We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Bay Honeymoon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My fiancé and I are big fans of Mozambique. I stumbled across Flamingo Bay in y search for the perfect honeymoon location. From the photos it looked amazing. Upon our arrival i realized it is a amazing as it looks!!

I do not regret taking new wife to Flamingo bay for one second!!! I will go and visit again any day if I can!!! the food was fantastic and the staff was very polite and professional!! we were treated like royalty. The rooms are fantastic. Very cozy. The sea life at the lodge was what got my attention the most!! High tide there are millions of little fish along with some crab species, even star fish. Upon low tide the life changes with a lot of crab species to be seen with flamingos also to be seen. The weather was not of the best we have experienced in Mozambique, but the stay was still awesome!!!!!

I would recommend Flamingo bay to anybody that is after a different feel and vibe of a romantic nature!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the far ends are a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques_Nel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of Flamingo Bay. Flamingo Bay is a unique destination that host hundreds of guests annually and we love to make sure that we are meeting and exceeding expectations. We really hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent last five days of an African tour here. A little apprehensive when first booked having read some earlier reviews, but having spent time here these were dispelled.

Our room was fine, bedding and towels clean and the place was kept clean by the staff.

The food was very good and i can recommend the seafood special, I had two large crayfish, a pile of prawns plus calamari and a fish steak. The overall menu was varied and enjoyable.

The staff were very helpful and responsive to requests, Roberto who saw to us during our stay worked hard to please.

The managers spoke to all the guests every day at breakfast or dinner and were keen to know of any problems so they could be corrected. It would seem that there have been changes and all for the good.

The area around the lodges when no tide in perhaps not suitable as a beach but then a short ride away was Barra lodge with a great beach and the beach hawkers had to stay outside a defined area so they weren't to much of a problem until you went to walk to the water's edge, but this is Africa so expect this where ever you go.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would go back again and yes lodge 20 is definitley the best as the veranda gets the sun longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDuke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Flamingo Bay would like to thank you sincerely for your lovely review. It is appreciated that you have take the time to place your experience of our Lodge. Flamingo Bay is a unique destination that host hundreds of guests annually and we love to make sure that we are meeting and exceeding expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We visited Flamingo Bay for a week in late August as part of our Honeymoon. Firstly the location is perfect, Built on top of the tidal estuary of Inhambane bay on stilts just above the waters at high tide. From your private balcony you can watch the Flamingos flocking, the hermit crabs shuffling and the fishermen in the distance, with an ice cold beer from the mini bar at a very reasonable 50 mets (£1.10). My Wife loved how different and exciting it all was from the off. A very strong man carried both our suitcases (47 kilos!) down the path to our chalet. When we visited the pathway had recently been refurbished, as had most of the chalet roofs following a Hurricane in March. As said in other posts there is no longer a golf buggy to carry you along the path, but the walk is not far and is in amongst the mangrove trees and you can observe the birds, plants, fish and crabs scuttling about. It is well lit at night and offers lovely views over the river and huts.
The rooms are spacious, with a very large double bed, under a mosquito net suspended in a four poster bed style arrangement. There is a Chaise lounge and two deck chairs on the balcony. You will also find a well stocked fridge and a modern pass code safe.
The very best thing about Flamingo Bay is the quality of the food. Included is a buffet style breakfast and dinner. Breakfast comes with a good selection of fresh and tinned fruits, Toast, bread and cakes, Bacon, sausages and eggs/omelette. The eggs and omelettes are made fresh for you to your specifications. Dinner is chosen from a menu that typically has a vegetable soup, a choice of 2 starters, a choice of 3 mains and a dessert. The menu always had a vegetarian option. In addition to this you had the choice of a sea food platter or a prawn platter. The sea food platter included prawns, grilled calamari and either lobster or fish and was the tastiest food i had in Mozambique and is amongst the best sea food i have ever had.
To make dinner even more special every now and again your waiter will invite you to dine on the balcony above the other dinners. They make the table look lovely and its a more quiet and romantic setting for a special dinner.
Finally I want to mention some people who made our stay even more memorable. Firstly there was Augusto who works on the main desk. He is quiet and efficient, polite and helpful and greeted us with a big smile every day. There was Roberto, a trainee waiter, who worked so hard to make sure we enjoyed our dinner and finally Remy, who greeted us with his cheeky smile whenever we saw him. Although these three helped us the most I also wish to praise the other staff. The Cleaners did a good job and provided a special "treat" when they turned down the room, the security guards were alert and nodded their hellos on the way past, the chefs made superb food, the bar staff made fantastic cocktails. Thank you everyone for giving us such a memorable honeymoon!
These are possible things to make it even more perfect:
1: The septic tank outside our room had a leak - polluting the environment and adding a drip, drip to the nights sounds.
2. Although tips are centralised (so you tip all staff at the end) there was no book or pot to put these tips in - so my tip money went in with all the other cash - and potentially did not go to the people it should have
3. The sundowner cruise was the most disappointing part of our trip - it finished before sun set (about 30minutes off), was overcrowded (so not romantic) and had lots of people from Barra who got it for free - spoiling the mood of it. We were also dropped off on a beach about 10 mins from Flamingo but the boat moors at flamingo bay every night. (arriving just after sunset...)

Room Tip: Number 101-110 are permanently in water, 111-120 are tidal. 120 is on the "end" and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We take all our reviews, positive or negative, very seriously and appreciate the feedback you have included with areas of concern. Our GM is hard at work rectifying experiences and facilities and this has helped us tremendously. We truly hope to see you back at our lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent 9 days in the Flamingo Bay, and it was absolutely beautiful. The rooms on the water are quite unique, it is almost like on a boat, but without any chance to get seasick. The excellent management took care of every request we had, organized all recreational activities to our fullest satisfaction, even immediately obtained additional wines when we asked for a greater variety. The food is really very good (especially when considering that this is not Vienna or Milano, but a small village in Mozambique), and every request we had was fulfilled, including extra helpings of chocolate cake for our daughter. The main reason for coming here was diving, which was really excellent, but now we would come again, even if we were not diving.
All hotel personnel (which is in enormous abundance) is extremely friendly and helpful, and devoid of the blasé attitude frequently encountered in European hotels. We had our own waiter, and his attention, as well as his friendly smile was always with us, as a result one really feels very well taken care of. Service just could not be better, we just wish the typical European 4 or 5 star hotels would come close.
It was a wonderful experience staying here, vacation really at its best, and we will for sure come back, even if it is quite far from Hannover (Germany), and difficult to reach when using Lufthansa as the carrier (the latter we can definitely not recommend).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a good stay with us. At Flamingo, we truly strive for excellence within our modest Mozambican environment. We hope to have you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

what a great place! great food, maybe the best seafood we had in Mozambique!. Good service and a very friendly manager. We, a group of 9 had a great stay and will recommend this place to everybody. A nice atmosphere, good music during dinner...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

I am thrilled to read that you had a good stay with us at Flamingo Bay. We really do pride our lodge and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

disappointing, given some of the rave reviews and pictorial descriptions. food especially did not meet expectations (had to go to barra lodge for the only decent prawns of the stay). seafood sadly lacking. place has a distinctly neglected, once-loved feel to it; is sorely in need of maintenance and a face-lift. out of order toilets in the main reception area necessitated long walks back to bungalows (golf carts were all out of commission at the same time...could the maintainance not have been staggered?). checking out was tiring, tiresome and tedious as porterage was limited, transport to and from bungalows non-existent and the computer system was down. some really great staff with what appears to be very limited resources. a pity as the natural surroundings and novel design of the resort itself could be an award-winning concept.

Room Tip: bungalow 120 is suposed to the best but they all seemed to be pretty much the same with good water a...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wandereringon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We were devastated to hear that our lodge did not meet your expectations. We take a huge amount of pride in Flamingo Bay and take every piece of feedback as constructive so as to enhance the experience for future guests. Seafood is a problem in general with over fishing of our coastal areas becoming more of a challenge. We are educating the local communities though and at this point in the year, we have to bring down our fish from Beira as the quality and quantity on the Inhambane coast is not good. In regards to the golf carts, this is unfortunately an facility that we have had to remove due to the damage they are causing to the walkways and the environmental aspect of the running of the vehicles. All other areas of your review, we will investigate and improve upon and once again, I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I visited Flamingo for our 33rd wedding anniversary. What an experience! From the moment we arrived until our departure, we were treated and made to feel like royalty.
Accommodation - clean, comforatble, and the setting on the estuary, particularly on high tide is something special. Bedding turned back every night while we were having dinner, mosquito nets folded out and a special gift with a local "touch" left on our bed every evening.
Restaurant/Reception area - despite some adverse weather, the area was kept tidy and impeccably clean at all times.
Catering - Kallie/Cesar, thank you for a plentiful supply of sea food. The other food was also great, but we are meraly seafood "freaks"!
Staff - To us, the key attribute that made our trip special was the people of Flamingo. Every single person that we made contact with or had to interact with, gave us special attention and always provided us with the required assistance or information. I would be remiss if I do not single out some individuals that made the trip particualrly rewarding to us. Kallie - for the professional way in which you interacted with us and made us (as guests) be feeling important. Cesar - for a well managed food and beverage area and always available to share information on the food on offer and the way in which it is prepared. Zacharia - for looking after us so well, whether over breakfast, lunch or dinner, and for the special "surprise" over dinner on the evening of our anniversary. Paulino - likewise for looking after us when Zacharia was off duty, and for the suprise dinner setting on the evening before our departure.
Enough said, except, WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: We were happy with room 107. But now having been to Flamingo, 120 will be good, on the outer end to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kobus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Flamingo Bay Water Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Kobus thank you for your reaffirming words. We truly take pride in our staff at Flamingo and have taken all your comments into account. What a special thing to make so many years of marriage, we are honoured to have been able to make that special time in your life that much more memorable. We hope to see you back again soon for many more anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
2.4 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 15 in Tofo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bay View Lodge
Bay View Lodge
#24 of 112 in Inhambane Province
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amigo Lodge
Amigo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tofinho
131 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tofo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Bay Water Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Bay Water Lodge

Address: Inhambane | Inhambane, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range: $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamingo Bay Water Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Flamingo Bay Water Hotel Inhambane
Flamingo Bay Water Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing