We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beach is amazing”
Review of Barra Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barra Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Roatan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The beach is amazing”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The very quiet beach of this property (along with the dive shop) make it a place I would consider visiting again. The rooms were in desperate need of an update and the first night we arrived, a wedding reception took place with incredibly loud music, until 5 am. The manager of the hotel gave us a credit to make up for this, which we greatly appreciated as we had already signed up for diving the next day so went with no sleep. The food was plentiful but not incredibly flavorful and a little bit repetitious during our week stay. The dive staff was fantastic and would be the only reason we would probably venture back here, as the resort itself is a bit run down.

Room Tip: Reserve a beach front room if view is important to you. The others are behind the dunes and have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill2dive4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your very frank review. We do host functions as you experienced and these do at time impact on the guests who we try to always accommodate as best we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    30
    16
    17
See reviews for
38
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We didn't expect much from this pace having read the reviews, but what we discovered was a hidden gem! Absolutely loved it - rooms were huge and very well equipped. Staff were friendly enough, setting is amazing, diving was good - what more could you ask for?

Absolutely loved it and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
The Barra team strive to always offer their best service to all our guests and we are always happy to hear such positive reviews from past guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is our second time staying at Barra Lodge, our focus being the diving in Inhambane.
With a beautiful beach and excellent diving facilities and beautiful dive sites, and various room options, this is a great place for divers, families, friends and couples. They have luxury accommodations called Flamingo Bay nearby as well.

The resort wasn't too crowded in early May, and it was very calm and pleasant, staff were friendly, diving excursions were nice sized groups. Free wi-fi is available in the reception area of the resort. The Activity Centre offers other activities outside of diving as well.
It notes a 24hr reception with a phone number on the billboard outside of the hotel, however, we found that this phone number is not working and it is not a 24hr reception as it states. Make sure to have the phone number and if you are attempting to do a walk-in booking, to do it at a reasonable hour. (we attempted a middle of the night walk-in, as we had some car issues along the way which delayed our arrival time, and to our dismay, we couldn't book in nor contact any of the hotel staff). The next morning we were able to walk-in.

This time around we booked a casita, which is a self-catering lodge that sleeps up to 6 people. The price was very reasonable. There are some food markets in Tofo Beach, which is the neighbouring beach, where we did some grocery shopping and made use of our kitchen.
The shower pressure is not the greatest, but it is clean and very roomy. Beds have mosquito nets and 'patio' with tables and chairs. When sleeping with the fan on, make sure that the mosquito net doesn't shift around, as we found some mosquitos inside our net and we had a very itchy and uncomfortable sleep. Perhaps the fan should be placed outside of the net.. not inside of the net.

The food at the restaurant/beach bar is fair and okay pricing. It definitely is 'resort pricing'. The lunch menu is varied and there should be something for everyone. They was a bit stingy on the prawn platter we had for lunch, compared to other local restaurants that offered a heaping pile of delicious prawns. However, I wasn't so surprised at their 'minimalist' helping at this kind of resort.
In the evenings, sometimes there is a buffet option at the beach bar restaurant, where they will have some live musical entertainment which is quite good.

Their sister lodge, Pomene Lodge is another great option, resort quality and slightly more intimate than Barra.

I would stay at Barra Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It is always so good to have past guests take the time to write a review of our lodge. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Al the staff do really appreciate this and it is a big motivator for them. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

At the end of April 2014 a group of 10 families took the long road from Pretoria to Barra Lodge.
This was my first experience in Mozambique. When we booked the accommodation we were given a fair discount even, if it was in School Holidays. Travelling by road took a lot of time, adhering to the speed limit. We did not encounter any unfriendly officials / people while travelingin Mozambique. Arriving at the lodge we were met enthusiastically. Helpers quickly helped offloading our baggage. Yes the accommodation needs love and tender care, but the bedding and linen was fresh and clean. One can see that the bad reports about Mozambique has a big negative influence on the tourism. There were not many people at all the lodges. Many lodges are not even open. At Barra Lodge they were only to happy to have customers. Discounts were given on Diving, Boat Trips and Quad Biking. We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay and given all the discounts we received it was a Great Experience and very good value for money. Thanks to the Barra Lodge Team. We hope that all your old and regular customers return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 6 sleeper self-catering units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It is always good to hear from guests who so enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments will certainly be passed on to all the staff at the lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

To be fair and to give credit where due, the staff at Barra Lodge are incredible. From the very moment tat I arrived for my seven day stay I was impressed with the friendliness and the superb service. The staff are considerate, helpful and obviously they have been brilliantly trained. I cant fault the staff in any way.

But ... I was disappointed with Barra Lodge facilities and amenities. I think the resort is a bit like a Grand Old Dame who has passed here prime and now is well beyond salvation by cosmetics or surgery. What a pity. The location is idyllic but perhaps it should make way for a new-style resort. the beach bar is run-down and 'tatty' and neither the main hotel food nor that served from the beach bar was up-to-scratch. In fact, it was awful. And that's a tragedy because great food could have made up for the other shortfalls.

It also bugged me that the hotel (including the public areas and the beach bar) seemed to be over-run with local vendors 'hustling' guests from morning too night. The security guards didn't seem to have any real control and it was quite unpleasant.

The diving at Barra Lodge ( for those of us into Scuba) is certainly well-organised and well managed. And the actual dives were magnificent! Absolutely awesome and certainly on a par with some of the best dive sites in the world.

The 2-hour quad bike 'adventure;' is a 'must'. the guide was incredibly knowledgeable and the trip into Tofo is spectacular. The town is extremely colourful and a delightful place to stop for a meal or a frosty.

Overall... Disappointing and not good value when I consider that for the same cost I could have stayed at an elite resort in Thailand or Mauritius.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roderick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your frank review. We pride ourselves in the staff, many of which have been at Barra for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inhambane Province hotels

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed in the Casitas, and it was relatively comfortable. In general, the service in Front of House was prompt and professional. Top Restaurant had relatively standard food fare, and the service was sufficient. The beach bar had a great menu, and service. There is lots to do at the lodge, and surrounding areas. Barra Lodge is Central & Well Situated, it was great having a base to explore from.

Room Tip: I can only suggest the Casita's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZizMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Barra and enjoyed all the activities which are on offer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Where do I start ? No Management, poor service, food quality and variety poor, Day visitors took both the pool and all facilities over, including carrying own alcohol and cooking utensils through resort. A serious Lack of concern around complaints - Catamaran cruise a joke, safety not a priority in any activities. Expensive resort - Zero value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Your complaint is noted and will certainly be highlighted in discussion with management at the lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
10.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 18 in Inhambane Province
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
245 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Property: Barra Lodge
Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Barra Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing