We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Flamingo Bay, the name immediately conjoors up ideas of a tropical paradise. Situated on the South East Coast of Mozambique, the Indian Ocean provides an exotic and pleasent surprise. The hotel and dining facilities are based on the mainland but our accommodation beautifully designed thatch chalets lie just 500 meters out in the middle of a tidal lagoon. We reach our chalets with an ingenious maize of timber planks, strapped together and a top of Pylons creating a small thoroughfare for a golf cabby to drive you out to the chalets.
It,s difficult to believe but with all the attention to nature the chalets provide an incredible feeling of being at one with Africa. Each chalet is provided with a private balcony with stairs leading in to the refreshing tidal waters below. Each evening we are treated to an internationally viable menu with treats such as local fish, langouste, shellfish and a varitey of local dishes. As the sun sets and a few straggling flamingos have a last shot at catching some dinner before night fall, we sit and enjoy over icy glass of wine and start to eat the treasures served.
One returns in darkness to the chalet the tide is fully in and a last splash into the water below cools and envigorates as seldom before.A romantic glas of wine on our balcony as we excitedly await tomorrows sunrise.
We wake early and get ready for breakfest but not before a short dip in that inviting lagoon water.. Breakfest, local fresh fruit, omlettes as they should be and any amount of breakfest specials. Our table waiter tells us to take a piece of bread back to the chalet and with the crumbs feed the fish, we do so and experience as one sits with water just slapping ones feet, thousand of small fish arrive from nowhere and eat their breakfest from the palm of your hands.
Ocean safari today, a large rubber dingy is waiting for us but 1st you have to bord out beyond the breaking waves, not an easy manovre. Thank God I made it, one too plump and unfit has to stay behind, poor fellow. Once out into the Indian Ocean we are excited and expectant. We see a few dolphins swim past and then believe it or not just a short distance away emerges a 20 meter long monstrosity, whale shark. My fellow adventures dive in at once to see the spectacle. I,m scared to the bone, I remain on board. The safari leader gives me no chance, we are almost past the massive whale shark, he pushes me overboard, I curl up into giant goosepimple and go down what seems a mile but only 10 meters. At last I,m on the way up I open my eyes and Lo and Behold just 2 meters from me is the giant wonder opening his huge mouth, Thank God he only eats plankton. He swishes past me just a meter away. I surface fighting for air and amazingly so happy - a whale shark, who will believe me back home, I,m absolutely in shock and will never forget that special meeting.
Time flies when one is happy and thats just what happened at Flamingo Bay. The final evening is here, we are told we are lucky couple for the evenings dinner. We choose a seafood menu with crayfish and baked alaska for our desert. As we sit priviledged up above the other diners on our own romantic balcony with a cold glass of champagne, we are served with two of the biggest crayfish I have ever seen. You just cannot believe how special this was, crayfish thermador, chardonnay and Africa - not much can beat that.
Sadly we return to the chalet for one last swim before leaving early to take that flight back to so called civilization, or is it called madness !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
What a vivid review. Thank you for taking the time to write this and give us your first hand experience in such a wonderful way. Your description of the whale sharks, your fear and elation is lovely to read. We are glad you left with such a life changing experience and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
154
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 days in Flamingo Bay and we loved it! The room was absolutely beautiful and I guess we were lucky to be in a room with a view of the sunset... and what a view!!! The hotel was nice overall and food was good. Very romantic and quiet place. We drove around to see other beaches during the day and it was amazing. Great experience!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the right side as the views of the sunset are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Paradise is exactly what Flamingo is. Thank you for your lovely review and we do hope to see you again in this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hluhluwe, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Flamingo bay water lodge was the perfect place for our honeymoon. Excellent location, amazing food, great staff (especially Russel). So much to do!! Just take enough sun cream with!! We did the Pansy island trip and it was so beautiful and definitely worth doing!!! We also spent some time relaxing by the pool and waliking to Barra lodge. The are al lot of very nice and social bars along the way to Barra Lodge, definitely worth visiting!!!

We stayed in room 120, best view on the lodge!!
We will be going back there in the future!!
Thanks again to Russle and his team!!

Room Tip: Room 120 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mare-Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
so glad to hear that you spent your special holiday with us at Flamingo. Our staff are fantastic and come with so much enthusiasm. We hope you do come back again soon, remember to book with us direct for your 10% repeat guest discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location on lagoon perfect
Food great
Scenery great
People friendly and helpful.
The cottages are comfortable, clean and privacy is good.
The room is air conditioned which is a must in these humid tropical areas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
we agree that our sunsets are about the best that you get! thank you for your review which was short, sweet and to the point. It is lovely to get feedback that just affirms our efforts. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nata, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the best place for those newly weds if they really want a dream honey moon. bungalows right in the middle of sea water, great marvel indeed, in the afternoon the gound is sand and later afternoons and evenning, the waves cover the whole place with water. The service is very much personalised, from rooms right to restaurant, you dont have to walk unless you are in the mood to stretch your legs, carts are always ready to transport guests. excellent service, very friendly staff, great healthy food

Room Tip: no need to choose, all rooms have the best view and are all in the middle of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebawetse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
thank you for your review. it is wonderful to hear from our guests in neighboring countries. We not longer have the golf carts due to the damage they caused but do have wonderful porters who assist with all luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my wife eally enjoyed our stay att Flamingo Bay Water Lodge. WIthin walking distance from barra beach (the beach close to the hotel is nothing special) and really special housing this is a really cool place to spend som days.

It's a typical honey moon place, and the service was focusing on that a lot. But apart from that, the place was very nice. The food is average, but was weights the experience up is the huts, literally on the water. Beautiful.

We also tried the massage service an borrowed the canoews, which was great!

Recommended for couples and families!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and experience at Flamingo Bay. Our menus are always reviewed so we will take note of your concerns regarding the food. Thank you once again as your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow, what an awesome resort! It was everything and even more than what we expected from the pictures! The staff are so humble and friendly and so willing to walk the extra mile for you. The views are spectacular, as is the food. Special thanks to Russel Adams, who is the food and beverage manager at the resort. Wow, and the food is to die for! One can see that Russel really takes pride in his work, seeing as he really makes effort to engage with the guests and to cater to everybody's needs. He does not mind to be of assistance to the resort's guests.

I had my birthday whilst we were on honeymoon and thev staff surprised me with a chocolate Birthday cake and "Happy Birthday" in Portugese.

A must-do is to visit pansy Island via Barras catamaran: what an amazing experience this was!

We will highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in being spoiled rotten in heaven-like surroundings.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really spectacular in their own right. All the rooms are the same, but 120 does h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrie_Wahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It was lovely to hear about Russel again. He has truly changed the face (or rather food) of Flamingo Bay. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
6 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amigo Lodge
Amigo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tofinho
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barefoot in Barra
Barefoot in Barra
#2 of 8 in Inhambane
4 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 20 in Inhambane
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#7 of 20 in Inhambane
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Property: Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing