We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of money and management”
Review of Barra Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barra Lodge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Booked here for the diving which was disappointing compared to other places we have dived.
After reading the previous reports I knew it was going to be fairly basic which wasn't a problem.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily, but linen and towels should be changed and not requested.
Electrics failing regularly with power cuts hourly.
Kettle had to be boiled on the floor as flex not long enough to put on shelf.
Electrical flexes for single floor standing fan made up of 3 different cables taped together with Sellotape is not acceptable or safe.
Restaurant choice poor.
Beach bar (I know it was new year.and busy) but having to wait 1.5 hrs to make order and then a further hour until a basic pizza or burger turned up was infuriatingly funny.
Having to wear a wrist band so that we could swim in the cloudy pool with warning tape around it was interesting.
The place could be so much better if staff are trained so they can take and process a food and drink order rather than all congregating at the bar til to give the orders to single bar man. Hint -get more bar staff!!!
Being the main bar on the beach for all locals and non residents means as a paying resident you are very often treated last
Sun beds should be destroyed as the few that were usable had hungover locals sleeping off their previous evenings escapades whilst the security guards looked on
It's a shame as although very basic and clean the service was severely lacking during our time there, although all staff were smiling and trying their hardest it was obvious that they couldn't cope for a busy new year event , although 2-3 days later when numbers had dropped considerably there was still an obvious lack in customer care and not enough space in the main restaurant where you had to get in when it opened at 7pm regardless as to whether you wanted to eat just to get a table. (When you didn't want to eat early the service was prompt !)
The main problem which the hotel cannot be blamed for was getting in and out of the country, a tiny little single room airport with departing and arriving people all crammed together with no one knowing what is going on queuing for a visa, paying for a visa when no one is interested in helping, no signs,no information, no cash point for those who had not checked if they needed one, some in our minibus run (from brazil) waited 2hrs as nothing was being explained therefore the whole bus had to wait.
Our return flight was delayed by 7 hours with not a single person wanting to communicate information that one of the passengers obtained by ringing the airline head office.thus leading to us missing our return flights to uk
Please spend some money and update both the resort and staff training but also treat the customers like paying guests rather than being invisible and those staying longer than 2days need a varied choice of food
Was average and memorable for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charliesum666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. Each point that you have made will be taken seriously. We had major problems with the national electricity supplier over the festive season as did all the lodges surrounding and made use of our generator where we could. Water supplies were also interrupted. Our most humble apologies for all the other issues you encountered at the airport and on the bus. We had an exceptionally busy December and quite rightly, were not as prepared as we should have been with the additional environmental issues. I can assure you that we are looking into the service levels, the housekeeping, electrics and admission policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Barra lodge is a wonderful place to stay for people of all ages.There are lots of activitys like there is a kids club and you can go horse riding and stuff like that. The sea is very warm and there are also other pools for example at your place wear you stay there might be a pool. There is also a great reasturant with lots of types of foods.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selenacool4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We strive to cater for kids as much as possible. Sea and Sand is always a win for children but an additional activities schedule always keeps them that much busier so mom and dad can relax. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had the most spectacular wedding and the time of our lives. We had never been to Mozambique and didn't know what to expect but still wanted a tropical wedding. When we arrived at Barra Lodge we just knew we made the best choice ever. The staff was so friendly and helpfull and made us feel like royalty. The beach setting was stunning and the venue even more breath taking. The food was absolutely fantastic! There is so much to do at Barra Lodge that you just have fun all day long. I would like to thank Jani for going out of her way to make our wedding so amazing, it couldn't have been in more capable hands. Our guests still can't stop talking about this trip and what a good time they had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bella31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

What a lovely review. thank you for sharing your thoughts about your special day with us and that you for choosing Barra! indeed, our team, location, accommodation and services makes for the perfect destination wedding. thank you and we hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The resort is set on a beautiful beach where you can walk for miles and watch beautiful sunsets in the evening. The staff are friendly and courteous and the lodges are spacious and simple although the bedding and towels are threadbare and the bedding needs to be changed more regularly especially when raining (we asked for ours to be changed and they were very accomodating). The mosquito nets could do with a wash in between guests. The restaurant provides good food with a good selection of wine however, they tended to repeat the same menu every other day (set menu) so we got a bit bored with the same food after an 8 night stay.
The beach bar provided a good selection of food,beers and drinks for lunch and was a nice place to spend the evening.
Unfortunately the quad biking and ocean safaris were not running so as a non diver, there wasn't a lot to do but great if you just wanted to relax on the beach. We tried the horseback riding and the tour of a local village.
The dive centre was excellent - very helpful staff who provided a good selection of dives during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

thank you for your review. We truly appreciate, value and take to heart the feedback we get so have noted and reviewed our menu and have in the interim purchased brand new quad bikes. Maintenance is ongoing and we do hope that you can make a return trip to re-experience these areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the planning stage right through to the wedding day, the Barra team were so helpful and friendly. We organised the whole wedding from Pretoria via email and Skype.
When we arrived on a hot Friday afternoon at the logde, we were welcomed by a welcoming drink, local ladies choir and a red carpet... the whole stay was awesome! the food is out of this world and the service is outstanding.
Jani, the food and bev manager went out of her way to make our wedding day perfect!
We could ask them everything and we had it! I just want to give all the staff involved a BIG BIG thank you for making our day extraordinary! I would really recommend anyone to get married there - your day will be magical like ours was!

Room Tip: Barra Cabanas are spacious, air-conditioned and on-the-beach. Stunning and good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 762Marics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you once again for your wonderful review. We are so proud of our staff members and so love making couples' dreams come true on such a special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The resort is nicely situated at one of Mozambique’s many beautiful beaches, and provides decent accommodation for a reasonable price. Fairly simple lodges, and a couple of restaurants offering what you need ( if not always what you want). The staff is providing service with a smile.

Barra´s main asset is it´s location, witch is stunning, as well as the variety of activities you can attent. We tried both the whaleshark-safari (and swam along with a HUGE fish!), scuba diving, and horseback-riding. That, on top of a few excellent days at the beach made the visit unforgettable.
.

Room Tip: Lots of mosquitos in the area, so be sure that the mosquito-nets are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. Its wonderful to hear from our guests who hail from all over the globe. I hope you come back to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're looking to get away from your BlackBerry (I didn't have signal for 8 days!) and simply relax and enjoy the beauty of the Indian Ocean, then this is perfect. Simple, spacious and more than adequate casitas, cleaned every day, have the benefit of the most natural air con - fresh breeze blowing through the reeds.

The food is good - not just prawns - and the beach quiet, unspoilt and with no hassle from locals trying to sell you something. So perhaps the towels are a little thin, and the 'marks' on the thoroughly cleaned and fresh bedding every day not what you would expect from a 5* hotel in a city, but you've not come to Inhambane for that type of experience. This is not trying to be a Hilton or Sheraton in a pristine location but a lodge on a beach in southern Mozambique. So don't complain when there is no doorman or fast food outlet!

Dom and Kristina at the dive centre are fantastic, informed, fun and very patient hosts. And the stunning wildlife beneath the waves, with the whale singing on so many dives, will stay with you forever.

The main thing I would ask to be improved is that - like the staff at a Kenyan lodge I visited who would all call out 'Jambo' every time they passed by - it would be lovely if all of the staff, whatever their role, were taught to smile and welcome the guests even if in their own language. They all need to be as friendly as Raul on reception. It would really lift the atmoshere of the lodge.

Room Tip: I stayed in casita number 25. I guess they are pretty much all the same and easy to walk to the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mez65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

What a lovely review. Honest and refreshing. Barra is a great place to getaway and relax and we pride ourselves on a home-away-from-home type of feel. I am glad you enjoyed the diving as well, Dom and Ina are true professionals. In regards to the greetings, many of our employees cultures are that of shyness and although this is something we are constantly working towards, we will surely emphasis our efforts in encouraging our loyal employees to be less shy. Thank you once again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
10.9 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#11 of 20 in Inhambane Province
62 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 21 in Inhambane
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#4 of 10 in Tofo
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range: $20 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Barra Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing