We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and location unrivalled”
Review of Casa do Capitao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa do Capitao
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Inhambane Province
Gauteng
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“View and location unrivalled”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel has everything going for it. Situated in the quiet section of Inhambane town, (Inhambane Province), it dreamily rests on the banks of the tidal estuary or the "Bay of Inhambane".

The position is prime. The hotel building is fresh and modern. Here sadly the platitudes must end. Over the last 2 years this hotel has steadily gone backwards. When I first visited Casa do Capitao the hotel was under management of the holding company team, the service, food and amenities were exceptional. However on the last few visits all this is in decline. The reception staff are inadequately skilled to handle guests arrivals and if there is the slightest variance from their daily routine, panic and trouble set in. Checking in is lengthy and bureaucratic at best.

The food in the restaurant has deteriorated to mundane buffet fare. The breakfasts have gotten steadily less glamorous, while the prices have not in any way come down in sympathy of the weak kitchen skills and mediocre service.

The room cleaning process is never efficient and on a few occasions I have returned to my room only to find it still unattended at 15H00! Watching the cleaning staff operate is its own entertainment as there seems to be little attention paid to routine.

The rooms in the beginning were always well cleaned and housekeeping items always in place but recently I found this to not be true anymore. There is no housekeeping oversight in my opinion.

There was a time that the small beach that reveals itself when the tide is out was raked and cleared of the litter the tidal effect brought in - that too is now a thing of the past and staring down from the room can sometimes be quite depressing as the litter and debris of the tide are left unattended.

Nevertheless its well-located and the pool area and surrounds are spectacular. When the tide is out the soft lapping of water is so peaceful you can almost forgive all the rest of the irritations.

Its close enough to Tofo if you are a scuba fanatic, but keen on a little more comfort than the diving mecca of Tofo and Tofinho can offer.

If the hotel owners and management can pay some more attention to the facility it’s a winner - for now be content to overpay for the service and meals and underpay for the view and tranquillity.

Room Tip: Rooms are all in a long passage facing out over the bay. Try for rooms in the middle of the complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
17
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

A centrally located hotel perfect for both pleasure and business. Unfortunately no wifi available or at least no information on it. Staff although nice seems to be needing more training.

Secure and clean rooms, although to get to the last rooms there's a long walk and the proximity to he road in front might scare you a bit.

Nevertheless it's one if not the best place to stay in Inhambane city, with an incredible view and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo_Tembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The facilities are OK, relatively new and rooms are confortable with AC.
Buffet continental breakfast is included in the rate, but if you order an omelette that usually takes 5 minutes, be patient will take 30 minutes to get ready..
The restaurant meals are very expensive and service slow. You need at least over an hour just to eat one dish, even that the restaurant had only one customer !!!
The sidewalk that connects the restaurant to the lobby through the terrace is very dangerous. It has a hidden step with no warning. I almost broke my foot there and had to wear an ankle cast for 3 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The hotel lays in a superb location, in front of Inhambane bay, and from its garden and swimming pool you can enjoy a marvelous view.
The rooms (I think almost all of them) also have this wonderful and peaceful view. The sea is very calm in the bay, and you can see little boats passing by from time to time.

The hotel has also a very fancy restaurant: the food is great, prices are more on the international level (as the prices of the rooms, anyways) but the service in the restaurant lacked a bit of training and professionalism, but were very kind, anyways. They also offer superb breakfast, if you have enough time to wait. :)

The Internet connection in the rooms was not working at the time I went there.

The rooms are big and have all the comfort. They are provided with air conditioning and they have a balcony big enough to sit outside and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaRaksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were there with a group so would have loved to enjoy more time around the pool. The hotel is decorated beautifully with balcony's opening up onto the bay. The silence out on the balcony is wonderful. The hotel lounge and pool area are stunning. The food was great. The hotel has a restaurant on Barro lodge where you can spend the day on the beach and enjoy the coconut water drinks. Despite being in the city (so you would think that it was too far from the beach) we loved it. One of the only places in the area that has proper air conditioning so a winner with the hubby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrowthPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed a weekend, rooms were large and new and very clean, good air conditioning and beds were comfortable. Food was good, though the bar was real slow with service even though the place was not busy. People friendly and help full. Gym you have to pay for, but once you see the gym and the lack of good equipment, you may as well go for run or a walk on the beautiful promenade in the late afternoon. Taxis to the beach are quick and well price, negotiate before hand is advised. As for internet in Moz, internet is real slow compared to 1st world and you are better off just using your cell phone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinrooi, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

watch out for new rules. You book inclusive things like the gym, internet aan breakfast but once you are there they simply say that new management has decided you get it without. It states clear in my booking that internet is availanble everywhere in the hotel (free) but in the room I can get it sometimes. Interuptions the whole time. And if I pay what they want to charge me I would have spend 1500 MZM and it is just after midnight on my first evening.
The hotel is nice although not cheap for what it is. Staf mostly correct. Management aparently su..s.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willemwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inhambane Province hotels
10.8 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
7 reviews
9.6 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 20 in Inhambane
75 reviews
10.8 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
196 reviews
10.9 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#4 of 13 in Tofo
173 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bay View Lodge
Bay View Lodge
#22 of 111 in Inhambane Province
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Capitao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Capitao

Property: Casa do Capitao
Address: Bairro Balane 1, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inhambane Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Capitao 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa do Capitao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Capitao Mozambique/Inhambane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing