matter of seafood is a very touchy situation in our Inhambane area as there are times of the year where seafood supplies wane due to demand and supply. This is another area we are trying to address. We really do take your points seriously and will do our utmost to ensure that these areas are not only fixed but marketed better as we onlly want to meet and hopefully exceed expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
8.7 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 16 in Inhambane Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barefoot in Barra
Barefoot in Barra
#3 of 8 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bay View Lodge
Bay View Lodge
#23 of 108 in Inhambane Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 19 in Inhambane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
#1 of 19 in Inhambane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Property: Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing