We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome week at Barra”
Review of Barra Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barra Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Reviewed April 22, 2013

24 of us (5 families) have just returned from a week at Barra Lodge. 3 families stayed in the Fishermen's cottages and 2 families stayed in the Beach Chalets. Due to the other negative comments on the Fishermens cottages, we opted for the much more expensive beach chalets. The beach chalets were great, position great, nice and new, aircon etc - but so too where the fishermens cottages. Given what we paid, I would definitely book the cottages if I went again - as there really is a large difference in price.

What can I say about Barra?

The staff were excellent. The food was excellent - including the breakfast - cannot fault the food at any time. The sea was just amazing - really warm and the waves are just the right size to keep everyone happy. Big enough to boogie board and body surf, but not too strong to wash the littlies away. There were some blue bottles around and jelly fish and we did have a few stings.
The activities on the main are excellent. The catamaran is an absolute hit out to Pansy Island although hardly any shells left. You will find more when they take you snorkelling.

The horse riding on the beach was a favourite with one of my girls. The quad bike ride also got a thumbs up. We didnt get time to go kayaking unfortunately. Just disappointed with the snorkelling trip - not very much to see on the nearby reef! Also a pity that the nearby resorts cant keep their sections of beach clean!

A negative - too many touts on the beach! You literally cant read a book or fall asleep as they come along all the time.

Also, it takes a really long time to get there!!!! Think we will fly in next time!

Room Tip: A/c in Room 43 can get very noisy, but if you turn it off during the day, while you are on the beach...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It is always great to enjoy a holiday with a group of friends and family and we are so pleased that Barra Lodge met your expectations. The staff do strive to give of their best and this message will definitely be passed on for everyone to read. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Barra Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our trip to Barra was amazing. 16 of us drove up from johannesburg for our wedding. We had booked 4 self catering chalets but on arrival we received welcome drinks and 5 chalets and us, as the bridal couple received a complimentary Casita. It was a welcome surprise. The staff are friendly the food is great and Jani is a major asset to the Lodge. Our wedding was picture perfect. The cake Jani made looked exactly like the picture I had sent her and tasted yummy.Our friends and family can't stop talking about our wonderful trip. Thank you Barra and Jani for making our dream of a beach wedding a reality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at Barra. The food & beverage department enjoy catering to parties such as yours and derive great satisfaction from your positive feedback. We hope to see you back at Barra sometime soon in order for you to enjoy more at this exciting beach destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although we did not stay at Barra lodge we went there daily as day visitors and ended up doing seven of the excursions offered by the activity centre of the lodge. I've just once again realised how dependent companies, resorts, in fact any business is on the way it's staff treats their clients/guests/customers! Zeca, at front desk was always willing, eager and able to attend to our every need! Thanks Zeca! Rudi at the diving centre, thanks, you made us feel safe as you certainly know what you're doing and clearly like coming to your "office" every day! Joa, you've impressed us most! You're a great brand ambassador for Barra! We thoroughly enjoyed our quad bike trip to Tofo with you as our guide, you managed the trip, the experience, the challenges, various view points and sharing of some interesting facts in an excellent way! No Africa time for you! We started our trip on time and were back in time for your next group - well done!!! Barra Lodge definitely filled a much needed gap in our Mozambique visit through their activity centre! We had less of a positive experience on the Pansy Island cruise (which we will not recommend, especially at the price) However, when we discussed it with Willem du Toit, GM, he immediately took action and offered an alternative to rectify the unpleasant experience! Thanks Willem!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are pleased you had such a wonderful time while enjoying the Barra experience. There is always so much to see and do in a new holiday location and we strive to complete this experience. The staff mentioned will certainly be contacted and your thanks passed on to them. We hope to see you again when next you pass through Inhambane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Barra Lodge is the flagship of Barra Resorts, and has been around for quite a long time. During this time, the lodge has steadily deteriorated in appearance, and even though you probably don't expect lodges in Mozambique to have the same sheen as those in places like Mauritius, Barra does fall somewhat short when it comes to its overall condition.

First, the good:
During our visit, we stayed in one of the three Beach Chalets. Air-conditioned, with direct access to the beach, these chalets are NOT self-catering (beyond tea and coffee, though a small bar fridge is provided). The chalet was compact but comfortable, and served as a good base for our little family (two parents and two kids). The kids had their own bedroom with bunk beds, but shared the general living space and bathroom with us. The unit was perfectly clean and comfortable, so no complaints there. Also, we did our SCUBA diving through the operator at the lodge, and found them to be simply exceptional, even though the diving itself wasn't always what we had expected. Finally, we found the staff at the lodge to be helpful, respectful and fast.

On the downside:
Barra Lodge pretends to be a family lodge, akin to those found on tropical islands. Unfortunately there is very little for young children to do, beyond play on the beach. There are no jungle gyms or trampolines or even a kids' play room with suitable DVDs to watch; and even though they advertised babysitting services, the lodge wasn't able to supply any when we wanted to go diving. So if you have young kids, make sure you take enough games and books, etc. with!

Also, the general state of the place was disappointing. The swimming pool was quite dirty, and the area around the pool was particularly run down. The food was okay in the evenings, but breakfast was to be avoided at all costs! Basic at best...

Other things that bugged us: The beach is very wide in front of the Lodge, which means quite a long walk if you want to go for a swim. This isn't a problem, but sadly the lodge has no umbrellas or beach chairs available, except at the beach bar which is quite far from the water. Also, there isn't any bar service on the beach, which seems like an oversight considering the type of place this wants to be.

The biggest complaint, however, is that the lodge does a very good job of masking Mozambique. The token market inside the lodge area hardly does justice to this vibrant and richly cultured country, and we relied on 3rd party suppliers, such as Liquid Adventures, to help us get out and enjoy more of the country and water in the area.

In the days prior to our arrival at Barra Lodge, we had stayed in a smaller establishment in Tofo, and really enjoyed the vibrant little town too. If you want to experience Mozambique, Barra Lodge is simply not an option. However, if you want nice warm water to swim in, a clean place to rest your head and an awesome dive operator to dive with, we reckon Barra Lodge will be fine for you.

Overall the problems at the lodge can be addressed quite easily. A play area for young kids won't cost much, and extending the beach bar to cater for people on the beach shouldn't be too much of a hassle either. But as things stand right now, I'm afraid we won't be back.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Chalets are expensive, especially since you don't have the option of going self...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review of Barra Lodge and I am sorry it was not all to your expectations. We strive to offer service levels to suit all types of visitors and will certainly look into improvements in the ares you felt were failing. Setting of service standards is an on going process and reviews such as yours assist us in improving all areas of our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the cabanas on the beach at about $320 per night. First day no water, second no electricity, third aircon broke. Pool was disgusting, it was green and slimy with slugs in it. Was not cleaned in 5 days we were there. Food- promised two seafood buffets. Did not have one- was served stir fry instead! told that it was a cost issue as not enough guests.
All the other guests complained.
There is a lot of competition in the area and much better value for money.
We stayed one night in their Flamingo Bay Hotel- maintainance just as bad. Under rooms had sewage pipe going into water- it was disgusting.

Complaints to management are ignored. Beutiful place - just dont stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We always take these reviews seriously and do always strive to meet expectations in all areas of the lodge.Supplies can sometimes be difficult to procure due to unavailability as well as scheduling however and we strive to keep stocks up to date at all times however due to the spontaneity of the industry this is not always possible.
These issues will be taken up with the relevant persons and dealt with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from 4 days at Barra Lodge Cabana. The Cabana's are a luxury block of 6 apartments right on the beach - full aircon, plungepool, huge balcony etc. This is top class accomodation, and if you can negotiate a reduced rate, are very good value for money, as they can accomodate up to 8 people in 3 huge rooms. Some slight issues as the aircon wasn't working in 1 room so we had maintenance people there constantly and they left a bit of a mess.

We had some travel problems driving up from Maputo due to the flooding and a bridge collapse meant we were stuck for 8 hours on the EN1. After I contacted Willem (Barra Manager), he offered to personally drive all the way down to Xai Xai (4 hours drive) to pick us up. This wasn't eventually required, but he organised an extra night for us in a top lodge free of charge. Amazing service. Thanks Willem!

We will definitely be back, to try more diving, and will definitely come in low season again, when the beach was empty and the restaurants almost all to ourselves. Flamingo Bay is also well worth a visit for a romantic meal or drinks by the pool too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and sorry to hear about your delays on the way to us. Thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Cabanas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just got back from a week at Barra, where we occupied two Cassitas which were great. Spotlessly clean, bags of hot water, great room service and very comfortable. yes, the power went off once or twice and the reeded walls did not do much to keep the bugs out but hey - this is Africa at its best! And once under the mossy nets, who cares about midges anyway!

The staff throughout the complex were efficient, friendly, helpful and trustworthy. Previous reviews have commented on the need to look after valuables, which is good advice anywhere of course, but we left things lying around our rooms and suffered no loss whatsoever. to us, the local staff were impeccably trustworthy.

the service in the restaurant was great on each occasion ( 3 meals a day for 7 days) and the quality, presentation and variation of dishes was more than adequate. Drinks were reasonably priced and again, the service was exemplary.

We were there for the diving, which rated at the highest end of anything I have experienced anywhere in the world during 45 years of diving to date. Galapagos remains on my list of sites to see and I am hoping this may prove The best, but Barra will not be far behind.

The management of the dive centre was 1st class and whilst it was presented in a very laid back manner, there was an underlying efficiency and attention to detail, which allowed them to deliver an enjoyable experience whilst ensuring that safety was paramount.

This was a boys only trip for us, but a return visit is already pencilled in, to include our ladies, who we know would love the fantastic atmosphere and overall experience of Barra.

Room Tip: For couples, the luxury units Overlooking the beach look great, but the standard rooms were fine a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geeceelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your very honest and thorough review. Meeting expectation and being realistic is our goal. We would love to host you again (with partners) so please do get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
10.0 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#9 of 18 in Inhambane Province
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
10 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
207 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range: $20 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Barra Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing