We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When traveling through Africa, you have to go here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“When traveling through Africa, you have to go here!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is such an amazing place. You feel like home straight away. Funny and very helpfull staff at the reception and the most sweet people working at the bar. Always down for a talk, laugh or when you have questions. The rooms/dorm/houses are nice! You are in Africa, so sleeping in african style should be part of it. There is not always power, but that is because they save it, which I find a good thing. They tell you when the generater goes on so you can charge whatever you want to charge.
When you are sleeping in dorms, it is nice that you will meet new people. You have dorms of 5 or 6 sleepers and that makes traveling even more fun.

Going out in tofo is also awesome! Because only 10 minutes walking over the most beautiful beach, there are amazing beach bars like Dino's, Fatima's and ofcourse the local market.

Room Tip: It depends on what you are looking for. You can sleep luxe, which you can choose the amazing sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabinek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good times, authentic experience and the basics is what Bamboozi is all about. We are so happy to hear that your expectations were met. Bamboozi is really a home away from home and our staff love it just as much. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
5
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

When you first get into the place it seems like you're on some deserted island paradise. The view is amazing and the layout is great. They were extremely accommodating to the late booking of our size 22 group, the room was amazing, large and each had its own mosquito net attached, the restaurant was a bit pricey so we walked down to another cheaper one. The service provided was okay, not the best but mainly because of language barriers so fair enough. The views from the beach are fantastic, recommend staying at this fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evievv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. Bamboozi is a little gem hidden away and just far enough out of town so that you can relax and still pop in for a bite to eat or little party. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in the sea view chalet, advertised as "semi-luxury" on the website, which it's not. The room and bathroom were basic, no personal touches in the decor, the bathroom really needs a fresh coat of paint, and after taking a shower a pool of water would form by the toilet, but the bed was comfortable and the sea view from the room was absolutely amazing. The food served in the restaurant was good, although all the items on the menu were not always available. The staff was very friendly. Power comes from a generator so no lights after 10 pm. The room was cleaned twice in a week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review and specifically the marketing that is advertised on the website. This accommodation is basic and we will revise the wording used. We have also taken note of the below expectation pointers such as paint, servicing and personal touch. We really do appreciate the feedback and take each one seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a leader of a group of students travelling through Mozambique we were lucky enough to spend 4 glorious nights at Bamboozi. As we had been roughing it in Swaziland it was a treat to be out of tents and enjoying hot showers, clean toilets, amazing food and taking in that view. Don't get me wrong this is not a five star affair and definitely a rustic experience if your sharing a dorm or staying in one of the little huts but for us it was perfect and totally safe. The facilities were more than adequate, one block was newly built and we always had hot water. As a group we were given a great discount on meals which were excellent. One night we had an incredible seafood buffet and there was so much we couldn't eat it all. Unlike other places on Tofo beach the Bamboozi bar/restaurant/verhandah is situated out of the way and up high on a sand dune making it the place to watch the hump backs. We saw loads and also got up early to watch the sunrise out of the ocean one morning. Fantastic. However, what really makes Bamboozi is the manager Louise and her staff. She is an absolutely genuine salt of the earth woman with a beaming smile, ready to help in any situation and professional to a tee in a informal way. Likewise the staff were all friendly and accommodating. The group did not want to leave this place and i would go back in a heart beat. Thanks for a wonderful experience Louise and crew!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear from students. You are paving the way through tourism in Mozambique and having your stay at our lodge was as good an experience for us as it was for you. Keep coming back as you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in Bamboozi for 4 nights in July. The backpacker rooms are great value, comfortable beds and good nets and there are plenty of clean toilets and showers with plenty of hot water. The view from the bar/restaurant is great and we saw many humpback whales from the deck. The food is excellent and Tofo village is a nice 15 minute walk along the beach. The staff are great ... Fernando looked after us so well and dealt with any questions we had and the bar staff are lovely too. Would highly recommend Bamboozi!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review! Bamboozi is a home away from home for us and we are thrilled that you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

So the place has a great vibe and atmosphere. If you pay for a view..you most certainly get one. Also if you pay for the top of the range....you also get clean....the rest of the place leaves a lot to desire, lots of bugs and itchy things, limited cleanliness and overpriced food. Nicer food if you go forage in the market...even if you can't cook it, will still taste better.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We have had some management changes since your stay and I would like to assure you that our cleanliness levels, service levels and facilities have been worked very hard on. We are proud to say that Bamboozi is becoming a much loved destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Amazing location but the service and rooms are shocking! I stayed in a lodge with 4 other females, in our room there was only beds and mosquito nets, we shared a communal bathroom. We had no way to lock our doors or windows and consequently had 4 African men barge into our room at 5:30am one morning!!!! We were terrified! After our ordeal security was apparently upped however we saw no proof of this and still did not have locks on our doors or windows! The staff at the restaurant were some of the rudest people I have ever come across, once after ordering a simple meal of toasties we had to wait for over 1 hour to be given our food! Apart from that they had hardly anything on the menu, after receiving our toasties we noticed that the ham still had plastic foil on it and so we told the waiter who said 'I don't know what that is' and walked away! No apologies when our food took too long, simply disgusted with the service there! However, the one good thing i can say about this lodge is the activities available for you to do and also the beach, however there are no life guards or safety of any sort on the beach which is expecially dangerous considering the risk of rip currents is huge. All in all we thought the huts were a disgrace and unsafe but the location itself was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with locks on your doors and windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92traveller_238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Firstly I would like to thank you for the review on Tripadvisor. I would also like to apologise for the disappointing experience that you had encountered at Bamboozi. This feedback, although undesirable for us, has prompted further investigations and will be used to make a difference in the future of this company. It is apparent that you might not have been briefed correctly by your travel agent on the amenities at Bamboozi. As we are a backpacking facility, the accommodation is basic and we only supply a bed sheet and mosquito net. The room you stayed in is a dormitory which means that you share accommodation, ablutions and the kitchen with other people.

All of the service related issues are being investigated and I can assure you that we will be taking charge of all of them. I do hope that you find my communication in good faith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Baobab Beach Backpackers
Baobab Beach Backpackers
#4 of 25 in Vilanculos
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Village
The Beach Village
#12 of 25 in Vilanculos
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.0 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Chidenguele
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboozi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboozi Beach Lodge

Property: Bamboozi Beach Lodge
Address: 101 Coconut Drive | Praia de Tofo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboozi Beach Lodge is hidden in the center of a coconut grove next to a stretch of a untouched beach and surrounded by rural villages; this eco-friendly backpackers/beach lodge is built entirely from natural materials. Endless summer days can be spent in the cool Indian Ocean. When it is time to take a sun or sea break lay claim to a hammock and just relax. Bamboozi Beach Lodge style nights include untamed parties, but those who would rather sit on a balcony and watch the moonrise while counting fireflies and shooting stars, can do just that. Bamboozi Beach Lodge provides mozzie nets and linen. Camping amongst palms, a guest kitchen, braai areas and hot water showers. RESTAURANT & BAR. The Bamboozi Restaurant & Bar is situated on top of the dunes with spectacular views of the ocean and coastline. The Restaurant opens for breakfast and closes when the last guest leaves the Bar. There is an a-la-carte menu offering an array of dishes from fresh seafood platters made on request and delectable deserts. Daily specials are served! Enjoy a cold beer or a cocktail on the deck while watching beginner surfers finding their balance! It is also a great whale watching spot during August & September. Bamboozi has his own on site PADI dive resort center run by professional staff of Liquid Adventures Diving, offering snorkel safaris (dive with the largest fish in the ocean; the whaleshark), fundives with full rental of equipment and courses of all levels available. Our area is fast becoming famous for the resident Mantas, Whale sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and Humpback whales. LIVE THE DREAM!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboozi Beach Hotel Inhambane
Bamboozi Beach Lodge Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing