We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

You cannot see the see or beach from the main camp/lodge only from the restaurant and some of the cabins. The lights were not always working. However, the staff and manager Alberto were very helpfull and friendly. Restaurant never had ice during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Most of the accommodation at Bamboozi is set behind the dunes and offers shelter from the wind however the views from the bar and some of the accommodation units do offer superb views over the ocean. Bamboozi runs on a generator and for this reason electricity is not always on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in October 2011 when backpacking around Africa for 5 months and we have very fond memories of the Bamboozi Beach Lodge in Tofo.

Very friendly staff (we had a small issue with an onward bus booking and the owner lady - think she was South African if I remember well - was very helpful).
We stayed in one of the backpacker huts : very basic (just big enough for the bed and our backpacks) but good enough for us :-)
The location was grand, high on a hill overlooking the curving Tofo bay & beach. Ok, quite a walk from Tofo 'town' but we didn't care, on the contrary : loved the 'seclusion'.
We thought the food was absolutely delicious. The view from the resto/bar was gorgeous, spent loads of time there, reading, writing...

Thank God we only had a 30-day Mozambican visa or we'd 've stayed here much longer than 5 days.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wimsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Its been a while since you visited. Maybe time for another visit to Mozam...and Bamboozi Lodge...and very please you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

During a recent camping trip in Mozambique, we opted to set up camp under the coconut trees at Bamboozi Beach Lodge near Tofo. The camp, consisting of backpackers bungalows, chalets and 4 camp sites, is situated behind a dune and within easy walking distance from the village and markets for buying your daily fresh seafood. The bathrooms offer showers only and are neat, but do not expect hot water throughout the day. The generator runs between 7 and 10 o' clock in the morning and again from 4 o' clock in the afternoon till about 10. Tap water is also not fit for drinking. The renowned restaurant on the dune offers fantastic views of Tofo beach and the sunrise from here is something to behold! This is a great spot for enjoying a couple of 2Ms - the highly recommended local beer.
Bamboozi is a backpackers facility, so chances are that you may be joined by groups of young people who enjoy a good party till the early hours of the morning. We were fortunate to spend 2 nights here before a group of students joined us... But if you do not mind the occasional company, Bamboozi is a beautiful spot and offers affordable accommodation at the stunning
Tofo beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bamboozi as it does offer a special setting and vibe. The spontaneous atmosphere with young people having fun is great to experience and this is of course what backpackers are all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Prime beach location, even if it's a bit far away from the village centre, but even that is a plus. Wonderful beach indeed, especially if you enjoy some wild waves. The huts in front of the beach are fantastic.
The minuses (power generator leaves you w/out energy or hot water for half of the day, the sheets could be cleaner as they wash everything by hand and therefore there's some human errors / tiredness, and the bar menu will make you gain 15 kilos in one week) are offset by the extremely competitive prices (you can bargain for long stays) and the fact that you have two or three better restaurants at a nice beach walk distance.
I could never understand why they moved the wifi router from the reception to the bar. It should be at the bar at all times, as there were less mosquitos and you could surf the web seated in front of the sea, rather than crammed into the one bench at the reception with another 10 people more.

Room Tip: Huts with a sea view. REALLY nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Public Relations Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Bamboozi is in the perfect setting to enjoy and explore the surrounds and all there is to offer. However with such spectacular views from the bar you quite rightly say it is the perfect place to spend time enjoying the views over the beach & ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed at bamboozie last week, we had a chalet room and one room (honeymoon kinda suite) overlooking beach. The rooms were fantastic,beds were comfy...yes the water did'nt work a couple of times but that was sorted shortly after we mentioned it to staff. Mozzie nets had a couple of holes but nothing major. The staff were great.phillip in particular in the bar...lovely guy and happy to chat aswell. I think he enjoyed us having a little party in the bar! All in all...great stay...its a little walk up the beach from the other bars but its so beautiful that who cares! Its the second time i have stayed in tofo and highly recommend bamboozie and their crew!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinislice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the friendly Mozambique staff at Bamboozi and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A little wild, we had a snake visit the balcony a couple of times, but very comfortable, a good mix if for those who're up for that.

The bar could get another CD to loop from time to time, but the atmosphere is such that we ended up meeting many great people when we wanted to and having a private drink overlooking the sea the rest of the time.

Also, the location is amazing. Take public transport with the locals, and visit the town for a day, it's quite special too!

Room Tip: Couple's room above the bar is less rustic bathroom-wise and has a great view. Might be that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Had3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Bamboozi is marketed as a backpackers lodge and situated in a very natural environment. We do have spontaneous uninvited creatures from the surrounding dune forest visit from time to time and this certainly adds to the experience of staying at such a place. We will be sure to remind our bar staff to shuffle the music more regularly for those guests enjoying the views and ambience of the bar / restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Mozambique, before we had got used to the cold water showers, mosquito attacks, unreliable electricity, etc. We also had a storm on the night we arrived. Because of the gaps all over the walls, in the floors and ceilings, mosquitoes and other creatures have unrestricted access, so the nets are very important. Always take mozzie killer as well as repellent for your body. Don't expect to get a hot shower (cos you probably won't get one). The broken pool with stagnant water probably encouraged the mosquitoes.... The bar serves rather mediocre pizzas... but the BEACH!!! The beach is amazing, fantastic... the sea is warm (if rather dangerous... the current is very strong). You can walk to the market and to some local bars... somewhere to stay away from the world... among coconut palms... why not? Go there...

Room Tip: Take all precautions to protect yourself from insects. Look out for the current on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietyjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#12 of 25 in Vilanculos
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.0 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 20 in Inhambane
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboozi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Property: Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane
Bamboozi Beach Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing